22-06-2023, 11:18 AM
22-06-2023, 11:21 AM
![[Image: %E7%AB%AF%E5%8D%88%E8%8A%82%E5%BF%AB%E4%B9%90.jpg]](https://ceccm.com.my/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/%E7%AB%AF%E5%8D%88%E8%8A%82%E5%BF%AB%E4%B9%90.jpg)
22-06-2023, 11:46 AM
端午节是一个纪念日。 不是一个快乐的日子。
Dragon Boat Festival is a day of remembrance. It's not supposed to be a happy day.
22-06-2023, 11:50 AM
22-06-2023, 11:51 AM
(22-06-2023, 11:46 AM)hansamu Wrote: [ -> ]端午节是一个纪念日。 不是一个快乐的日子。
端午 means what in English leh?

22-06-2023, 11:53 AM
It used to be in the ancient times for Quyuan- but that has evolved to become a major celebratory event on the Chinese calendar.
That is why it is also called Dragon Boat *Festival*

![[Image: 65febbc968f89d7523ede561dd73da5e.jpeg]](https://images.toutiaosg.com/storage/sg/65febbc968f89d7523ede561dd73da5e.jpeg)
![[Image: maxresdefault.jpg]](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/YZ1ZGBxy1p0/maxresdefault.jpg)
22-06-2023, 11:54 AM
It's a day when Qu Yuan reminds me not to be so silly as to kill myself over my country.
22-06-2023, 11:58 AM
(22-06-2023, 11:51 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]端午 means what in English leh?
据《荆楚岁时记》记载,因仲夏登高,顺阳在上,五月正是仲夏,它的第一个午日正是登高顺阳天气好的日子,故称五月初五为“端阳节”。 午,属十二地支,农历五月为午月,五、午同音,五、五相重,故端午节又名“重午节”或“重五节”,有些地方也叫“五月节”
Don't know how to translate to English. The Google translation is this type of translation:
According to the records of "Jingchu Sui Shi Ji", because midsummer ascends, Shunyang is on the top, May is midsummer, and its first noon is the day when the weather is good when ascending Shunyang, so the fifth day of May is called "Duanyang". Festival". Wu belongs to the twelve earthly branches. The fifth month of the lunar calendar is Wu month. Wu and Wu have the same pronunciation, and five and five are the same. Therefore, the Dragon Boat Festival is also called "Chongwu Festival" or "Chongwu Festival". "
22-06-2023, 11:59 AM
(22-06-2023, 11:54 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]It's a day when Qu Yuan reminds me not to be so silly as to kill myself over my country.
Unlike in the past when country and honor is a matter of life and death, 21st century pple are prepare to die for making viral IG or Tiktok clips.
This is the reason why the Chinese respect their past and traditoins while today's pple struggles to keep 10-minute attention.

22-06-2023, 12:04 PM
Many Chinese families pray and offer dumplings and foods for their ancestors today.
22-06-2023, 12:15 PM
(22-06-2023, 11:59 AM)Manthink Wrote: [ -> ]Unlike in the past when country and honor is a matter of life and death, 21st century pple are prepare to die for making viral IG or Tiktok clips.
This is the reason why the Chinese respect their past and traditoins while today's pple struggles to keep 10-minute attention.
But both my parents are from Singapore Chinese not China Chinese lah!

22-06-2023, 12:26 PM
You are right!
It should be :
![[Image: duanwujie-01.png]](https://i.ibb.co/tsf5WBw/duanwujie-01.png)
22-06-2023, 12:31 PM
23-06-2023, 06:57 AM
(22-06-2023, 11:58 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]据《荆楚岁时记》记载,因仲夏登高,顺阳在上,五月正是仲夏,它的第一个午日正是登高顺阳天气好的日子,故称五月初五为“端阳节”。 午,属十二地支,农历五月为午月,五、午同音,五、五相重,故端午节又名“重午节”或“重五节”,有些地方也叫“五月节”
Don't know how to translate to English. The Google translation is this type of translation:
According to the records of "Jingchu Sui Shi Ji", because midsummer ascends, Shunyang is on the top, May is midsummer, and its first noon is the day when the weather is good when ascending Shunyang, so the fifth day of May is called "Duanyang". Festival". Wu belongs to the twelve earthly branches. The fifth month of the lunar calendar is Wu month. Wu and Wu have the same pronunciation, and five and five are the same. Therefore, the Dragon Boat Festival is also called "Chongwu Festival" or "Chongwu Festival". "
屈原不姓屈,你知道吗?端午节是纪念一个死人的日子,你知道吗?

23-06-2023, 07:07 AM
(23-06-2023, 06:57 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]屈原不姓屈,你知道吗?端午节是纪念一个死人的日子,你知道吗?His surname wasn't 屈 Qu, did you know that?
Back in the ancient days, some of the Chinese who came from a huge clan had a main surname 姓 and a sub surname 氏. As the clan gets bigger and bigger, it will divide itself into several smaller clans and each will have a sub surname. They will also retain their main surname. For example, 屈原's main surname is 芈 (Mi) and his sub surname is 屈. So when he FULLY introduced himself, he will have to say 芈姓,屈氏,名平,字原. His name is 平 and his courtesy name is 原.
Nowadays, Chinese just combine surnames and sub surnames into one, names and courtesy names into one. More convenient.
23-06-2023, 07:13 AM
(23-06-2023, 06:57 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]That day was to remember a dead man, did you know that? Why are you so happy about a dead man leh?
端午节 exists before 屈原, Just happened that he died that day so folks also commemorated him on the same day. The festival's original intent is to celebrate the 'sending away' of diseases.
https://zh.wikipedia.org/zh-sg/%E7%AB%AF...8%E8%8A%82
23-06-2023, 07:21 AM
Why commemorate someone who had depression and took his own life??
23-06-2023, 07:33 AM
(23-06-2023, 07:21 AM)Buffybuffy Wrote: [ -> ]Why commemorate someone who had depression and took his own life??
Because he was well-loved by the masses. He became well known after he was exiled from the court by the Chu King and started traveling among the masses.
He was exiled as he opposed relationships with Qin. And unfortunately for Chu, he was correct as Chu was later conquered by Qin. He committed suicide after learning that the Qin army has conquered Chu's capital.
23-06-2023, 07:34 AM
(22-06-2023, 12:15 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]But both my parents are from Singapore Chinese not China Chinese lah!Even my ahma n ahkong also SingKaPoLang lah! ALL no more liao lah!
Half correct. your ah ma ah kong time Singapore is not a country, so is still consider tiong chinese reside in Malayu
Singapore was country as kingdom of singapura during around 1300-1400 AD.
23-06-2023, 08:02 AM
(23-06-2023, 07:33 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]Because he was well-loved by the masses. He became well known after he was exiled from the court by the Chu King and started traveling among the masses.Depression lor in a scientific way. Siao in local context. No wonder sinkie so many siao Lang boomers
He was exiled as he opposed relationships with Qin. And unfortunately for Chu, he was correct as Chu was later conquered by Qin. He committed suicide after learning that the Qin army has conquered Chu's capital.
23-06-2023, 08:44 AM
(23-06-2023, 07:34 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote: [ -> ]Half correct. your ah ma ah kong time Singapore is not a country, so is still consider tiong chinese reside in Malayu
Singapore was country as kingdom of singapura during around 1300-1400 AD.
Singapura or Temasek was only a small fishing village then lah!

23-06-2023, 08:44 AM
(23-06-2023, 07:07 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]Back in the ancient days, some of the Chinese who came from a huge clan had a main surname 姓 and a sub surname 氏. As the clan gets bigger and bigger, it will divide itself into several smaller clans and each will have a sub surname. They will also retain their main surname. For example, 屈原's main surname is 芈 (Mi) and his sub surname is 屈. So when he FULLY introduced himself, he will have to say 芈姓,屈氏,名平,字原. His name is 平 and his courtesy name is 原.
Nowadays, Chinese just combine surnames and sub surnames into one, names and courtesy names into one. More convenient.
(23-06-2023, 07:13 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]端午节 exists before 屈原, Just happened that he died that day so folks also commemorated him on the same day. The festival's original intent is to celebrate the 'sending away' of diseases.
https://zh.wikipedia.org/zh-sg/%E7%AB%AF...8%E8%8A%82
I like history but sometimes cannot understand lah!

23-06-2023, 09:56 AM
(23-06-2023, 08:02 AM)Buffybuffy Wrote: [ -> ]Depression lor in a scientific way. Siao in local context. No wonder sinkie so many siao Lang boomers
Depressed definitely. Not so sure about the depression part. Very different terms.
23-06-2023, 10:03 AM
I eat mooncake instead...cheaper, then when Mooncake Festival comes, I eat rice dumpling because cheaper.
23-06-2023, 10:08 AM
(23-06-2023, 10:03 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]I eat mooncake instead...cheaper, then when Mooncake Festival comes, I eat rice dumpling because cheaper.
There are mooncakes selling outside of the mid-autumn festive period? I always thought that mooncakes are the only ones that I cannot find outside of its 'season'.
Yah, me too for dumplings. I ate them during off-peak periods. During the peak period, I eat them only if my relatives or neighbours made them and give some to me.
23-06-2023, 10:34 AM
(23-06-2023, 10:08 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]There are mooncakes selling outside of the mid-autumn festive period? I always thought that mooncakes are the only ones that I cannot find outside of its 'season'.
Yah, me too for dumplings. I ate them during off-peak periods. During the peak period, I eat them only if my relatives or neighbours made them and give some to me.
You can make your own and eat anytime you like lah!

23-06-2023, 10:39 AM
(23-06-2023, 10:08 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]There are mooncakes selling outside of the mid-autumn festive period? I always thought that mooncakes are the only ones that I cannot find outside of its 'season'.Go to Shopee or Lazada search for mooncakes...