Gan Siow Huang: No plans to introduce Chinese dialects

Gan Siow Huang: No plans to introduce Chinese dialects as elective in Singapore schools 

Minister of State for Education Gan Siow Huang said there are no plans to introduce Chinese dialects as an elective in primary and secondary schools. She emphasised that while bilingualism is central to Singapore's education, the focus remains on developing proficiency in English and mother tongue languages. Gan was responding to WP MP Louis Chua, who asked if dialects could be offered as an elective in current language programmes.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2024/11...e-schools/

Wow this is super dumb by Louis. Did he know that Chinese in dialect form is also written the same way as Mandarin? With only a few exceptions like Canto and Hokkien expressions.

I think that guy never study Chinese in school or never watch HK movies and read the subtitles.

Language electives are supposed to be totally different languages from the English and Chinese we learn in school.
[+] 2 users Like goodboy's post

(13-11-2024, 03:53 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Gan Siow Huang: No plans to introduce Chinese dialects as elective in Singapore schools 

Minister of State for Education Gan Siow Huang said there are no plans to introduce Chinese dialects as an elective in primary and secondary schools. She emphasised that while bilingualism is central to Singapore's education, the focus remains on developing proficiency in English and mother tongue languages. Gan was responding to WP MP Louis Chua, who asked if dialects could be offered as an elective in current language programmes.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2024/11...e-schools/

Hokkien lang cannot speak Hokkien meh? Thinking Wahsi Hokkien lang kong Hokkien weh lah! Big Grin

明知故问 really dumb mp

(13-11-2024, 05:34 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Hokkien lang cannot speak Hokkien meh? Thinking

Think you last time PSLE results not so good, never take third language in secondary school. What is taught is not simply spoken language but written language as well.

(13-11-2024, 05:35 PM)goodboy Wrote:  Think you last time PSLE results not so good, never take third language in secondary school. What is taught is not simply spoken language but written language as well.

I spoke to my teachers and principal in Hokkien lah! Big Grin

(13-11-2024, 05:32 PM)goodboy Wrote:  Wow this is super dumb by Louis. Did he know that Chinese in dialect form is also written the same way as Mandarin? With only a few exceptions like Canto and Hokkien expressions.

I think that guy never study Chinese in school or never watch HK movies and read the subtitles.

Language electives are supposed to be totally different languages from the English and Chinese we learn in school.

Who told you that?
Many of the ancient Chinese  official documents were written in Hokkien. If you dont know Hokkien, you will not understand it at all.

[+] 2 users Like RiseofAsia's post

[Image: IMG-2617.jpg]

Why cannot teach? Then we go army learn the swear words lagi worst. My first Canto phrase army mate teach me is tiu le lou mou chao hai. Then I teach him knnbccb.

(13-11-2024, 06:44 PM)sgh Wrote:  Why cannot teach? Then we go army learn the swear words lagi worst. My first Canto phrase army mate teach me is tiu le lou mou chao hai. Then I teach him knnbccb.

Why must use dialects to scold vulgar words leh? Thinking Woo weh ban ban kong lah! Big Grin

Hv more dislect movies n songs on radio n tv are gd enough maybe 30% more

This kind of question is waste everybody's time one.

https://youtu.be/AbMoytotcho?si=MxmyZTPprnV6klP4

(13-11-2024, 09:37 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  This kind of question is waste everybody's time one.

Rise of China lah.
If not, you think Louis siao meh…
You have to plan it now. Many of our youngsters, dont know how to speak their real mother tongue。

https://youtube.com/shorts/LIX0IKpSDEU?s...J7EdQsxpgh

(13-11-2024, 09:37 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  This kind of question is waste everybody's time one.

Yes he is wasting time.
He did not know there a number of dialects for Chinese, as well as Malay and Indian meh.
He did not consider it will waste the resources.
He is likely asked for his frequent dialect speaking grass root leaders.

It is parent role really. Some phases would help.
These days most young parents spoke to children in English already.

Learning dialects as eca is ok and shd be encouraged

LKY said one 50 years ago.....speak Mandarin only....learn at home or go Hue Kuan to learn lah....LKY was correct most of the time except baby birth rate control ....

(14-11-2024, 09:19 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  LKY said one 50 years ago.....speak Mandarin only....learn at home or go Hue Kuan to learn lah....LKY was correct most of the time except baby birth rate control ....

Even birth control he was not totally wrong. This decision is right at that point in time.

No matter you like it or not.
Our physical appearance cannot be changed, the Ang Moh will always see us as Chinese.
As a Chinese, you forget your own root is unacceptable lah.
我们不可能是从石头里蹦出来的。

Western Supremacy is declining.
Time to jump ship?
Too bad, we dont have 2nd LKY wisdom…

(14-11-2024, 10:26 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Even birth control he was not totally wrong. This decision is right at that point in time.

he was right at a certain time period but overstretched n not hv a foresight to anticip[ate the after effect is a mistake to late n too slow to rectify

I think he doesnt know how to speak dialets..
this way
he can hide his shame...

This is Pap's legalized racism against minority cultures.

(13-11-2024, 05:34 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Hokkien lang cannot speak Hokkien meh? Thinking Wahsi Hokkien lang kong Hokkien weh lah! Big Grin

You can ask your laubu to teach you Hokkien or whatever fxxking dialect you love. Schools should teach standard Chinese Language.

(14-11-2024, 01:28 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  You can ask your laubu to teach you Hokkien or whatever fxxking dialect you love. Schools should teach standard Chinese Language.

OEI! Angry KNNBCCB loo kong wah laubu simi leh? Thinking Lin laubu kee si lah! Angry

(14-11-2024, 02:20 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  OEI! Angry KNNBCCB loo kong wah laubu simi leh? Thinking Lin laubu kee si lah! Angry

Rotfl Rotfl Rotfl

Aiya for almost 50 yrs we heed to Mr LKY speak Mandarin campaign why changed ? Want to learn dialect go to speak to grandma or learn from your clans association or FM 958 podcast.

(14-11-2024, 03:29 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  Rotfl Rotfl Rotfl

Chio simi LJ leh? Thinking

(14-11-2024, 05:47 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Chio simi LJ leh? Thinking

LJ boh future!

普通话才是正道! Laughing