“I Went To China And Drove A Dozen Electric Cars. Western Automakers Are Cooked”

https://insideevs.com/features/719015/ch...d-of-west/

The comment section full of angry disgruntled Americans. Accusing the journalist of all kinds of things.
[+] 1 user Likes goodboy's post

My son, after returning from China recently, also told me that it seems like China is going it alone now. He hardly see any foreign brand vehicles on their roads. Also he couldn't see anyone using a samsung phone. Everything they use there are all their local brands.

(11-05-2024, 05:55 PM)Clyde Wrote:  My son, after returning from China recently, also told me that it seems like China is going it alone now. He hardly see any foreign brand vehicles on their roads. Also  he couldn't see anyone using a samsung phone. Everything they use there are all their local brands.

Before Japanese and Korea brands are well known throughout the world their own citizens embraced their own products first. Same with US and other European brands. So China is just doing the same. Nothing wrong.

The more I bought and use midea products, the more I like them. Very solid compared to sushi and kimchee products

Old news...but worth to remind some SGtalkers who are still in denial Big Grin

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/ch...-car-maker

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

Cannot be cannot be.... Tongue

Ev ish TNT going to explode according to "experts"... Tongue

[+] 1 user Likes Geneco's post

(11-05-2024, 06:48 PM)winbig Wrote:  Before Japanese and Korea brands are well known throughout the world their own citizens embraced their own products first. Same with US and other European brands. So China is just doing the same. Nothing wrong.

Surprise !  BYD EVs won Japan Car of the Year...not 1 but 2 leh...Big Grin

[Image: 2023-japan-ev-of-the-year-podium.webp]

https://insideevs.com/news/711623/2023-j...inese-byd/

Must test drive dolphin and xm su7

cannot be cannot be... Tongue

now japan must be full of TNT now! Tongue

must kaboom must kaboom! Tongue

Dont laugh after watching this.
If you using the same price, China will much better capacitors than Japan.

https://youtu.be/9A0JE6UeQMY?si=5wyag0STsW4h4CYX

(11-05-2024, 11:30 PM)Geneco Wrote:  cannot be cannot be... Tongue
now japan must be full of TNT now! Tongue
must kaboom must kaboom! Tongue

Anyone notice unlike West...the S Koreans and Japan diam diam about Chinese EV entering and competing in their domestic market.

I guess being Asian understand how hard to not only make cars, but to change the entire industry from Zero to something that the West fears. Big Grin

https://insideevs.com/news/719530/biden-...ev-tariff/

if after 30+ years...............Lexus still can't unseat BMW, Mercedes and Audi...............you think China brands can beat everyone ?

Another sign the west are losing to china. How cum so many

Actually EV car not say very high tech, autonomous driving aside. Main thing is the lithium ion battery and the software. Battery is dominated by CATL and maybe Panasonic/LG while software is nothing to shout about.

Now there're many EV carmakers in China but I predict that the industry will consolidate in the coming years and many will shut down.

(18-06-2024, 03:20 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  if after 30+ years...............Lexus still can't unseat BMW, Mercedes and Audi...............you think China brands can beat everyone ?

Lexus has already beaten the big 3 German automakers 30 years ago in terms of safety, reliability, quality and technology.

The Blue Book resale values and Consumer Reports statistics in the US do not lie.

The Germans lead on brand image and perhaps sporting perfomance, but that's about it. Only those 60-80 year old boomers still fondly remember the days when German automakers reigned supreme. The truth is that they haven't been top for a long time already, but their marketing is top notch.

Btw, when the German automakers lead in performance, they are referring to the top end models, like the pure AMG, M and RS divisions. Not those low or mid end models sporting the AMG, M and RS bodykits and badges 🤭🤭🤭

Good on the ground article. Raising tariffs on Chinese EVs is going to fuel inflation indirectly for us.

I have the same fear for made-in-US chips too. They will be pricey and we will be indirectly affected even if all the chips are consumed domestically within the US.

Inflation will around be for quite a while.

need some advice why still haven't explode rike TNT? Tongue

https://youtu.be/D6j7PrW_oLk?si=PhdeWwqwz6nuAvhC

Humanoid robots in car assembly

(18-06-2024, 03:36 PM)goodboy Wrote:  Lexus has already beaten the big 3 German automakers 30 years ago in terms of safety, reliability, quality and technology.

of course lah................i'm talking about branding...........despite being better cars for so long.................people still wanna buy the Germans...............

so EV the same................people will still buy Japs or Angmoh cars if possible...........

China's advantage in electric cars is their complete control of battery production. To the extent that other automakers are relying on Chinese car batteries to power their EVs and even licenses Chinese technology.

(19-06-2024, 03:17 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  of course lah................i'm talking about branding...........despite being better cars for so long.................people still wanna buy the Germans...............

so EV the same................people will still buy Japs or Angmoh cars if possible...........

Besides Tesla, don’t think any angmoh EV manufacturer can make it, without going bankrupt unless you count Polestar as “angmoh”. Western automakers are way behind in EV tech, go and research how many problems the Audi/BMW/Merc EVs have, and they are still using dinosaur EV tech that BYD used 10 years ago.

Japan already stumbling trying to design and engineer EV and the big Japanese automakers trying to avoid EV, preferring hydrogen and hybrid gasoline-electric technology. Even the Japanese buying Chinese EV because they have very few other options, if you see the article above.

People will adapt, after all, as Stephen Hawking said, intelligence is the ability to adapt to change.