One of the favorite words of the PAP govt is "meritocracy" and it is used to justify policy and working principles of the regime.
While the good side ioften promoted is those with the highest ability rise up, ...what happens to the ordinary people? Often the leaders will argue that the deserve the highest remuneration and by virtue of this logic the common people deserves the plight they are in and the struggles they face.
This perspective in the Ridout Bungalow issue seemed to be forgotten in the parliamentary debate when the PAP argued that the 2 ministers deserve the opulence that has come to them. By the same token the common people deserve the 3 hrs wait at A&E in pain and the elderly poor have to collect cardboard boxes and take up menial jobs to make ends meet.
Friends, our struggle now is a struggle against this system that has become tyrannical and works against the common good in favor of a small number of rich elites.
The recent scandals remind us they while they say they want to help us to get our votes once in power they help themselves. They are driven often to preserve the system they benefitted from than to evolve a system that benefits everyone for the common good.
We as a nation are now at a crossroad. The last 20years, you don't need others to tell you how good or bad it has been but if nothing changes significantly the next 20 years will be more of the same. Even if you don't fear for yourself, you should fear for our children.
If a minister whose main skill is to interrogate and shame the opposition in parliament is deserving of q home whose land is larger than the Jewel ...there is something very wrong....
PAP gov has rotten....enough said....and rot is at the top.
(04-08-2023, 08:02 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]One of the favorite words of the PAP govt is "meritocracy" and it is used to justify policy and workings principles of the regime.
While the good side ioften promoted is those with the highest ability rise up, ...what happens to the ordinary people? Often the leaders will argue that the deserve the highest remuneration by virtue of this the common people deserves the plight they are in and the struggles they face.
This perspective in the Ridout Bungalow seem to be forgotten jn the parliamentary debate when the PAP argued that the 2 ministers deserve the opulence that has come to them. By the same token the common people deserve the 3 hrs wait at A&E in pain and the elderly poor have to collect cardboard boxes and take up menial jobs to make ends meet.
Friends, our struggle now is a struggle against this system that has become tyrannical and works against the common good in favor of a small number of rich elites.
The recent scandals remind us they while they say they want to help us to get our votes once in power they help themselves. They are driven often to preserve the system they benefitted from than to evolve a system that benefits everyone for the common good.
We as a nation are now at a crossroad. The last 20years, you don't need others to tell you how good or bad it has been but if nothing changes significantly the next 20 years will be more of the same. Even if you don't fear for yourself, you should fear for our children.
Since there is no link, I'd take it that you wrote this.
Iswaran
If you had started your "masterpiece" with him, and went on to write about scandals in para 5, I might tell you not to make a sweeping statement about the whole PAP just because of this one man who is under investigation for something nobody knows what yet.
Shan and Vivian
Instead, you started your "masterpiece" about Ridout which has been cleared by CPIB. And then went on to talk about scandals with nothing being mentioned about Iswaran. You continue to write about inequality like "poor peepur waiting for hours at a public horsepeter and collecting cardboards to eke out a living.
Your message
You are complaining that the Workers' Party did not continue to belabour the Ridout case even when it had been answered in Parliament..entire sessions spent on this already with Leong Mun Wai alone asking ten questions. But you just want WP to keep on talking and asking and accusing when there is absolutely no case just to stir up the politics of envy.
You talked about inequality. To each according to his needs is what you are selling. To each according to his ability is wrong, according to you.
Questions
1. How many at this forum would agree with you,. sell their house(s) and cars and donate the proceeds to the poor?
2. Do you admit that you are selling socialism and communism?
What makes you part of the common pool of the 39% is that you are anti-PAP. For now, you are untied with them because the common enemy is PAP. If the PAP is toppled, you, all of you, will start fighting and there will be chaos. Most here are WP supporters, and some are PSP supporters but clearly, I can tell from your writing about the poor, the inequality, and the exampurs you gave, that you are a Dr Chee supporter.
(04-08-2023, 08:24 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]If a minister whose main skill is to interrogate and shame the opposition in parliament is deserving of q home whose land is larger than the Jewel ...there is something very wrong....
A home that is surrounded by grass which he did not want, but SLA said, no you must take it and pay rent for each sq feet?
That would like renting a HDB flat and being made to rent the common corridor and pay rent for that, when you cannot use it and don't even want it...
Clearly, you are stirring up jealousy. The ministers are paying market rent for the houses. There is no corruption. Agreed, they are not renting one room HDB flats but a bungalow. They are well paid, and spending within their means. What is wrong?
You mean they are allowed to earn money but not spend it?
And the moment they spend it, you will become jealous because you are single, and can only buy a resale...you did not work for decades, and had been gambling in the Stock Market (that's your dream in your signature below your post), but never really became a millionaire unlike Peter Lim who's a billionaire...so you cannot afford to buy a bungalow, or rent one, and till now at the ripe old age of 40, you are still living in your mother's HDB flat which you are of course not going to sell after you inherit it, and donate the proceeds....
(04-08-2023, 09:35 AM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]https://d-pdf.com/book/3498/read
We see the thesis in the reality of Singapore.
The author's warning has come true.
This however is not from the pessimistic ruminations of a single author but a well researched area in social studies with many cases.
It is inevitable such systems that argue for a group of chosen elites to concentrate power aways lead to the same dire outcomes.
Their inconsiderate import of foreigners that led to overcrowding in Singapore show howmlittle.regard for ordinary Singaporeans
(04-08-2023, 09:47 AM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]you fcuking oppie retard
without meritocracy, your wait at A&E will be 12 hours
because there is no motivation for ordinary people
to be extraordinary to rise to the top
get it you fcuking idiot?
On the contrary there is nothing extraordinary about those in leadership. It's a delusion of exceptional ism that does not exist.
(04-08-2023, 09:58 AM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]Shanmugan born poor, like you
But he born smart, you born stupid
So meritocracy benefits him, not you because you stupid and lazy
Both of you started at the same small HDB flat for ordinary Singaporeans
Shanmugam worked hard to live in a bungalow
But you still bunking in your mother's small HBD flat
Of course losers like you will envy Shanmugam
Because you want to be successful like him but you can't
Because you born stupid, cannot compete with your own brains
Get it?
We can see what Shanmugam does as minister and how he behaves in parliament.
(04-08-2023, 10:31 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]On the contrary there is nothing extraordinary about those in leadership. It's a delusion of exceptional ism that does not exist.
Aliyah why you waste energy on 'it'
https://youtu.be/WX1vH-Ep1_c
Look like someone every trigger like someone ancestors tomb have been dug out.. 😂
(04-08-2023, 10:40 AM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]what is ONE talent you have
besides WHINING
or MASTURBATING
The posting is not about me nor my talents. Whether I have great talents or no talents is besides the point.
Most ordinary people have ordinary talents....that does not give the elites the right to implement extractive polices like GST, import of foreigners to intensify competition and cause the cost of living to rise ...and make people worse of.
Father got integrity
Son and the degraded PAP no more integrity liao
Just like that motto
If it's a selley it works.
If it's a PAP Lee it works.
Never mind father or son.
Can someone tell me how does reserving a race to be President meritocracy? Spore is basically like ancient China Emperor dynasty system. What they say count. They inform you peasants not seek your consensus. Ppl like to call China commie but look deeply into Spore it is not too far from them too. Classic case of pot calling kettle black. Or tortoise laugh turtle no tail.
Bo pian.
If vote opposition wait they mess up the country even worse. Then how???
The oppose Low TK said they are not ready to be Govt also.
Sound no confident
If lousy guy takeover for 5 yrs enough to do great damage
Rich people can go elsewhere. But we poor how?!!
(04-08-2023, 01:39 PM)victortan Wrote: [ -> ]Bo pian.
If vote opposition wait they mess up the country even worse. Then how???
The oppose Low TK said they are not ready to be Govt also.
Sound no confident
If lousy guy takeover for 5 yrs enough to do great damage
Rich people can go elsewhere. But we poor how?!!
It is ppl like you that the MIW use this to support their staying power. Do you all want disruption and chaos? So you keep quiet and wag your tail like a dog. After so many years you see so many issues surfacing. This does not bode well for Spore future. If Msia can change government and still don't die I don't see why Spore cannot. It is only ppl got balls or not either below or on the chest.
See Thailand, change and change, until now still cannot name a PM.
(04-08-2023, 09:58 AM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]Shanmugan born poor, like you
But he born smart, you born stupid
So meritocracy benefits him, not you because you stupid and lazy
Both of you started at the same small HDB flat for ordinary Singaporeans
Shanmugam worked hard to live in a bungalow
But you still bunking in your mother's small HBD flat
Of course losers like you will envy Shanmugam
Because you want to be successful like him but you can't
Because you born stupid, cannot compete with your own brains
Get it?
Janil also Malaysian but he did not serve NS like you
Both FREE Riders and suckers of Singapore
You are not entitled to be jealous of locals here
because you Surrendered Yur Own Birth Rights
So happy your god punished you with a dimwit son
活该
Meritocracy is more of performance or reputation based,does not guarantee fair , equality
Although heavily use in Sg govt and many oppositions, is not inside national pledge.
(04-08-2023, 01:32 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Can someone tell me how does reserving a race to be President meritocracy? Spore is basically like ancient China Emperor dynasty system. What they say count. They inform you peasants not seek your consensus. Ppl like to call China commie but look deeply into Spore it is not too far from them too. Classic case of pot calling kettle black. Or tortoise laugh turtle no tail.
Our pledge is have equality, so reserved a race is not wrong...
but select 50% 50% is controversy and no election holiday is distasteful
We should have first elected female president for Sg, opportunity lost

(05-08-2023, 10:17 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote: [ -> ]Meritocracy is more of performance or reputation based,does not guarantee fair , equality
Although heavily use in Sg govt and many oppositions, is not inside national pledge.
Even if you believe in Meritocracy it is a means to the ends. Not an end in itself.
There are many forms of meritocracy...but you can evolve a toxic form of you worship it ...