English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Printable Version

+--- Thread: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. (/Thread-English-is-not-spoken-here-in-Malaysia)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Oyk - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 06:31 PM)Ola Wrote:  Don't speak, lor. I just don't go to Malaysia.

Japan, Thailand . . .. can speak simple English 

So people go there better.

They have no issues with foreigners speaking English to them. They are saying that Malaysians should speak Bahasa Malaysia which is Malay.

Imagine a Japanese returning to Japan not speaking Japanese to the immigration officer and instead speaks English. The immigration officer will naturally not like that very much.

(29-11-2023, 06:34 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Clones Killjoy and Observer, Oky is itchy on his backside now…

Corrected for you.

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - CHAOS - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 06:28 PM)Oyk Wrote:  A large number of PGs cannot speak Mandarin.

They speak Teochew/ Hokkien/Cantonese and their vocabulary of Malay words is a lot bigger than their English vocabulary.

Shame on them because they can't speak Mandarin?

Dont try to playing word games with me, you know im talking about those kentangs totally dont understand any Mandarin and dialects!

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - grotesqueness - 29-11-2023

[Image: jeng-jeng-jeng-jege-jeng.gif]

(29-11-2023, 07:38 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Dont try to playing word games with me, you know im talking about those kentangs totally dont understand any Mandarin and dialects!

What do you mean by "Mandarin and dialects"? Rolleyes

Mandarin IS a dialect and you wrote "shame"  on those who don't speak the Mandarin dialect. I asked if you are saying shame on our PGs who speak various other dialects but not the Mandarin dialect, and now you come back with a reply which suddenly added "and dialects"

So who's playing with words here?  Rolleyes

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - KILLjoy - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 06:42 PM)Oyk Wrote:  sgtalk.net/User-Oyk冚家拎

Now you lay down to sleep
Pray the Lord your soul to keep
If you die before you wake
Pray the Devil your soul to take
And for that always remember my nick

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - watchfirst9 - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 03:31 PM)sgh Wrote:  My first melayu words are bodoh , kayu , makan suap , pariah etc. Later someone teach me properly satu dua tiga empat etc. I learn the first words from Kallang Stadium watching soccer in the good days of Msia League where Spore is part of it. Referee bodoh, referee kayu, referee makan suap etc.

not  Mari kita rakyat Singapura sama-sama menuju,bahagia. Cita-cita kita yang mulia ...meh  Big Grin

Anyway apart declare Malay as Sg national language,
founding fathers also set Malay, Mandarin Chinese, Tamil, and English as official languages
and English as working language.

So Mysian should stop compare Sg with them. 
therefore agree to Baharudin to say there was nothing wrong with being a Malaysian citizen and being asked by officials to communicate in Malay.

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - [[ForeverAlone]] - 29-11-2023

Actually their non chinese civil servant, those malays, indians learn Mandrain .

Due to China , as China got projects in Malaysia and Anwar is quite pro work with China.

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - CHAOS - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 08:50 PM)Oyk Wrote:  What do you mean by "Mandarin and dialects"? Rolleyes

Mandarin IS a dialect and you wrote "shame"  on those who don't speak the Mandarin dialect. I asked if you are saying shame on our PGs who speak various other dialects but not the Mandarin dialect, and now you come back with a reply which suddenly added "and dialects"

So who's playing with words here?  Rolleyes

Did SG govt consider Mandarin is one of the dialect of Chinese?  Laughing no wonder you still insisting Chinese is only a nationality  Threatening

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Manthink - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 08:02 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  Shame on those bolehlanders for unable to speak Malay.

Can see many SGtalker are illiterate in Chinese... Big Grin

If you had read the report, then will understand why those M'sian kenna bullied by Bolehlahd by the custom officer...

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Manthink - 29-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 10:57 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Actually their non chinese civil servant, those malays, indians learn Mandrain .
Due to China , as China got projects in Malaysia and Anwar is quite pro work with China.

I am fascinated by some M'sians who still deep deep holding out hope of Bolehland to "progress" beyond Bumi-Previlage culture...

Sadly, this racist incident at the M'sian immigrant shows many has not change their Bolehland mindset... Big Grin

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Manthink - 30-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 04:31 PM)klat Wrote:  Aiyah, that cuntry is regressing to the slumps. Nobody bothers to learn that what language that is not progressive. 
People prefer to learn international languages like England and China lah. More progressive languages and can be used internationally

Speaking of international lang... Chinese is one of UN 6 Official working languages.

Perhaps our next door Immigrasi officers need some skill upgradingBig Grin

[Image: w700d1q75cms.jpg]

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Oyk - 30-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 11:17 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Did SG govt consider Mandarin is one of the dialect of Chinese?  Laughing no wonder you still insisting Chinese is only a nationality  Threatening

We Singaporeans don't have the right to tell our forefathers' motherland with 1.4 billion Chinese what to call Mandarin.  Our national language is Malay, while theirs is a Chinese dialect called Mandarin.  Rolleyes

Over there this dialect is called putonghua, and not "Chinese language", because China recognises that all dialects (and that includes the Mandarin dialect) are spoken by the Chinese and hence, there is no consensus on what in hell is "Chinese language".

To you, 华语 may be Mandarin because that's what you'd been brainwashed to think, but when your grandfather speaks Hokkien, do not be so rude to point a finger at him, and say "Ah Gong, hehe, you no no how to speak Chinese ah, hehe?"  When he speaks Hokkien, he is speaking 华语。 Rolleyes

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - CHAOS - 30-11-2023

(30-11-2023, 09:35 AM)Oyk Wrote:  We Singaporeans don't have the right to tell our forefathers' motherland with 1.4 billion Chinese what to call Mandarin.  Our national language is Malay, while theirs is a Chinese dialect called Mandarin.  Rolleyes

Over there this dialect is called putonghua, and not "Chinese language", because China recognises that all dialects (and that includes the Mandarin dialect) are spoken by the Chinese and hence, there is no consensus on what in hell is "Chinese language".

To you, 华语 may be Mandarin because that's what you'd been brainwashed to think, but when your grandfather speaks Hokkien, do not be so rude to point a finger at him, and say "Ah Gong, hehe, you no no how to speak Chinese ah, hehe?"  When he speaks Hokkien, he is speaking 华语。 Rolleyes

I dont care  Laughing

Today Mandarin should be mother tongue of Chinese cause nearly all Chinese around the world understand Mandarin, so i suggest you learn Tamil Big Grin

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - sgh - 30-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 11:45 PM)Manthink Wrote:  I am fascinated by some M'sians who still deep deep holding out hope of Bolehland to "progress" beyond Bumi-Previlage culture...

Sadly, this racist incident at the M'sian immigrant shows many has not change their Bolehland mindset... Big Grin

Any Msians (especially the minority races) should know makan suap is prevalent there. Just give monies and settle why go by proper channels? They only make your life difficult. The woman is SPR most likely earn SGD convert to MYR should have a lot just give lah settle passport an important item on the spot. 破财挡灾

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Observer - 30-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 06:30 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Hi Observer

You didn't post your porn today. Got tired of it?  Rotfl

(29-11-2023, 06:30 PM)Observer Wrote:  I was busy taking your picture  Rotfl

[Image: vYD33L0.jpg]

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - RiseofAsia - 30-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 03:31 PM)sgh Wrote:  My first melayu words are bodoh , kayu , makan suap , pariah etc. Later someone teach me properly satu dua tiga empat etc. I learn the first words from Kallang Stadium watching soccer in the good days of Msia League where Spore is part of it. Referee bodoh, referee kayu, referee makan suap etc.

But mine was vulgar word. Rotfl
Kor-net

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - Observer - 30-11-2023

(29-11-2023, 06:33 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Who the f.uck is syaitan? Your mother? Rolleyes

(29-11-2023, 06:33 PM)syaitan Wrote:  Do you understand English?

[Image: 8hT4AHQ.jpg]

(30-11-2023, 11:04 AM)sgh Wrote:  Any Msians (especially the minority races) should know makan suap is prevalent there. Just give monies and settle why go by proper channels? They only make your life difficult. The woman is SPR most likely earn SGD convert to MYR should have a lot just give lah settle passport an important item on the spot. 破财挡灾

Well, FACT is Non-Bumi M'sians had been a 2nd Class citizen since day one of Malaya independence.

There was even a period when Chinese characters are banned from public display....

Then things got "better" like allowing fireworks during CNY and lion dances performances in public.

Certainly Bolehland's policies and law had change with time. However Mindset and Entitlement be a no-go area under their Constitution.

So here we are today, a couple of M'sian citiizens with SG-PR kenna  a 30-min "free lesson" from a M'sian official on basic Bahasa Malayu....

Perhaps their smartphone can do better with the translation ??? Big Grin

(30-11-2023, 09:35 AM)Oyk Wrote:  We Singaporeans don't have the right t *SNIPPED* ..To you, 华语 may be Mandarin *SNIPPED" he is speaking 华语。 Rolleyes

Wow...not only our "Han" SGrean Oyk learn to share his story about "华语", he has progressed from "话语" when showing how (not) to use han yu ping yin. Big Grin

(07-08-2023, 10:09 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Hokkien is also 话语 hor.
Btw did you write those Han characters... erm...I mean "Hua" characters using hanyu pinyin or huayu pinyin huh?  Rolleyes

(29-11-2023, 10:57 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Actually their non chinese civil servant, those malays, indians learn Mandrain .

[[ForeverAlone]] need to remind himself that Nothing is Forever  Big Grin 

Allow me to explain:

it used to be many in SG wanna learn England because Angmoh is TK.
then SG wanna learn Japanese because Jap are productive and hardworking
then wanna learn Korea because they Gangnam got a lot of Style.
Today, SG pple wanna learn Python because ChatGPT is in fashion...

Can anyone tell me any of those has anything to do with China ? No.
...and yet, since the 1st day after Raffles sealed a deal with a Malay Sultan in 1819, SG quickly became a Chinese-majority island...in a region of Malay sea.

Naturally many local Chinese adapted and Bahasa Malayu became their "mother tongue" - and yet their are still consider "Chinese"...

WHY ?

(30-11-2023, 12:06 PM)Manthink Wrote:  
Well, FACT is Non-Bumi M'sians had been a 2nd Class citizen since day one of Malaya independence.

There was even a period when Chinese characters are banned from public display....

Then things got "better" like allowing fireworks during CNY and lion dances performances in public.

Certainly Bolehland's policies and law had change with time. However Mindset and Entitlement be a no-go area under their Constitution.

So here we are today, a couple of M'sian citiizens with SG-PR kenna  a 30-min "free lesson" from a M'sian official on basic Bahasa Malayu....

Perhaps their smartphone can do better with the translation ??? Big Grin

The Msian Malay claim army,navy,air and even majority polis their ppl do. Got war or riot their ppl die first. The minority races like Chinese and Indian never do so they deserve lesser. This is only logical. When they open up police recruitment for all only 3 Chinese turn up and the Malay make a mockery of the Chinese in the news media. If one race not willing to sacrifice for the nation then get treated differently is expected. This is related to the not speaking Malay of this thread. Why minority races in Msia let the M race look down and then to be bullied.

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - cheekopekman - 30-11-2023

(30-11-2023, 02:06 PM)sgh Wrote:  The Msian Malay claim army,navy,air and even majority polis their ppl do. Got war or riot their ppl die first. The minority races like Chinese and Indian never do so they deserve lesser. This is only logical. When they open up police recruitment for all only 3 Chinese turn up and the Malay make a mockery of the Chinese in the news media. If one race not willing to sacrifice for the nation then get treated differently is expected. This is related to the not speaking Malay of this thread. Why minority races in Msia let the M race look down and then to be bullied.

CHINESE is printed on my NRIC under Race lah! Big Grin I can speak Mandarin and write Chinese words lah! But I'm a true blue born in Singapore Singaporean Chinese lah!

(30-11-2023, 02:20 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  CHINESE is printed on my NRIC under Race lah! Big Grin I can speak Mandarin and write Chinese words lah! But I'm a true blue born in Singapore Singaporean Chinese lah!

I am talking about serving in the army,navy,airforce as a Chinese. You will do or not? Msia Chinese don't want to do one leh let Malay do so die Malay first if got war or riot.

(30-11-2023, 02:06 PM)sgh Wrote:  The Msian Malay claim army,navy,air and even majority polis their ppl do. Got war or riot their ppl die first. The minority races like Chinese and Indian never do so they deserve lesser. This is only logical. When they open up police recruitment for all only 3 Chinese turn up and the Malay make a mockery of the Chinese in the news media. If one race not willing to sacrifice for the nation then get treated differently is expected. This is related to the not speaking Malay of this thread. Why minority races in Msia let the M race look down and then to be bullied.

I also asked this same question years ago : Why Bolehland minorities Chinese gets different treatment vs minorities in SG?

Initially, some blame on culture like 好男不当兵 or institutional discrimination etc etc.

Then it became obvious M'sians male who gotten hold of PR in SG actively avoids NS...

So yeah, minorities in Bolehland have as much to blame for being treated as 2nd Class citizens. Big Grin

(30-11-2023, 02:20 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  CHINESE is printed on my NRIC under Race lah! Big Grin I can speak Mandarin and write Chinese words lah! But I'm a true blue born in Singapore Singaporean Chinese lah!

I just discovered a software bug !

Chatbot cheekopekman is programmed to generate convincing lies but very badly Big Grin

RE: English is not spoken here in Malaysia. - WhatDoYouThink! - 30-11-2023

所以你是不折不扣的华人,新加坡华人,可能也是汉人,老汉,男人,隔壁色眯眯的老李, ...

(29-11-2023, 10:46 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  not  Mari kita rakyat Singapura sama-sama menuju,bahagia. Cita-cita kita yang mulia ...meh  Big Grin

Anyway apart declare Malay as Sg national language,
founding fathers also set Malay, Mandarin Chinese, Tamil, and English as official languages
and English as working language.

So Mysian should stop compare Sg with them. 
therefore agree to Baharudin to say there was nothing wrong with being a Malaysian citizen and being asked by officials to communicate in Malay.

A Thai retuning to Thailand is expected to speak Thai with the immigration officer at a Thai airport.

If he speaks English, the immigration officer may think he's trying to be funny.

Malaysia's working language is Bahasa Malaysia and all Malaysians are expected to speak it with government officials. It does not matter if the Malaysian is a Tamil, a Han whatever. English is neither Malaysia's national language nor working language.

(30-11-2023, 03:28 PM)Oyk Wrote:  A Thai retuning to Thailand is expected to speak Thai with the immigration officer at a Thai airport.

If he speaks English, the immigration officer may think he's trying to be funny.

Malaysia's working language is Bahasa Malaysia and all Malaysians are expected to speak it with government officials. It does not matter if the Malaysian is a Tamil, a Han whatever. English is neither Malaysia's national language nor working language.

Same for China right.

We have about 500K Chinese working here. When they return to China, they are expected to speak China's official and working language which is Mandarin with the immigration officer there.

If they speak English the immigration officer will not like it. He will ask, aren't you Chinese? Why are you speaking a foreign language with me?

Chinese is not a race. The Old Guards got it wrong. Your true race is Han.

If you hold a Singaporean passport and speak English with the immigration officer at a Chinese airport, he will be glad for the chance to practise his English.

If a Chinese speaks English with him, he will think he's trying to be funny, if not show off.