https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ia-2263722
Speaking at a press conference by the COVID-19 task force, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said one of the most common questions asked was why Singapore was re-opening its borders, despite not easing domestic restrictions such as allowing larger groups to dine in.
He explained that border restrictions were earlier put in place to prevent infections from “gushing into” the country.
“Now the situation has changed,” he said.
“After going through big transmission waves for many months, the pandemic situations in many countries have stabilised and their infection rates are - some of them are even lower than Singapore's. So we can open up travel lanes with these countries safely.”
A reporter also asked Mr Ong whether other countries’ categorisation of Singapore as a “high-risk” destination would impact travel negotiations with nations such as Australia.
To that, Mr Ong said: “I think they are reflecting the fact that we are going through a big wave … But there's a lot of goodwill between these partners, not just Germany and US, but also Australia.”
“At some point (infections) will stabilise, (they) will come down. And we all want to work together, maintain our connections, our people-to-people exchanges.
“And so, it should not, and I don't think it will stop us from continuing our joint initiative to develop vaccinated travel lanes,” said Mr Ong
OKY 's logic is total rubbish.
Is the govt purposely raise our infection rate to the highest level than all countries so that the govt can justify to open the border with all countries ?
Do we need to keep our death rate and infection rate higher than all countries so that our border will remain open ?
Wah phiang!
So these travelers from these countries will want to come to SG to risk their lives, ruin their holidays and pay for hospital bills here?
Got logic?
pap logic
since we are worst than the worest cuntry in the world eg india
then of course they can come in
Good lah.
Go ahead open gao gao.
Spore fast become zombies soon.
(23-10-2021, 07:22 PM)Hfourhappy Wrote: [ -> ]Good lah.
Go ahead open gao gao.
Spore fast become zombies soon.
We peasants don't have any say in the political arena...

(23-10-2021, 07:09 PM)singaporean1964 Wrote: [ -> ]pap logic
since we are worst than the worest cuntry in the world eg india
then of course they can come in
As I said, PAP has TWO options to copy from other countries.
Either from China with Covid Zero Strategy or from India with "Let it be" Strategy.
The later is much cheaper and Ministers do not need to be responsible for deaths.
Just like India, their Minister of External Affairs ask China to open their country up when India has more than 30 millions of covid cases by beginning of June 2021.
He offered to opened up India for China travelers but who wants to go India to die??
Why so stupid to learn and copy the stupidity from India?
bothered emojis
nonsense logic. it's lile openly telling tourists not to come here.
Our healthcare will very be damn stressful....
(23-10-2021, 07:27 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]We peasants don't have any say in the political arena... 
Yes bro Deb.
The only way to protect ourselves is stay away from crowded area, stay away from mall, don't fine in, stay away from all tourists attractions.
Be safe.
Don't be sorry.
We die, nobody saying you.
We hv to care for ourselves n family n parents.
Why PAP still suspends physical meet people session with residents when the border is open to all countries ?
Why vaccinated residents cannot meet PAP MPs physically ?
Actually now that we have become a high risk country, the travel restrictions on inbound travellers become almost meaningless. In fact other countries may soon ban sinkies from visiting.
so desperate to hype the travel industry...

Is that so!! What a stupid decision to open up to all countries. All kind of new variants like delta, delta-plus, lamda, etc will come in and transmit massively. Our healthcare would collapse, unable to cope and death would be massive. By then it would be irreversible. OYK is gambling with our lives.
India lower than us in numbers?
Seriously wanna smoke also come learn from me lah... Aiyo...
(23-10-2021, 07:52 PM)Hfourhappy Wrote: [ -> ]Yes bro Deb.
The only way to protect ourselves is stay away from crowded area, stay away from mall, don't fine in, stay away from all tourists attractions.
Be safe.
Don't be sorry.
We die, nobody saying you.
We hv to care for ourselves n family n parents.
Well said, I cannot put it better...

(23-10-2021, 08:22 PM)wulala Wrote: [ -> ]so desperate to hype the travel industry... 
Ong YK very Indian!
This is another example far from being a Populist Country, but more like a PAP's own decision.
(23-10-2021, 08:36 PM)Instinct Wrote: [ -> ]Is that so!! What a stupid decision to open up to all countries. All kind of new variants like delta, delta-plus, lamda, etc will come in and transmit massively. Our healthcare would collapse, unable to cope and death would be massive. By then it would be irreversible. OYK is gambling with our lives.
Well said, what you said has substance.....

If unvaccinated traveller just serve a shn but not tested and then you release them... Then why need to be so discriminating towards locals on vaccination status. Come Jan unvaccinated has to do regular ART testing and I think for young kids will need to do ART once a week?
Who the F...k came up with such misaligned policy??
(23-10-2021, 08:12 PM)forum456 Wrote: [ -> ]Why PAP still suspends physical meet people session with residents when the border is open to all countries ?
Why vaccinated residents cannot meet PAP MPs physically ?
This should not be the case, cos MPs are paid $16K per month to hear the heart landers needs....

OYK living in his own world.
When Singapore number is lower than them, we seem them as high risk and don't let our people go there. Now our number higher than them, why would they let their people come here?
looks like this million $ monkey has no solution to propel SG forward.
coming months is to stay out of crowd and try not to fall into needing a hospital bed even fully vac and with booster shot.
This time really Your One Life Only, so stay safe, stay healthy. Let the greed go first.
omg. oyk feel proud saying this?
Walaneh.......have to renew PP......can cheong JB, Batam & Hatyai liao.
OYK is calling other countries to send their citizens here to be infected in Singapore.
And to share some of Singapore leaders problems.
(23-10-2021, 11:14 PM)mikotan Wrote: [ -> ]omg. oyk feel proud saying this?
OYK should take US govt to Intl Court of Justice for classifying Singapore as "High Risk" country.
Singapore Health MP Ong flip flopping
When Singapore deaths numbers were low, he said Singapore leaders handling covid19 were effective
The world should follow Singapore.
Temasek should give OYK a bigger bottle of mouth wash.
He needrd help
(24-10-2021, 05:16 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ]OYK should take US govt to Intl Court of Justice for classifying Singapore as "High Risk" country.
He don't have the 'balls' to do that........

WARNING:
Once imported cases increases, it will create another wave of local infection.
The new variant Delta Plus will come to Singapore once Singapore opens the border to all countries after 26 OCT.
Local infection can hit above 4000 cases daily.
Deaths can hit above 20 cases daily.