SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Printable Version

+--- Thread: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road (/Thread-SAF-tank-appears-to-hit-traffic-lights-along-North-Bridge-Road)

SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Bigiron - 06-07-2025

SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road, mechanical failure suggested

After the incident, the driver seemed to be having trouble steering the tank in the correct direction.

👉 https://tsl.to/saftanktraffic

@mustsharenews

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Sharexchange - 06-07-2025

Wow hope to see drama incident on Sg60 NDP...

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Huliwang - 06-07-2025

These SAF tank drivers got license or not? I asked because our forum FA, a former SAF tank driver dun even have class 3 drivers license.     Thinking

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Geneco - 06-07-2025

need some advice ijjit never update latest mRNA jabs that's why lapses happen lolololololol... Tongue

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Manthink - 06-07-2025

Looks like the #8171MID had trouble negotiating right turn at the junction.

The driver jammed brake and managed to stop the 60 ton MBT just meters away from the crowd standing behind the traffic light and cordon.

It became clear there is some issue after the drive reverse and the vehicle seems to struggle with turning right.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Manthink - 06-07-2025

(Yesterday, 11:38 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  These SAF tank drivers got license or not? I asked because our forum FA, a former SAF tank driver dun even have class 3 drivers license.     Thinking

I know a few young RSAF pilot trainee don't even have a Class 3 driving license... Big Grin

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - watchfirst9 - 06-07-2025

did not slow down in time.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - [[ForeverAlone]] - 06-07-2025

(Yesterday, 11:38 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  These SAF tank drivers got license or not? I asked because our forum FA, a former SAF tank driver dun even have class 3 drivers license.     Thinking

You got do Army or not. Funny a lot thought can drive an Army tank = can get Class 3.

This is different from driving 3 tonne , jeep. I do have friends last time posted as Driver , convert their Army Class 3 to civilian Class 3.
Got one even EPIC , he got accident outside public roads yet can convert to Civilian Class 3.

End of the day , come serve NS is like strike lottery if you been posted as Driver.

Come driver for Army tank different rah, We do have to go through a driving course inside the Army. I still remember there is one part dam scary. Need to drive the tank up the slope is like 90 degree ...than slowly drive down. Is like taking a " roller coaster " .

Mindef already update, they mention the tank got technical problems. The tank actually travel just 20km/h.

I check some people comment, got few do spot on. I guess they also an amour tank driver before. They spotted the tank seem having problem itself.

When the driver reserve cannot pivot turn have to do a 3 point turn.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - [[ForeverAlone]] - 06-07-2025

(Yesterday, 11:45 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Big Grin

The driver jammed brake and managed to stop the 60 ton MBT just meters away from the crowd standing behind the traffic light and cordon.

It became clear there is some issue after the drive reverse and the vehicle seems to struggle with turning right.

Yeah, Mindef just updated claim the Tank got problem itself.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - *天哥* - 06-07-2025

Yes. They have tanker license.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - *天哥* - 06-07-2025

A tanker operator license is more demanding than the civilian license. You are required to possess a army driver class 3 or 3A license for 2 years and no demerit points before u can get a tank operator license. A tank operator is more well qualified than a driver to drive army transport like a tank. Therefore, a mechanical fault is suspected in this case.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Scythian - 06-07-2025

(Yesterday, 11:45 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Big Grin

Tank does not obey traffic lights 

Drivers were not trained going on the road

(Yesterday, 12:24 PM)*天哥* Wrote:  A tanker operator license is more demanding than the civilian license. You are required to possess a army driver class 3 or 3A license for 2 years and no demerit points before u can get a tank operator license. A tank operator is more well qualified than a driver to drive army transport like a tank. Therefore, a mechanical fault is suspected in this case.

Wait , NEW requirement ? Last time I serve NS, I'm a Bonix Tank Driver. We need to pass the high way code theory first than go train drive the tank in another unit inside Amour camp which is the driving school for tank and tanker.

I no need take the theory test because I got class 2b motorbike. I remember the Trainer told use who got any car or motorbike license no need take the theory test, straight go train to drive the tank.

(Yesterday, 12:17 PM)*天哥* Wrote:  Yes. They have tanker license.

That tank license i don't know throw to where liao. I just for " show " inside Army mention your vocation is Amour driver.

(Yesterday, 12:27 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Tank does not obey traffic lights 
Drivers were not trained going on the road

Spoken like a true non-SGrean who never served in the NS and hates SG.

Scythian never fails to impress in SGTalk.  Big Grin

(Yesterday, 12:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Wait , NEW requirement ? Last time I serve NS, I'm a Bonix Tank Driver. We need to pass the high way code theory first than go train drive the tank in another unit inside Amour camp which is the driving school for tank and tanker.

I no need take the theory test because I got class 2b motorbike. I remember the Trainer told use who got any car or motorbike license no need take the theory test, straight go train to drive the tank.

Then you should b able to convert to civilian class 3 license easily after your NS:

https://www.mindef.gov.sg/safvc/transport-operator-role

(Yesterday, 12:30 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  That tank license i don't know throw to where liao. I just for " show " inside Army mention your vocation is Amour driver.

Walaueh...u wasted your jackport la ! Many of us my time think a driver struck lottery if get posted to tanker operator because u can convert later on to civilian license for FREE. I read here they still keep the rules:

https://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/492833/

(Yesterday, 12:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Wait , NEW requirement ? Last time I serve NS, I'm a Bonix Tank Driver. We need to pass the high way code theory first than go train drive the tank in another unit inside Amour camp which is the driving school for tank and tanker.

I always respect our tank operators, very impressed with their handling of the huge vehicles. They also always gathered around my bmw to praised about it at the army carpark last time. Maybe u r one of them !

(Yesterday, 12:41 PM)*天哥* Wrote:  I always respect our tank operators, very impressed with their handling of the huge vehicles. They also always gathered around my bmw to praised about it at the army carpark last time. Maybe u r one of them !

You got mix up! Tank driver license is not like Car class 3

IF You drive a 3 tonne , jeep , car inside Army as Driver Of course can covert to class 3 civilian license.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Huliwang - 06-07-2025

(Yesterday, 12:08 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  You got do Army or not. Funny a lot thought can drive an Army tank = can get Class 3.

This is different from driving 3 tonne , jeep. I do have friends last time posted as Driver , convert their Army Class 3 to civilian Class 3.
Got one even EPIC , he got accident outside public roads yet can convert to Civilian Class 3.

End of the day , come serve NS is like strike lottery if you been posted as Driver.

Come driver for Army tank different rah,  We do have to go through a driving course inside the Army. I still remember there is one part dam scary. Need to drive the tank up the slope is like 90 degree ...than slowly drive down. Is like taking a " roller coaster " .

Mindef already update, they mention the tank got technical problems. The tank actually travel just 20km/h.

I check some people comment, got few do spot on. I guess they also an amour tank driver before. They spotted the tank seem having problem itself.

When the driver reserve cannot pivot turn have to do a 3 point turn.

I dun do army lah. I do navy.    Big Grin

(Yesterday, 01:36 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I dun do army lah. I do navy.    Big Grin

Navy dam shiok shiok rah. I got one cousin is chef last time in Navy just on board the ship jalan jalan.

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - talky - 06-07-2025

if pap n saf said they hv means hv 
who are u to question n doubt them ????????

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Desmondo - 06-07-2025

The tank commander sleeping

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - red3 - 06-07-2025

Why use the word appear?

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - Alice Alicia - 06-07-2025

Too long never use, rusty inside liao. Laughing

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - cheekopekman - 06-07-2025

(Yesterday, 09:59 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road, mechanical failure suggested

After the incident, the driver seemed to be having trouble steering the tank in the correct direction.

👉 https://tsl.to/saftanktraffic

@mustsharenews

Did Traffic Police saman the tank driver leh? Thinking

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - cheekopekman - 06-07-2025

What is a tank doing on the main road on a busy day leh? Thinking

(Yesterday, 04:09 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  What is a tank doing on the main road on a busy day leh? Thinking

May be new Defence Minister want to chute new defence pattern like exercise in urban warfare with tanks.     Big Grin

RE: SAF tank appears to hit traffic lights along North Bridge Road - ysh02 - 06-07-2025

Hiya, tank vs lamp post no fight lah....just kissed and go....back to camp nothing happened.

(Yesterday, 04:34 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  May be new Defence Minister want to chute new defence pattern like exercise in urban warfare with tanks.     Big Grin

Singapore no jungle lah so must train on main roads lah! Big Grin