Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Printable Version

+--- Thread: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever (/Thread-Which-will-you-take-1M-lump-sum-or-10K-a-month-forever)

Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - sgbuffett - 12-11-2021

I think last time civil servants had a slighty different problem when they retire, they can take a monthly allowance until they die or a lump sum

Here question is which is better an immediate lump sum of $1M or $10K a month forever.

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Sharexchange - 12-11-2021

Depends on how much life left you think you have..

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Yin yang - 12-11-2021

So manh ways to make money or get rich in our society...sharing my experience...
Never complain cos lady luck will sprint away as fadt as far away as possible .

-yrs of honest hard work is one way..any job

-buy toto or 4 d , lucky strike 1 m

- buy shares at the oppotune time , can make 1m .

I ever made a million buying selling in penny shares during hey day...n with dat heaven sent , bot a freehold apartment for rental.

I worked hard for 40 yrs , enuf to last my last breath from cpf, prudent investments using cpf money.
N blessed to raise up 2 professionsl kids

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - [[ForeverAlone]] - 12-11-2021

Civil servant actually now best,
mid year bonus SURELY get even economics not good ,like recently July just got , now is waiting Year end bonus
and year increment till max depend your grade/position

Come project in WIS also got money get few hundred

than long time service award also got money take

daily job scope, most of the time see computer reply email, tell sub contractors do work

tired is " act busy , trying to create something as if a job " This is what you see Ministers are doing

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - sgbuffett - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 04:20 PM)Yin yang Wrote:  So manh ways to make money or get rich in our society...sharing my experience...
Never complain cos lady luck will sprint away as fadt as far away as possible .

-yrs of honest hard work is one way..any job

-buy toto or 4 d , lucky strike 1 m

- buy shares at the oppotune time , can make 1m .

I ever made a million buying selling in penny shares during hey day...n with dat heaven sent , bot a freehold apartment for rental.

I worked hard for 40 yrs , enuf to last my last breath from cpf, prudent investments using cpf money.
N blessed to raise up 2 professionsl kids

Wow 

Well done.

Clapping

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - debono - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 04:23 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Civil servant actually now best,
mid year bonus SURELY get even economics not good ,like recently July just got , now is waiting Year end bonus
and year increment till max depend your grade/position

Come project in WIS also got money get few hundred

than long time service award also got money take

daily job scope, most of the time see computer reply email, tell sub contractors do work

tired is " act busy , trying to create something as if a job "  This is what you see Ministers are doing

Civil servants are the best, get bonus in July and Dec every year, sit behind computer all day long and write e-mails, get to collect big CPF retirement account fund and lived happy ever after....it is an iron bowl job.... Laughing

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - winbig - 12-11-2021

Of course 1mil lump sum lah. Cos can reinvest to get passive income.

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - klat - 12-11-2021

Take $500,000 out and the remainder, get $5K forever.

That is the best.

If you are a cheekopek and likely to get fine for certain offence like molest, then take out $1M. Because if you are fined above a certain $ amount, your pension id gone, bye bye

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - debono - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 05:03 PM)klat Wrote:  Take $500,000 out and the remainder, get $5K forever.

That is the best.

If you are a cheekopek and likely to get fine for certain offence like molest, then take out $1M. Because if you are fined above a certain $ amount, your pension id gone, bye bye

These days there is no pension scheme, all are being converted to CPF scheme.... Rolleyes

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - hayabusa32 - 12-11-2021

Depends on the T&C. I knew of a guy who signed to get monthly allowance instead of lump sum. He was asked to go for medical checkup prior to his official retirement for recontract and was diagnose with cancer. 6 mths later he passed. He only get his allowance for 6 mths.

(12-11-2021, 05:15 PM)hayabusa32 Wrote:  Depends on the T&C. I knew of a guy who signed to get monthly allowance instead of lump sum. He was asked to go for medical checkup prior to his official retirement for recontract and was diagnose with cancer. 6 mths later he passed. He only get his allowance for 6 mths.

So in his case, he should have opted for the lump sum.  It also depends on one's health.  But some say should opt for lump sum. If you are a gambling sort, then it is best that you opt for monthly payout, cause if bring money to casino, can only last one week at best...... Laughing

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Blin - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 05:03 PM)winbig Wrote:  Of course 1mil lump sum lah. Cos can reinvest to get passive income.

suck up the lump first.

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - sgbuffett - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 05:15 PM)hayabusa32 Wrote:  Depends on the T&C. I knew of a guy who signed to get monthly allowance instead of lump sum. He was asked to go for medical checkup prior to his official retirement for recontract and was diagnose with cancer. 6 mths later he passed. He only get his allowance for 6 mths.

As I understand most civil servants opt for lump sum....in case they die of something (accident?)) 2yrs after retirement. 

I was more talking about $1M lump sum vs $10K forever....even if die $$ go to descendents.

(12-11-2021, 05:03 PM)winbig Wrote:  Of course 1mil lump sum lah. Cos can reinvest to get passive income.

What if all your investments failed.....? crying

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - maddog - 12-11-2021

Wait long long, my aunt retired teacher only got 500 monthly pension niah

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - WhatDoYouThink? - 12-11-2021

if dun gamble, that 1m can be made good use of.

else if gamble and duno money management, sure 坐吃山空。take monthly 10k safer

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - winbig - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 06:01 PM)debono Wrote:  What if all your investments failed.....? crying

If really so suay then lppl.  Laughing

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Huliwang - 12-11-2021

Take the $1 million quickly before the government move goal post and pay your monthly $10K into CPF or nullified the payment....... Big Grin

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Yin yang - 12-11-2021

Just plan for ur future n focus on it...mudt have enuf for v long sunset yrs...

Dont care about life death matter, beyond our control.

Wat we can control, we must plan far far ahead.

Most probably , one out of 5 or 10 will die youngg but wat happens to the rest without enuf $$$ for twilight yrs, live >90 yrs...really die standing ..it must b like a piece of useless rubbish, kena throw here there.

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - drgn - 12-11-2021

(12-11-2021, 03:36 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I think last time civil servants had a slight different problem when they retire, they can take a monthly allowance until they die or a lump sum

Here question is which is better an immediate lump sum of $1M or $10K a month forever.

no such good conversion rate.

if can opt for $10k per month, 99% will take it.  because they can get $1m after 8+ year.  average ROD age after retirement is more than 25 year, that means that on the average, can collect $3m, instead of $1m up front.

the actual conversion is more like $5k a month or $1m lum sum.

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Galilo_l - 13-11-2021

Take 1mil first if one is prudent with money management

RE: Which will you take $1M lump sum or $10K a month forever - Blasterlord2 - 13-11-2021

No need to waste time thinking about a hypothetical question.