30 yo man retrenched last year is now, down to his last $4,400 savings

"SINGAPORE: A 30-year-old man who was retrenched last year shared on social media that he is now down to his last S$4,400.

Posting on Reddit’s ‘Ask Singapore’ forum on Monday (Mar 24), he explained that most of his money has gone toward paying off a S$30,000 debt, covering household bills, and supporting his elderly mother, who is expected to retire in five to six years."
https://theindependent.sg/30-year-old-si...ix%20years.

Dire straits...

Should he follows MediaCorp actor Edwin Goh's footsteps to move to work in Sydney .

No way to continue sitting around in Singapore hoping for miracles to happen.

In Singapore, no one has ever reported hearing Mother Mary whispering.

(25-03-2025, 07:02 AM)red3 Wrote:  Dire straits...

"Regarding the welfare state Lee Kuan Yew was critical. 

He thought it promoted inexertion and dependency -
 "The principle is that you must work. We are not going to pay you for lying around". 

He described Singapore as a "fair, not welfare, society""

Lky 's time don't have foreign talent grabbing our jobs that were reserved for local talent.
[+] 2 users Like A2Z's post

(25-03-2025, 07:28 AM)Scythian Wrote:  "Regarding the welfare state Lee Kuan Yew was critical. 

He thought it promoted inexertion and dependency -
 "The principle is that you must work. We are not going to pay you for lying around". 

He described Singapore as a "fair, not welfare, society""

No work no money fair. No job No money.

job not say no have. high pay low pay only.
also higher one position. when lost even more difficult to find back.
value of thehihg post is mainly in the co as he is very familiar with it and set it up as well.
the co who retrench him will probably has to stragle for a while to find back their foot steps.
many losses will be hidden.

best for him is to network. find some income to stop gap.
near election time. go see your mp see if can get more help.

Song Boh!
Jobs already stolen by Ftrashes。

If not, how come this team so good give unemployment benefit.

Tell your kids dont student computer science.
Tech sector is very bad.

[Image: IMG-2029.jpg]

One of relatives is smart, although studied till primary school only. He operates a stall in the market. Every year reports low income and every month receives almost $2000 of workfare from the government. His son receives school pocket money, free text books and free education from the government. If I am not wrong, got one uncle in sgtalk is also doing that.
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

(25-03-2025, 08:17 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Tell your kids dont student computer science.
Tech sector is very bad.

Changi Business Park becomes Ghost Town

Any other Tech Industry Parks joined Changi Ghost Town

At Cul De Sac, Singapore leaders cannot keep continuously telling retrenched PMETs to become hawker own boss either selling char kuay teow or Hokkien mee anymore.

Today, all Hawker stall owners are like fishes out of water. As they are next inline to die

Take the 4.4K go tour first and think about job when come back lor..

(25-03-2025, 08:53 AM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Take the 4.4K go tour first and think about job when come back lor..

dun b so or sim la, teach ppl wrong thing.

(25-03-2025, 08:17 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Tell your kids dont student computer science.
Tech sector is very bad.

The straw that broke the camel's back

(25-03-2025, 08:53 AM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Take the 4.4K go tour first and think about job when come back lor..

Or tell his mother to sell her property and down grade to smaller HDB.