Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Printable Version

+--- Thread: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated (/Thread-Can-a-Buddhist-eat-meat-It-s-complicated)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - RiseofAsia - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 09:13 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  Best is don't be bothered by all these Mahayana or Theravada craps. Just follow the Buddha's teaching in the Nikaya and the Buddha directly. The Buddha ate meat and the last meal was a dish of pig if I remember correctly.    Rolleyes

Ya. Gautama Buddha was not a vegetarian.
He ate what what was given to him.

He knew his last dish was poison but he still ate them.
Some said the last dish was a dish of mushrooms but other believed, it was wild boar flesh.

Monks started to be vegetarians probably originated from China.

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Oyk - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 01:19 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  and you are also one of them

cause you ATE THE APPLE

and

[Image: stop-denying-housewives-of-new-york.gif]

Nobody knows what fruit it was.  Why? Because the Bible didn't say and we are unable to find the garden of Eden till now to see what fruit it was. 

Let's just say that our ancestors ate the forbidden fruit and since then their nature had been corrupted by that sin of disobedience, and all generations are born with the sin nature.

No, I'd never claimed to be perfect.  Wink

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Observer - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 11:00 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Say Hi to my grand daughter, Oky
She's every man's meat
[Image: oykgd8.jpg]

(16-08-2023, 04:30 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Ya. Gautama Buddha was not a vegetarian.

His knew his last dish was poison but he still ate them.
Some said the last dish was a dish of mushrooms but other believed, it was wild boar flesh.

If he ate meat knowing that the animals were mercilessly slaughtered, and entered Nirvana as many claimed, I find that to be a contradiction in terms. Rolleyes

(16-08-2023, 01:19 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Respectfully I don't think so

You're hallucinating, that's all

No one like YOU and it's not because they're sinners

But it's a serious character flaw of yours that NOBODY here can accept

You better change

Respectfully you think I am in saints territory? Stop hallucinating.  Rolleyes

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Observer - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 11:00 AM)Oyk Wrote:  You like Oky's meat?
[Image: image-25.png]

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Sentinel - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 06:46 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Respectfully you think I am in saints territory? Stop hallucinating.  Rolleyes

I never say that

Again, you hallucinate

Please go take your medicine

You may consider increasing the dose

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - RiseofAsia - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 01:35 PM)red3 Wrote:  The complete verse is this

酒肉穿肠过 佛祖心中留
世人若学我 如同进魔道

Many ppl dont know there is a 2nd phrase.
This was what 济公 actually mentioned

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - grotesqueness - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 06:39 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Nobody knows what fruit it was.  Why? Because the Bible didn't say and we are unable to find the garden of Eden till now to see what fruit it was. 

Let's just say that our ancestors ate the forbidden fruit and since then their nature had been corrupted by that sin of disobedience, and all generations are born with the sin nature.

No, I'd never claimed to be perfect.  Wink

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSoKl_cgo5z09h6kNXTHjk...g&usqp=CAU]

Is the company above a fruit company?

No obviously right

So we ate the apple
Just like the apple fruit company do not produce nor sell any apple

The apple are not the apple we know

As for the garden of Eden
The garden moves!
Adam and eves are banish from the garden

The garden moves

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Blasterlord2 - 16-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 06:43 PM)Oyk Wrote:  If he ate meat knowing that the animals were mercilessly slaughtered, and entered Nirvana as many claimed, I find that to be a contradiction in terms. Rolleyes

You find it's a contradiction cos you dunno what really went on.

At the same time, when I read the bible and it's littered with many examples of God getting angry, that's a contradiction.

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - victortan - 17-08-2023

According to what one Christian told me. Bible use Apple as story.

Actually they Adam n eve was trick into having sex in the holy place. So when their eyes was open they found themselves naked. So cover with leave.

So why eating Apple can be condemn??? How can God so siao chi get angry because they eat apple. Not even durian.

Bible holy book don use word like sex n make love. It will state so n so go to sleep with so n so because it is a holy book.

All religion are good only the follower are lousy.
If everyone follow their religion properly there will be peace.

Which religion said can steal n kill???
Which religion said can drink Tiger Beer??
Which religion said u can sleep with yr neighbour wife???

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - RiseofAsia - 17-08-2023

https://youtu.be/iEeBnhMadkk

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - cheekopekman - 17-08-2023

(17-08-2023, 01:04 AM)victortan Wrote:  According to what one Christian told me. Bible use Apple as story.

Actually they Adam n eve was trick into having sex in the holy place. So when their eyes was open they found themselves naked. So cover with leave.

So why eating Apple can be condemn??? How can God so siao chi get angry because they eat apple. Not even durian.

Bible holy book don use word like sex n make love. It will state so n so go to sleep with so n so  because it is a holy book.

All religion are good only the follower are lousy.
If everyone follow their religion properly there will be peace.

Which religion said can steal n kill???
Which religion said can drink Tiger Beer??
Which religion said u can sleep with yr neighbour wife???

Who told you it's an apple leh? Thinking

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - sclim - 17-08-2023

一切有为法,如梦幻泡影后

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Clyde - 17-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 04:30 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Ya. Gautama Buddha was not a vegetarian.

He knew his last dish was poison but he still ate them.

It was Buddha's disciple Devadatta that suggested that monks to be strict vegetarians. Buddha rejected his idea but he told him the monks can do that if they wish to.

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Oyk - 17-08-2023

(16-08-2023, 11:31 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  You find it's a contradiction cos you dunno what really went on.

At the same time, when I read the bible and it's littered with many examples of God getting angry, that's a contradiction.

God was angry at sin and what it caused the human being to become. You mean you sexpected Him to rub His hands together, let out a sadistic heehaw and yell 再来一次when a man slashed another man with a knife in a fit of satanic rage?

Now can you enlighten the world what was going on when Gautama chomped on meat and peepur said he shant be coming back to this world because he:d attained nirvana wor. Rolleyes

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Migrant - 17-08-2023

Stories are written by humans. 
The true teachings are in the sutras. 

• "We are what we think. ...
  • "The root of suffering is attachment."
  • "Nothing is forever except change."
  • "Do not look for a sanctuary in anyone except yourself."
  • "If you find no one to support you on the spiritual path, walk alone."
  • "All that we are is the result of what we have thought."

(16-08-2023, 06:53 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  I never say that

Again, you hallucinate

Please go take your medicine

You may consider increasing the dose

So you agree that this is sinners' territory or not?

A Yes or No answer will do.

Don't start beating around the bush, play with words, twist and turn like you had been doing whenever you lost it 

Thank you.  Rolleyes

(17-08-2023, 10:01 AM)Migrant Wrote:  Stories are written by humans. 
The true teachings are in the sutras. 

• "We are what we think. ...
  • "The root of suffering is attachment."
  • "Nothing is forever except change."
  • "Do not look for a sanctuary in anyone except yourself."
  • "If you find no one to support you on the spiritual path, walk alone."
  • "All that we are is the result of what we have thought."

The bible says:

There is a way that seems right to a man, but it is the way of Death.

Jeses says:

I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father but by Me.

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Observer - 17-08-2023

(17-08-2023, 10:02 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Greetings from my daughter in law
[Image: image-20.png]  

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - KILLjoy - 17-08-2023

[Image: Sg2Nh.png]

(16-08-2023, 07:24 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  [Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSoKl_cgo5z09h6kNXTHjk...g&usqp=CAU]

Is the company above a fruit company?

No obviously right

So we ate the apple
Just like the apple fruit company do not produce nor sell any apple

The apple are not the apple we know

As for the garden of Eden
The garden moves!
Adam and eves are banish from the garden

The garden moves

It's not a fruit company least of all one which sells Apples. It only named its company Apple and decided that its logo would be an 🍎.

A mighty poor analogy, yours.

(17-08-2023, 10:39 AM)KILLjoy Wrote:  [Image: Sg2Nh.png]

It's very pitiful the way lvlrsSTI spams porn here instead of engaging forummers in tcss.

It's the anti social behavior of a psychopath.

With his lvlrsSTI user id, he appears normal enough, even starting threads.. with his Observer user id, his mental illness shows.

It's pretty tedious for him to type in words, Google porn peektures, type in some more words, cut and paste... I tried playing his game so I know... but he thinks his time is well spent on stalking me wor.  Rotfl

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Lukongsimi - 17-08-2023

Where humans came from in the beginning ?
Who makes the sun n moon to shine the earth?
Who gives us water?
Why animals n plants are created?

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - red3 - 17-08-2023

Come from 忉利天

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Sentinel - 17-08-2023

(17-08-2023, 10:02 AM)Oyk Wrote:  So you agree that this is sinners' territory or not?

A Yes or No answer will do.

Don't start beating around the bush, play with words, twist and turn like you had been doing whenever you lost it 

Thank you.  Rolleyes
This is just a place some gather to talk cok sing song

We can never know who is good who is not

We dun need to, it's not necessary

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Tangsen - 17-08-2023

(17-08-2023, 11:51 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  This is just a place some gather to talk cok sing song

We can never know who is good who is not

We dun need to, it's not necessary

This thread has no meaning to you, you and your family can only consume these .....  Rotfl

[Image: id-img-culturalheritage-pica-l-6b7fa0c8-...cf16c1.jpg]

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Sentinel - 17-08-2023

(17-08-2023, 12:00 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  This thread has no meaning to you, you and your family can only consume these .....  Rotfl

[Image: id-img-culturalheritage-pica-l-6b7fa0c8-...cf16c1.jpg]
Harlo, I dun eat anything

IAM immortal, rmb?

RE: Can a Buddhist eat meat? It's complicated - Tangsen - 17-08-2023

(17-08-2023, 12:11 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Harlo, I dun eat anything

IAM immortal, rmb?

You are dead ..... stop the denial  Laughing

Go enjoy your picnic with your loved ones  Bowl

[Image: photo-2022-07-28-14-29-38-1024x768.jpg]