TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Printable Version

+--- Thread: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. (/Thread-TKL-Be-frugal-and-live-a-simple-lifestyle)

TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - forum456 - 25-08-2023

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/pe-2023-dishing-out-life-advice-tan-kin-lian-says-be-frugal-do-not-fear-failure-and-think-out-box-2238811
Mr Tan believes many people overspend and are left with little to no savings. Despite his wealth, he often buys things from lesser-known brands that are still of “quite good quality”, and he does not drive a car.

“Public transport is more convenient, it's also much cheaper,” he said. “I get to meet people on the bus and the train, and I can see what life is like for ordinary people. So I do encourage young people, don't overspend. Be frugal and have savings.”

This philosophy of living simply comes up often in Mr Tan's blogs and in his posts on social media where he regularly takes photos of his hawker centre meals, which he has almost every day.

He has also been outspoken about how he ran NTUC Income in a similar vein, where operating expenses were kept low and higher bonuses went to policyholders instead of top management. 

While he did not elaborate on where this proclivity for frugality has come from, Mr Tan has implied on his blog that it stems from growing up with humble means. He chose to leave school after Secondary Four to work in order to support his family who lived in rental rooms throughout his youth.

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Migrant - 25-08-2023

At that time, living in that circumstances was a norm. 
Most families had to go by with a 555 booklet. We bought stuff from the shop with credit. End of month after getting salary, 1st thing went to shop to make payment.
Only a handful had good lives at that time.

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Bigiron - 25-08-2023

(25-08-2023, 10:49 AM)Migrant Wrote:  At that time, living in that circumstances was a norm. 
Most families had to go by with a 555 booklet. We bought stuff from the shop with credit. End of month after getting salary, 1st thing went to shop to make payment.

yup frugal and where all his money gone to why need people to donate 

[Image: IMG-20230824-071858-758.jpg]

can post on fb about his investment and show off his jb property

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Instinct - 25-08-2023

He can teach the gov a thing or 2 about frugality. That's a great virtue. The old guards practise that strictly but the 3G ministers under LHL went on spending spree. Maybe already started since gct time.

https://www.tiktok.com/@goodyfeedbluecats/video/7271074377020607745?embed_source=121355059%2C121351166%2C121331973%2C120811592%2C120810756%3Bnull%3Bembed_share&refer=embed&referer_url=s9e.github.io%2F&referer_video_id=7271074377020607745

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Manthink - 25-08-2023

I agree with TKL...勤俭节约是传统美德

That is the core value that allowed SG to save and prosper for the sake of your children and beyond

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Instinct - 25-08-2023

(25-08-2023, 11:18 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  https://www.tiktok.com/@goodyfeedbluecats/video/7271074377020607745?embed_source=121355059%2C121351166%2C121331973%2C120811592%2C120810756%3Bnull%3Bembed_share&refer=embed&referer_url=s9e.github.io%2F&referer_video_id=7271074377020607745

Stop all these character assassination unless you wear skirt like AWARE. We are choosing a president not a spouse. So long as he does his job that the people want, and not what the elite want, we should vote him.

(25-08-2023, 10:49 AM)Migrant Wrote:  At that time, living in that circumstances was a norm. 
Most families had to go by with a 555 booklet. We bought stuff from the shop with credit. End of month after getting salary, 1st thing went to shop to make payment.Only a handful had good lives at that time.

When SGreans pioneer gen understand the value of food and safety...and simplicity of recording your daily routines on a small 555 booklet..

[Image: vintage_lined_555_notebook_stationery_15...essive.jpg]
[Image: 01_wartime.jpg]

[Image: photo-2023-08-23-14-49-21.jpg]
poster material 

[Image: 368184760-969996790959039-3923835295865421325-n.jpg]
below

[Image: 368270033-1474110609795595-7061808858123629399-n.jpg]

[Image: bs.png]

[Image: 45.jpg]

[Image: tyyuio.jpg]

no money for PE campaign 

(25-08-2023, 10:38 AM)forum456 Wrote:  ....This philosophy of living simply comes up often in Mr Tan's blogs and in his posts on social media where he regularly takes photos of his hawker centre meals, which he has almost every day....

...Mr Tan has implied on his blog that it stems from growing up with humble means. He chose to leave school after Secondary Four to work in order to support his family who lived in rental rooms throughout his youth....

Ah Tan is gaining more support by implying he is more connected to both the past and present struggles of average HDB SGreans..

And I am also *pretty* sure AWARE don't care about that... Big Grin

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - WhatDoYouThink! - 25-08-2023

(25-08-2023, 11:33 AM)Manthink Wrote:  I agree with TKL...勤俭节约是传统美德

That is the core value that allowed SG to save and prosper for the sake of your children and beyond

This garment needs his advice badly in this regard on how not to waste money

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Sentinel - 25-08-2023

Not my parents and grandparents
They are equally poor but always gainfully employed and pick up skills very quickly and live within their means

They never live on credit, so the 555 book is what they issue to others who need them

This is the way

The 555 book must always be scorned at, then and now

Rather go hungry than live on credit

(25-08-2023, 11:45 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  [Image: photo-2023-08-23-14-49-21.jpg]
poster material 

[Image: 368184760-969996790959039-3923835295865421325-n.jpg]
below

[Image: 368270033-1474110609795595-7061808858123629399-n.jpg]

[Image: bs.png]

[Image: 45.jpg]

[Image: tyyuio.jpg]

no money for PE campaign 

his money gone where leh?

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Lukongsimi - 25-08-2023

When reach old age, u don’t spent much or eat much automatically u will be frugal.

Money left for your children,next generation to finish it.

(25-08-2023, 11:49 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  This garment needs his advice badly in this regard on how not to waste money

The ONLY advise Gov will accept is at the GE ballot box....Money isn't an issue for them as long as "everything is in order"...

In 2017, Ah Tan shared on social media he planned to get a JB property using his own $....

in 2023 we only found out from an oppie member that our most senior gov offcials love to stay in BIG BIG bungalows partly funded by public $...

Who is really Wasting OUR $ ?

Rolleyes
[Image: hzridoutgist030723_3.jpg?VersionId=zut3p...i4OKV4kPpm]

(25-08-2023, 12:00 PM)Manthink Wrote:  The ONLY advise Gov will accept is at the GE ballot box....Money isn't an issue for them as long as "everything is in order"...

In 2017, Ah Tan shared on social media he planned to get a JB property using his own $....

in 2023 we only found out from an oppie member that  our most senior gov offcials love to stay in BIG BIG bungalows partly funded by public $...

Who is really Wasting OUR  $ ?

Rolleyes
[Image: hzridoutgist030723_3.jpg?VersionId=zut3p...i4OKV4kPpm]

Wow while he preach about GST hike, high cost of living and NS and cpf . So what have he done after PE 2011 using mouth. No action. Then deal to this saga want to act as people president and concerns come out for PE. Wtf

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - talky - 25-08-2023

(25-08-2023, 11:33 AM)Manthink Wrote:  I agree with TKL...勤俭节约是传统美德

this virtue NEVER CHANGE FROM HISTORY TO ETERNITY

(25-08-2023, 11:39 AM)Instinct Wrote:  Stop all these character assassination unless you wear skirt like AWARE. We are choosing a president not a spouse. So long as he does his job that the people want, and not what the elite want, we should vote him.

Thank for the reminding this is PE not GE.
Don't over sell and promise and stir people emotions also

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - ArielCasper - 25-08-2023

(25-08-2023, 10:59 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  yup frugal and where all his money gone to why need people to donate 

Live frugal doesn't mean he have to fund the campaign right? Leave the monies to his kids cannot meh. 

If u dun want to give to his campaign, dun give loh

(25-08-2023, 12:21 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Live frugal doesn't mean he have to fund the campaign right? Leave the monies to his kids cannot meh. 

If u dun want to give to his campaign, dun give loh

Good that you make a donation for him. While he can buy more properties to huat and leave to his kid. If really a sincerity people why need to seek donations while amass such a wealth.  Or so call the people president. Shan't he using all whatever his resources he has to help people not NATO. And Learn from chiam see tong

(25-08-2023, 10:59 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  yup frugal and where all his money gone to why need people to donate 

He wants people to be frugal should not ask for donations 
Use his own savings like nks

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - singlon - 25-08-2023

Chanana says China All deliveraging
remember SINGAPORE 6x GDP of 446B Dola
jerpun no.1 Sin no.3
China lower

(25-08-2023, 12:27 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  He wants people to be frugal should not ask for donations 
Use his own savings like nks

Use yr logic u are supportive that ah sham and ah Vien shouldn't rent from slb loh. So rich Liao still want to take advantage of ppl.

(25-08-2023, 12:31 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Use yr logic u are supportive that ah sham and ah Vien shouldn't rent from slb loh. So rich Liao still want to take advantage of ppl.

Don't try to pinpoint this PE and not GE. 
Yes I don't agree with them and they shan't . But same time isn't NATO tikopeh tan making use of people emotions and asking for donations not much better the ceca snake

[Image: IMG-20230825-072046.jpg]

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - singlon - 25-08-2023

BRICS as a percentage of World GDP of abt 94T, 37% of world more than a third
Dola derivatives are in the quadtrillions S plural
1QUAD=1000Trillions
1T=1000B
GDP is beri important for Singapore DOWN is bad news.
she has MONEY Gold only 10B Dola.
[Image: Screenshot-2023-08-25-at-14-12-33-TKL-Be...estyle.png]

RE: TKL:Be frugal and live a simple lifestyle. - Stoki - 25-08-2023

Quote:    Dishing out life advice, Tan Kin Lian says be frugal, do not fear failure and think out of the box 

(25-08-2023, 12:26 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Good that you make a donation for him. While he can buy more properties to huat and leave to his kid. If really a sincerity people why need to seek donations while amass such a wealth.  Or so call the people president. Shan't he using all whatever his resources he has to help people not NATO. And Learn from chiam see tong
Simple.. becoz he got no rich daddy like his ex political party to support him.

(25-08-2023, 12:42 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Don't try to pinpoint this PE and not GE. 
Yes I don't agree with them and they shan't . But same time isn't NATO tikopeh tan making use of people emotions and asking for donations not much better the ceca snake

[Image: IMG-20230825-072046.jpg]

Both are elections, whether EP or GE.

What you said is an insult to tkl. 

His case, ppl willingly donate money to him. 

Ah sham and ah Vien case, we din willingly fund their stay at ridout. At least I wasn't ask if I want to fund their stay.

(25-08-2023, 07:03 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Both are elections, whether EP or GE.

What you said is an insult to tkl. 

His case, ppl willingly donate money to him. 

Ah sham and ah Vien case, we din willingly fund their stay at ridout. At least I wasn't ask if I want to fund their stay.
 Buying hope like buying 4D. 
So this time you willing to fund to huat power men...
Good for you please continue. Where most of the Singaporean are struggling. Like buying 4,D hope strikes first prize with a fat hope that it won't improve your current situation. 

Tell me our president can change policy? 
At where it stated . 
Don't be wishful dreaming and wake up

(25-08-2023, 12:31 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Use yr logic u are supportive that ah sham and ah Vien shouldn't rent from slb loh. So rich Liao still want to take advantage of ppl.

All Same rich n take advantages to fulfil their dream.