![]() |
Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - Printable Version +- SG Talk (https://sgtalk.net) +-- Forum: SG Talk (https://sgtalk.net/Forum-SG-Talk) +--- Forum: Market Talk (https://sgtalk.net/Forum-Market-Talk) +--- Thread: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? (/Thread-Do-you-know-why-some-HDB%E2%80%99s-external-walls-are-stained-with-mould-Black-black) |
Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 ![]() RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 Because people use aircon everyday with very low temperature and the condensation causes the external walls to be very wet RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - EvertonDiehard - 07-02-2024 S'pore is hot, humid and with a lot of rain lately. Is it any wonder that mold is thriving on so many buildings? Not just HDB blocks. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 In Bukit Panjang there are a lot of HDBs like that not just in Seng Kang RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:42 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: S'pore is hot, humid and with a lot of rain lately. Is it any wonder that mould is thriving on so many buildings? Not just HDB blocks. That is true but I am talking about the problems of HDB flats, one if the reasons is aircon too cold in the room, as a result the wall in the other room or external wall get wet. ![]() ![]() When the temperature in one room is 21 degree while the other room is 32 degree, it will cause the water vapour in the air of the hotter room to accumulate to the wall. This is similar to the case when you grab a can of coke or beer from your fridge you see water stains all over the can due to condensation. So dunt just blame the weather the residents who use aircon on daily basis are to be blamed or they are simply ignorant RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - EvertonDiehard - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:43 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: In Bukit Panjang there are a lot of HDBs like that not just in Seng Kang The condos at Bukit Timah Hill need to be repainted every 4-5 years owing to the unsightly mold formation. The humidity of the hill and forest reserve are contributory factors. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:52 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: The condos at Bukit Timah Hill need to be repainted every 4-5 years owing to the unsightly mould formation. The humidity of the hill and forest reserve are contributory factors. Humidity is one reason but aircon condensation is the other reason RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - EvertonDiehard - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:52 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: That is true but I am talking about the problems of HDB flats, one if the reasons is aircon too cold in the room, as a result the wall in the other room or external wall get wet. When the temperature in one room is 21 degree while the other room is 32 degree, it will cause the water vapour in the air of the hotter room to accumulate to the wall. This is similar to the case when you grab a can of coke or beer from your fridge you see water all over the cab due to condensation. So dunt just blame the weather the residents who use aircon on daily basis are to be blamed or they are simply ignorant My friend uses a CPAP machine as he has sleep apnoea. There is condensation inside the unit owing to him sleeping in an aircon bedroom exposed to the afternoon sun while he is at work in the daytime. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:52 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: The condos at Bukit Timah Hill need to be repainted every 4-5 years owing to the unsightly mould formation. The humidity of the hill and forest reserve are contributory factors. ![]() ![]() RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:42 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: S'pore is hot, humid and with a lot of rain lately. Is it any wonder that mould is thriving on so many buildings? Not just HDB blocks. HDB can only repaint the external wall but you have to fix the condensation problem to your walls at home as it will turn your walls mouldy sooner or later. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - grotesqueness - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:40 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: mold or mould RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 04:21 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: mold or mould Modi… ![]() RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - Napoleon Porlumpar - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:59 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: HDB can only repaint the external wall but you have to fix the condensation problem to your walls at home as it will turn your walls mouldy sooner or later. with the kind of watered down cheap paint they're using ?? ![]() RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - grotesqueness - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 05:39 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: with the kind of watered down cheap paint they're using ?? undetectable corruption paint RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - Blin - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:41 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: Because people use aircon everyday with very low temperature and the condensation causes the external walls to be very wet Moisture attracts mold. ![]() RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - RiseofAsia - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:41 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: Because people use aircon everyday with very low temperature and the condensation causes the external walls to be very wet But not everyone switches on aircon round the clock leh. It is not that simple. You come to older estate, you won’t see mould issue so common lah. The real reason is newer estate(maximise profit) is building too close to each other. Lack of direct sunlight to dry up the wall. The designer also never includes humid factor. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 05:39 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: with the kind of watered down cheap paint they're using ?? The subcontractors are using low quality paint to maximise profit? RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 06:04 PM)Blin Wrote: Moisture attracts mold. Condensation also RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 06:16 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: But not everyone switches on aircon round the clock leh. Maybe they should erect a number of mega fans to blow the HDB external walls every night. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - grotesqueness - 07-02-2024 never used this paint ![]() RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - RiseofAsia - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 04:21 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: mold or mould US and British spelling. Mould is British spelling. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - RiseofAsia - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 06:38 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: never used this paint Bullshxt lah. Mould issue happens sometimes it is due to hollow wall, rain water is trapped in it, cannot dry up in time. You need to solve the root cause. 这只是治标不治本lah. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - RiseofAsia - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 06:35 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: Maybe they should erect a number of mega fans to blow the HDB external walls every night. This is design issue. Who will come out to admit? As usual they will blame the weather. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - grotesqueness - 07-02-2024 RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - menghuii - 07-02-2024 i thot they paint every 6 years? RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - victortan - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 03:40 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote: i think contractor use low quality paint and make lot of profit from town council.. cannot be aircon so powerful. My wife use aircon 24/7.. yet my wall not black black,,,, very white like Ah moi backside..hehehe RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - Lukongsimi - 07-02-2024 Cheap paint or how many years never paint RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - LittleBirdStreet - 07-02-2024 (07-02-2024, 06:04 PM)Blin Wrote: Moisture attracts mold. If that is the case all the HDB’s external walls will turn black not just in Seng Kang RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - YasosBib - 17-03-2025 I've seen this happen in my block too, and it gets worse during the rainy season. The trapped moisture makes it easy for mould to grow, especially on older HDB walls. Mould Testing can help check how serious the problem is and if the air quality is affected. Some neighbours tried scrubbing it off, but it keeps coming back unless the underlying moisture issue is fixed properly. RE: Do you know why some HDB’s external walls are stained with mould? Black black? - WhatDoYouThink! - 17-03-2025 Hv to use anti mould paint. Some parts of wall will still need to repaint 7 to 8 yrs |