NYJC is top JC meh? - Printable Version

+--- Thread: NYJC is top JC meh? (/Thread-NYJC-is-top-JC-meh)

NYJC is top JC meh? - Reddishday - 19-02-2023

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/parenting-education/school-spotlight-how-neighbourhood-nanyang-junior-college-goes-from-mid-tier-to-top

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - Levin - 19-02-2023

Not at the top. Based on latest cutoff points, ranked fourth after HCI, RI and ACS.

https://www.fa.edu.sg/2022-jc-cut-off-points/

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - Blasterlord2 - 19-02-2023

(19-02-2023, 06:16 PM)Levin Wrote:  Not at the top. Based on latest cutoff points, ranked fourth after HCI, RI and ACS.

It has risen high. During my time it's a lousy JC.

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - winbig - 19-02-2023

(19-02-2023, 06:16 PM)Levin Wrote:  Not at the top. Based on latest cutoff points, ranked fourth after HCI, RI and ACS.

Top 5 considered top liao

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - debono - 19-02-2023

It should be after HCI, RJC, and ACS(I)........ Thinking Big Grin

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - grotesqueness - 19-02-2023

yes
top 10 jiak cheeby (JC)

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - ArielCasper - 19-02-2023

It is pure hardwork by NYJC management.. Kudo to the management.

During my time also deem as lousy JC (probably we all from same era), prob rank 10 out of 14 JC..

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - cheekopekman - 19-02-2023

(19-02-2023, 03:53 PM)Reddishday Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/parenting-education/school-spotlight-how-neighbourhood-nanyang-junior-college-goes-from-mid-tier-to-top

Swee leh! Big Grin

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - fuch_asia - 19-02-2023

If you look at NYJC's COP history over the past decade you can see it has improved considerably:

L1R5 cut-off point tables for junior college (2010-2022)

https://www.domainofexperts.com/2015/01/l1r5-cut-off-point-tables-for-junior.html

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - watchfirst9 - 19-02-2023

(19-02-2023, 06:18 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  It has risen high. During my time it's a lousy JC.

My time top four RI, HCI, NJC, VJC

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - Blasterlord2 - 19-02-2023

(19-02-2023, 09:21 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  My time top four RI, HCI, NJC, VJC

My time it is RJC, HCJC, NJC, TJC, VJC.

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - luncheonmeat - 19-02-2023

It was a reputable jc back in the day when RJC was way below NJC n HCJC in ranking [no VJC yet].

(19-02-2023, 09:21 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  My time top four RI, HCI, NJC, VJC

I think you got it right........................... Clapping

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - [[ForeverAlone]] - 19-02-2023

As long can go JC is good, Only Study hard Two Years straight go either NUS/NTU

Better than go Poly to be honest.

(19-02-2023, 10:35 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  As long can go JC is good, Only Study hard Two Years straight go either NUS/NTU

Better than go Poly to be honest.

But many had chosen to go the circuitous way..............i.e. go to poly first.................. Big Grin

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - Levin - 20-02-2023

(19-02-2023, 09:03 PM)fuch_asia Wrote:  If you look at NYJC's COP history over the past decade you can see it has improved considerably:

L1R5 cut-off point tables for junior college (2010-2022)

https://www.domainofexperts.com/2015/01/l1r5-cut-off-point-tables-for-junior.html

NYJC is affiliated with Chung Cheng. When it was first setup, they wanted to be named Chung Cheng, according to an old boy from Chung Cheng but the government refused. So they chose the name Nanyang.

(19-02-2023, 09:31 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  My time it is RJC, HCJC, NJC, TJC, VJC.

TJC, VJC seems to have dropped quite a bit based on the article in the link I provided earlier.

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - RiseofAsia - 20-02-2023

(20-02-2023, 06:20 AM)Levin Wrote:  TJC, VJC seems to have dropped quite a bit based on the article in the link I provided earlier.

How did they get the A and O level results from Official data? Rotfl
The data for ranking also needs to include suicide figure.(stress level)

(20-02-2023, 06:31 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  How did they get the A and O level results from Official data? Rotfl

?? The answer is "very easily"?

This data has been published since the 1980s AFAIK.

(20-02-2023, 06:47 AM)Levin Wrote:  ?? The answer is "very easily"?

The results for the ranking.
You need to see both O level entry and A level results.

(20-02-2023, 06:49 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  The results for the ranking.
You need to see both O level entry and A level results.

That's why they stated upfront that the ranking is for the O level entry.

I guess one can get the A level results in some other rankings. I personally feel that the ranking should be just the A-level results. Or the A level results MINUS the O level results but that would place the JCs that get the top students at a disadvantage.

How about this ranking?  Rotfl

https://schoolbell.sg/jc-cut-off-points/

[Image: B76-FB015-DBE1-456-D-8-C3-B-EE9-FEFD36249.jpg]

Nanyang JC is govt school. Big Grin

(20-02-2023, 06:56 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  How about this ranking?  Rotfl

https://schoolbell.sg/jc-cut-off-points/

??

(20-02-2023, 07:00 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Nanyang JC is govt school. Big Grin

AFAIK, it is a government-aided school. Might have changed status to government school along the way. Not sure.

(20-02-2023, 07:08 AM)Levin Wrote:  AFAIK, it is a government-aided school. Might have changed status to government school along the way. Not sure.

I still thought you get it from street survey.

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - Cmpunk - 20-02-2023

If many good result students joining of course the school will raise in the rank.
Furthermore from good word of mouth as well.

(20-02-2023, 07:10 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  I still thought you get it from street survey.

?? That NYJC used to be or still is a government-aided school? Think the info should be available on the web.

RE: NYJC is top JC meh? - Clyde - 20-02-2023

The ranking don't mean anything if your son/daughter is not super intelligent type. The teachers there are not really very helpful afterall.
Their rise in ranking is most probably because they take in many foreign students, most of them are on our government scholarship. Most of these foreign students are from China and they are very hardworking and produce good A level results.
RI, HC and ACS have many China students but there is not many in Dunman high.