[MILLENIAL REVOLT COMING] Singapore’s soaring rents are becoming a political problem.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/propert...al-problem 

[Image: 9iPStG.jpg]
[Image: yUdBjr.jpg]
[Image: i0UsRQ.jpg]

[Image: e0JX21.jpg]

SEE ONE WUMAO, KILL ONE WUMAO!!! 

[Image: 64ICe.jpg?itok=4RIZOLoH]

Price increase good le....my house value all go up. U wan to see yr 4room hdb from 600K down to 400k meh..then they buy go down to 300k..haha...then they Kpkb why their flat price go down and cannot make money

(08-05-2023, 12:20 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Price increase good le....my house value all go up. U wan to see yr 4room hdb from 600K down to 400k meh..then they buy go down to 300k..haha...then they Kpkb why their flat price go down and cannot make money

Your house value go up, you got think who's going to buy them? Your children's generation (assuming you even have kids) and those after them. Do you think their salary has increased at the same rate your housing value has gone up? Do you know how many young adult working generations (millennials and Gen Z) are looking at either being never able to own their own home, or needing to rely on their parents to subsidise them to buy overpriced BTO flats that you ballot for, put down deposit, then still have to wait YEARS to see them built before you even move in? 

Public housing is meant for HOUSING. NOT INVESTMENT. The fact that so many people's CPF retirement money is locked into their public housing HDB flat value is already fucking wrong. Just another twisted way to get future generations to foot the bill for the retirements of the older generations, despite the whole narrative about CPF being the government's way of making sure people save for their own retirement in old age. 

Younger generations now are increasingly moving away from aspiring to get rich from property ownership. Especially when there are far faster and almost as profitable ways for people to hustle and earn money immediately/in the short term as opposed to hoping their property value goes up a couple hundred k after a decade or two.

[Image: aytbDR.jpg]

their opposition votes are not big enough to pressure PAP.

they need to wait for all pioneer and merdeka generations to pass away first.
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

Only people with very narrow views will think that sharp increase in house prices is good.

Just look at HK. Those ppl who buy houses early will not have a problem and will in fact be very happy that their house values increase, the faster the merrier. But look at the impact on society. Youths are so disheartened that they will either resign to their fate of never owning their houses, or they'll be willing to take huge amount of risk to achieving it, even if it is illegal activity.

The other consequence is that developers will build ever smaller private housing so as to maximise their profit, and gradually, you have smaller and smaller living space.

Real talent wont complain about the cost because they are well paid.
More foreign traxhes with average pay will complain

Current rental and house price should come down by 20% then inflation would be under control and the man in the street lives would improve. Current rate is unsustainable!

(08-05-2023, 12:51 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Real talent wont complain about the cost because they are well paid.
More foreign traxhes with average pay will complain

Stupid logic, who says level of wealth equates to less complaining about the cost of stuff? 

People can and often do earn big bucks but still refuse to be treated like a mug and ripped off by overinflated prices for stuff.

(08-05-2023, 12:40 PM)forum456 Wrote:  their opposition votes are not big enough to pressure PAP.

they need to wait for all pioneer and merdeka generations to pass away first.

after pioneer, merdaka, there will be STEADY generation, etc. lol. can you wait??

not only house rent lah, house price, car COE, food prices are all sky high. You think the garment can cope??

you can always go back to where you are coming from (where things are much cheaper I presume, but I may be wrong wow!!!!)

In that case, All the above will automatically come down ( when there are no FTs). got it??

(08-05-2023, 01:29 PM)Basic_Strategy Wrote:  Stupid logic, who says level of wealth equates to less complaining about the cost of stuff? 

People can and often do earn big bucks but still refuse to be treated like a mug and ripped off by overinflated prices for stuff.

Cannot afford dun complain expensive.
People who earn big $$ dun complain ... people complain are those cheap stingy fuggs that dun make enough
Dun be shameless and expect people to sell you cheap
Simple economics ... supply and demand

This govt no heart type all they want is $$$$$ non stop. 2 most important bread and butter issues are housing and food. They got a minister who deliberately not built more bto flats and corporatised HDB causing huge demand popping up prices non stop. That time got a PM who preached our hdb flats are assets despite 99 years lease of sub-tenant status. Food is mostly imported using just-in-management so no over stocking. Imaging where other countries got such risky management? All they want is to attract as many as possible billionaires to relocate here. All the mindset is just to pass all costs to end users while they enjoy million $$$ salaries. Political climate is no one dares or willing to make any changes because loss of $m salaries. Whole time is just go after oppositions who represens the citizens suffering high costs/cannot make ends meet, etc.
[+] 1 user Likes A2Z's post

Contrary to what they think, lowering the age to allow singles to buy HDB actually will cause even more price hikes and crazy rentals... Then after they have waited out for the bto to be built, the property crashed to oblivion and they still blame the govt. First for the again crazy rental, then the negative equity from the HDB they bought (unless they hold out for a decade and beyond).

The solution is actually to cut population by 2mil instantly by kicking out the foreigners that do not stay in a dormitory.

But why should the govt cut foreigners who help them earn a levy of 800 per month while the typical singaporeans pays no taxes??

Lol