Answers Needed On Porting To New Telco......Please Help

i thinking of moving from RedOne to Eight Mobile...............but read on Eight Mobile website, it says 1 - 3 days for porting and 3 - 5 business day for home sim mail delivery......

so means i will not have any handphone service for 8 days ??!! Huh
[+] 1 user Likes Napoleon Porlumpar's post

(09-08-2024, 09:57 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  i thinking of moving from RedOne to Eight Mobile...............but read on Eight Mobile website, it says 1 - 3 days for porting and 3 - 5 business day for home sim mail delivery......

so means i will not have any handphone service for 8 days ??!! Huh

It means that they will delivery the new SIM card to you in 3 to 5 days. Thereafter, the SIM will be activated (these days you need not do anything but wait). Meantime you continue using existing telco as porting over will be done by the two providers. Once they have successfully ported over (they mentioned 1 to 3 days), your current SIM service will die, at this point you insert the new SIM from new Telco provider.

Make sure when you register, with the new Telco, indicate you are porting in your number from current Telco.

(10-08-2024, 09:15 AM)Sticw Wrote:  It means that they will delivery the new SIM card to you in 3 to 5 days. Thereafter, the SIM will be activated (these days you need not do anything but wait). Meantime you continue using existing telco as porting over will be done by the two providers. Once they have successfully ported over (they mentioned 1 to 3 days), your current SIM service will die, at this point you insert the new SIM from new Telco provider.

Make sure when you register, with the new Telco, indicate you are porting in your number from current Telco.

okay............many thanks, bro..........

last time i port over from M1 to RedOne like much faster leh.........

(11-08-2024, 12:24 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  okay............many thanks, bro..........

last time i port over from M1 to RedOne like much faster leh.........
Fast or slow dun affect your phone usage. You will continue with the old SIM until the porting is completed then they sms and tell you porting completed and oeration shited to new SIM with new telco.   Rolleyes

(11-08-2024, 12:50 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Fast or slow dun affect your phone usage. You will continue with the old SIM until the porting is completed then they sms and tell you porting completed and oeration shited to new SIM with new telco.   Rolleyes

but what if the port over................but i haven't receive the new telco's SIM card leh..............i read that Eight Mobile send out by post...........i received my RedOne SIM card at the retailer shop leh........

(12-08-2024, 07:53 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  but what if the port over................but i haven't receive the new telco's SIM card leh..............i read that Eight Mobile send out by post...........i received my RedOne SIM card at the retailer shop leh........
This kind of "if" here and "if" there type of question how to answer? What if your phone lost or damaged when the new SIM card arrives? What if the SIM card misplaced by postman?     

Anyway basing on your *if" scenarios, I guess the telco will do something like what banks do when they renew your Credit Card. They will need a SIM card activation first before starting the porting process. So you must receive the SIM card by post first, then install it in your phone and activate the card by keying in certain codes given in a letter that came with the SIM. Then the telco with begin the porting orocess which may take 3 days to 3 months. In the meantime you continue with yoyr old SIM until the porting is DONE. Then you will be informed with a short message.   :  Angry

Why nobody use Simba? Big Grin

(13-08-2024, 01:27 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  This kind of "if" here and "if" there type of question how to answer? What if your phone lost or damaged when the new SIM card arrives? What if the SIM card misplaced by postman?     

Anyway basing on your *if" scenarios, I guess the telco will do something like what banks do when they renew your Credit Card. They will need a SIM card activation first before starting the porting process. So you must receive the SIM card by post first, then install it in your phone and activate the card by keying in certain codes given in a letter that came with the SIM. Then the telco with begin the porting orocess which may take 3 days to 3 months. In the meantime you continue with yoyr old SIM until the porting is DONE. Then you will be informed with a short message.   :  Angry

roger................thanks, bro

(13-08-2024, 08:10 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Why nobody use Simba? Big Grin

a lot of people on Reddit and HWZ say Simba very jialat leh...........

(13-08-2024, 11:25 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  roger................thanks, bro

a lot of people on Reddit and HWZ say Simba very jialat leh...........
I saw a few kopi tiam beer regulars use Changi Go Telco. One month only $8 with unlimited calls and surfing. Looks really good and they give you the SIM at their shop. Porting over just a few days. 
I will switch over to this Telco when my Singtel contract expires. Go and check out this Telco yourself if you want more details.      Big Grin

(13-08-2024, 11:36 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  I saw a few kopi tiam beer regulars use Changi Go Telco. One month only $8 with unlimited calls and surfing. Looks really good and they give you the SIM at their shop. Porting over just a few days. 
I will switch over to this Telco when my Singtel contract expires. Go and check out this Telco yourself if you want more details.      Big Grin

i went to Changi website and only find $10/mth with 50GB + 50GB and 300 min calls + 200 sms leh............no have $8/mth........... Confused

(15-08-2024, 05:34 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  i went to Changi website and only find $10/mth with 50GB + 50GB and 300 min calls + 200 sms leh............no have $8/mth........... Confused
Used to be $8 but just increased to $10 because it is too good and got many subscribers. Chin-chai lah, just $2 more.     Big Grin

(15-08-2024, 05:54 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Used to be $8 but just increased to $10 because it is too good and got many subscribers. Chin-chai lah, just $2 more.     Big Grin

can not.............i now on $8.40/mth plan from Redone.............my 2 choices are

$7/mth from ZeroMobile or $8/mth from 8Mobile