Firstly puck Gain City. Can only install in 4 weeks time.
Anyway what I want to check is, the purchase says it includes standard installation and free "materials upgrade". Does this mean when they install, they will replace my existing pipes and what not or just leave it as it is if current ones in good condition? If they replace cause of the upgrade, is it free?
Within certain length, the pipes+insulation +trunking are all free. You dun want aso same price.
All I can say is replace existing pipe is a nightmare. All the trunking that go around your rooms need to be tear apart which means noise and a lot of debris and usually we push our bed or furniture to the side where the trunking run along so you know the mess! My hdb is resale so trunking and pipes and aircon all is previous owner. When I take over I got service the aircon periodically but at year 3-4 the gas very fast use finish and then the service man say most likely is pipe leaking due to old age and this is very expensive and time consuming to check so usually is take all out and replace new pipes that run along the whole house.
That is why I dun wanna replace my aircon too messy and also electricity bill sure shoot up like mad. The mess and debris and so many bed, furniture need to push out. I already kena broken cupboard as I paint whole house late last year after live 15 years so I know the mess!
My next old man 1 room I will keep the flat sparse of furniture and bed and away from the edge so replace pipes and painting is easy haha but this mean your space will look cramped with a walkway around the edges haha
(14-05-2023, 01:51 PM)IndianChief Wrote: [ -> ]Firstly puck Gain City. Can only install in 4 weeks time.
Anyway what I want to check is, the purchase says it includes standard installation and free "materials upgrade". Does this mean when they install, they will replace my existing pipes and what not or just leave it as it is if current ones in good condition? If they replace cause of the upgrade, is it free?
No point buying unless your electrity is free.
Change the existing pipes better.
(14-05-2023, 01:54 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Within certain length, the pipes+insulation +trunking are all free. You dun want aso same price.
I dunno if that is for brand new installation where no need to dismantle anything so easy to nstall or also includes replacing existing setup
Everything is free
Unless need to drill wall/partition to fit/fix piping/wiring for central air conditioning, and then patch up wall/partition
(14-05-2023, 02:35 PM)IndianChief Wrote: [ -> ]I dunno if that is for brand new installation where no need to dismantle anything so easy to nstall or also includes replacing existing setup
Ask the contractor. If free and dun do, later got leakage very troublesome and costly to check and repair
(14-05-2023, 02:51 PM)Bluebull Wrote: [ -> ]Everything is free
Unless need to drill wall/partition to fit/fix piping/wiring for central air conditioning, and then patch up wall/partition

u mean can install aircon without drilling meh?
I also don't understand. Standard installation comes with piping, but fix piping need to pay extra money?? How is it free but need to pay at the same time?
The contractor aso wants to save troubles, so they've already priced in the costs and hope you'll go for it.
I ordered Panasonic aircon, however by the time the installer came, he was unable to move the compressor through the bedroom window, so asked me to choose another brand…I chose Mitsubishi Heavy Industies, the aircon is very strong and quiet, the air can flow left and right, up and down, or combination. The uncle who installed the aircon for me was very good, he spent half a day to finish off the work at the best quality
to have better cooling
must installed very thick copper pipe
(14-05-2023, 02:18 PM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]No point buying unless your electrity is free.
![[Image: idiot-silly.gif]](https://i.ibb.co/VYx6ywy/idiot-silly.gif)
TS prepare to pay for some "additional requirement" in order for your aircon to be operational.
(14-05-2023, 04:01 PM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]TS prepare to pay for some "additional requirement" in order for your aircon to be operational.
They come and tell me if my current bracket not installed by Gavin city previously will need to change? Smlj, bracket is bracket what. Why is not installed by them equal to may not comply with requirements, then still say it will cost $150
(14-05-2023, 02:35 PM)IndianChief Wrote: [ -> ]I dunno if that is for brand new installation where no need to dismantle anything so easy to nstall or also includes replacing existing setup
Best is reinstall and replace the existing piping and trunking
(14-05-2023, 04:36 PM)IndianChief Wrote: [ -> ]They come and tell me if my current bracket not installed by Gavin city previously will need to change? Smlj, bracket is bracket what. Why is not installed by them equal to may not comply with requirements, then still say it will cost $150
Stop reading at 'Gain City'. The boss is a Ah Beng employing mostly Ah Beng staffs, company has SG record worst reviews in glassdoors with most complaints about toxic mgt, high attrition and lack of proper training. Gain City is famous for carrot chopping, selling aircons like selling mobile phones at SLS, you still dare to hoot?
Best of luck.

Dont need to bother.
The aircon manufacturer won’t dare to spoilt its own reputation
Standard installation will do.
It is best to have shorter piping installation.
If the piping installation is too long, some KNN technician sometimes may forget to top up air con cooling agent for you. You dont later then complain air con not cool…
Aircon installation most important thing is the water piping installation, make sure the water piping is installed vertically downwards as close to the fan coil unit as possible.
Knn.. everyone saying do this do that, but cannot answer the question directly... replace existing piping with their upgraded piping is free ???
(14-05-2023, 06:17 PM)IndianChief Wrote: [ -> ]Knn.. everyone saying do this do that, but cannot answer the question directly... replace existing piping with their upgraded piping is free ???
My uncle did that before and it is not free. The aircon install ppl say the cost actually include remove the trunking and old pipe and then put in new pipe so extra work so need pay extra. It also depend the existing pipe run how long too. They give a lump sum quotation of a few hundred!!!! This have not yet factored in to install the new aircon, compressor. That is why my uncle say when talk aircon ppl always think of the unit and the big compressor never look at the concealed pipe in those trunking! The aircon ppl tell him if just reuse existing pipe will be cheaper and I think logical too.
Their website:
Price stated applies to Standard HDB (Residential) basic installation with the standard piping length given, additional charge applies for longer pipe run.
Price excluded - Stainless-Steel Bracket & PowerPoint.
Additional charges may apply for private properties, condos & commercial houses due to the size of the house/building & complications of pipe run.
Any other additional work services such as cutting & patching of false ceiling, scaffolding services, etc. are chargeable.
(14-05-2023, 06:30 PM)theold Wrote: [ -> ]Their website:
Price stated applies to Standard HDB (Residential) basic installation with the standard piping length given, additional charge applies for longer pipe run.
Price excluded - Stainless-Steel Bracket & PowerPoint.
Additional charges may apply for private properties, condos & commercial houses due to the size of the house/building & complications of pipe run.
Any other additional work services such as cutting & patching of false ceiling, scaffolding services, etc. are chargeable.
Key to the above is
etc are chargeable. This is to cater for unforseen difficulties they face when arrive at your unit to install.
How I know is last time do reno I replace the whole unit floor and the quotation is for both removal and put in new tiles. Remove cost time and is billable! But first time talk they only mention cost to put in new tiles despite they know I got a resale hdb flat. Such cunning are those ahbeng contractor companies upfront quote low attract you then hook you already come in inspect say this and that etc need charge extra! Of cuz you can reject their services before they start work but the time and effort to liaise all lost you as customer rugi!
(14-05-2023, 06:22 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]My uncle did that before and it is not free. The aircon install ppl say the cost actually include remove the trunking and old pipe and then put in new pipe so extra work so need pay extra. It also depend the existing pipe run how long too. They give a lump sum quotation of a few hundred!!!! This have not yet factored in to install the new aircon, compressor. That is why my uncle say when talk aircon ppl always think of the unit and the big compressor never look at the concealed pipe in those trunking! The aircon ppl tell him if just reuse existing pipe will be cheaper and I think logical too.
So their free standard installation + free material upgrade is not free if replace existing aircon pipes? Only free if install brand new ?
Please arrange a site survey. <== Maybe free.
(14-05-2023, 06:38 PM)IndianChief Wrote: [ -> ]So their free standard installation + free material upgrade is not free if replace existing aircon pipes? Only free if install brand new ?
I think it is best you consolidate all your questions and ask them one shot. You imagine yourself as that aircon install ppl. You need to dismantle the trunking take out the existing pipes and then put new pipes and then trunking etc all these are efforts it is for free? After pipes lay already you need to connect the aircon unit, compressor and then test all working etc etc. So I think the cost is not cheap.
You can ask them different quotes. Reuse existing pipe how much. Remove existing pipe and put in new pipe how much.
TS thinks we work for gaincity?
Normal installation is not included in the price unless stated
Need ac power point if don’t have
(14-05-2023, 07:59 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]Normal installation is not included in the price unless stated
Need ac power point if don’t have
AC power point i have cause i have existing aircon
The website says includes free standard installlation... all i trying to find out is a simple question... whetehr standard innstallation includes removing existing pipes and putting in their new one or is limited to only installing in a brand new flat with no existing pipes structure
cant believe people just keep talking nonsense... who gives a puck whether replacing existing structure is a nightmare for the contractor... all i wanna know is whether standard installing includes that... haiz
(14-05-2023, 02:18 PM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]No point buying unless your electrity is free.