1 cup of ice costs 40c at coffee shop kpkb

Was having lunch at a  neighbourhood coffee shop.

Overheard some commotion at the next table..one aunty kpkb at the drink server about having to pay 40c for an extra  cup of ice.

She was so sarcastic and rejected the ice...saved her 40c.
Sensible of her?

Inflation so drastic until ice at 40c???
[+] 2 users Like hansamu's post

Breakdown of the 0.40
GST = 7%
Rental = 65%
Labour = 10%
Utilities = 5%
Misc = 10%

Next time will cost $1

I also think too expensive leh..

(16-05-2022, 06:03 PM)FangFang Wrote:  I also think too expensive leh..

True...maybe 20c more reasonable at today's  standard.
[+] 1 user Likes hansamu's post

this gov can do nothing, how to stay alive in sg when things is so ex.

ha, you want extra one bowl of rice also expensive now.

if you happen at those Atas resturants, hotel one is EPIC pricing.

$2 1 serving of white rice is the norm

(16-05-2022, 05:33 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Breakdown of the 0.40
GST = 7%
Rental = 65%
Labour = 10%
Utilities = 5%
Misc = 10%

Most of it goes to rental

that consumers must pay

(16-05-2022, 06:34 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  $2 1 serving of white rice is the norm

Go China restaurant u ask for rice they will ask u why u need rice. If u really want....they give u the whole pot for FREE! Laughing

(16-05-2022, 07:25 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Go China restaurant u ask for rice they will ask u why u need rice. If u really want....they give u the whole pot for FREE! Laughing

Wah seh.....

It is true. If you eat in China or vietnam and if you need an extra serving of rice, it is free.

(16-05-2022, 07:58 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Wah seh.....

If u ask for rice it means the dishes not nice. I think this practice very popular in Chengdu.

I was living in my gf parents bungalow in the farm. 1st day damn funny....her parents cooked about 12 dishes. I just stare at the dishes and wait....for rice lah. Her mom ask why need rice...we dont cook rice.

End up she went kitchen and start cooking some rice for me. Laughing

(16-05-2022, 08:55 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  If u ask for rice it means the dishes not nice. I think this practice very popular in Chengdu.

I was living in my gf parents bungalow in the farm. 1st day damn funny....her parents cooked about 12 dishes. I just stare at the dishes and wait....for rice lah. Her mom ask why need rice...we dont cook rice.

Difference in cultures.  They don't eat rice Big Grin

Knowingly in this inflated environment everything costs more

(16-05-2022, 08:55 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  If u ask for rice it means the dishes not nice. I think this practice very popular in Chengdu.

So they eat dishes to fill up stomach??

The reality is if you have dishes, who wants to eat rice? Rice is a poor man food to fill the stomach. Who goes to a buffet and whack the fried rice?

(16-05-2022, 09:10 PM)Niubee Wrote:  So they eat dishes to fill up stomach??

Farm got lots of veg u never seen b4. Chicken, fish and pork very cheap. I went wet market bought a 2.5kg live carp for rmb 16.

Oh in the farm all the sauces and spices r self made. Super nice.

(16-05-2022, 08:10 PM)pinkpanther Wrote:  It is true. If you eat in China or vietnam and if you need an extra serving of rice, it is free.

This is not true. I've stayed in Guangdong for some time and extra serving of rice always costs me money.

(16-05-2022, 09:48 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Farm got lots of veg u never seen b4. Chicken, fish and pork very cheap. I went wet market bought a 2.5kg live carp for rmb 16.

Oh in the farm all the sauces and spices r self made. Super nice.

best life...at later stage.

(16-05-2022, 05:25 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Was having lunch at a  neighbourhood coffee shop.

Overheard some commotion at the next table..one aunty kpkb at the drink server about having to pay 40c for an extra  cup of ice.

Sensible of her?

Aiyah! Cannot afford eat and drink at home lah!

(16-05-2022, 05:25 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Was having lunch at a  neighbourhood coffee shop.

Sensible of her?

Better ask before ordering.
No need to feel paisay, it is your right to reject but it is better to do it in a more professional way. Aunty, never learn I Ching.
I also always ask for extra drinking water, will I be charged?