Can Just Ask SingTel for New ONR or ONT ??

bros...........

my SingTel ONR (no WiFi) very old liao..............i can use my handphone to remote control my TV............but need WiFi to do so.......... crying

so i thinking of asking SingTel for (free) new ONR or ONT - which one have WiFi ?? ............so i no need to turn on my wireless router (save electricity)....... Confused

if they give me one for free = can ownself install becoz i need 3 LAN ports + home phone to be activated ?........ Thinking

ONT has no router function so you'd have to ask them for onr. But I think they will only provide ONT to u.

huh ONT is not a wifi, is like a " middle man " connect to the wifi router.

ONT is for optical fibre.

I also confuse what you mean

some places can use ONT and not ONR
depend on plans also

500Mbps is slways ONT one

ONR more expensive for ISP cause the devices got more features like port forwarding

(30-01-2024, 06:08 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  some places can use ONT and not ONR
depend on plans also

500Mbps is slways ONT one

ONR more expensive for ISP cause the devices got more features like port forwarding

I don't bother on these internet hardware as long can use internet. So you mean ONR is like integrated ? for Fibre connect also wifi , router? all in one ? thus only using one device?

(30-01-2024, 06:16 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I don't bother on these internet hardware as long can use internet. So you mean ONR is like integrated ? for Fibre connect also wifi , router? all in one ? thus only using one device?

ONR not only accepts input from fibre but it also routes your RF signals. ONT only converts the light signal from the fibre to electrical signals.

(30-01-2024, 06:41 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  ONR not only accepts input from fibre but it also routes your RF signals. ONT only converts the light signal from the fibre to electrical signals.

hmm than what the purpose for those opt for ONR? end of the day still need two devices to be able to access internet.

(30-01-2024, 06:59 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  hmm than what the purpose for those opt for ONR? end of the day still need two devices to be able to access internet.

If you use ONR you can just connect a RJ45 cable to your PC or laptop. The ONT function is already inside ONR so it's one device. I dun use ONR because I connectivity thru wifi and not rj45.

(30-01-2024, 06:16 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I don't bother on these internet hardware as long can use internet. So you mean ONR is like integrated ? for Fibre connect also wifi , router? all in one ? thus only using one device?

yes
ONR is a layer 3 device
ONT is a layer 2 device

CCIE certified

(30-01-2024, 07:38 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  If you use ONR you can just connect a RJ45 cable to your PC or laptop. The ONT function is already inside ONR so it's one device. I dun use ONR because I connectivity thru wifi and not rj45.

This is why I don't know , yea I also using Wifi. Last time I do prefer to use wired. No matter what wired connection is at least " slightly faster " than wifi but now a days most people prefer stay on wifi.

(30-01-2024, 05:59 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  ONT has no router function so you'd have to ask them for onr. But I think they will only provide ONT to u.

Singtel gave me ONR............but no wireless function............or need to contact them to activate that function ?

(30-01-2024, 06:00 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  huh ONT is not a wifi, is like a " middle man " connect to the wifi router.

ONT is for optical fibre.

I also confuse what you mean

i using ONR given by Singtel...............but no wireless function........or need to contact them to activate that function ?

(30-01-2024, 06:08 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  500Mbps is always ONT one

i'm on 500 mbps................but they give me ONR..............but this ONR no wireless function...........or need to contact them to activate that function ?

(31-01-2024, 12:04 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  Singtel gave me ONR............but no wireless function............or need to contact them to activate that function ?

i using ONR given by Singtel...............but no wireless function........or need to contact them to activate that function ?

i'm on 500 mbps................but they give me ONR..............but this ONR no wireless function...........or need to contact them to activate that function ?

I doubt their ONR has wireless function, but you can call and try to ask.

Alternatively, just buy a wireless router and connect to the ONR, then set the ONR to bridge mode. In that case, the ONR is functioning just like a ONT.

ONR GOT WIFI

1 What equipment will be provided to me?

Optical Network Router (ONR) will be provided during the installation appointment. ONR is a single device combined with WiFi and wired features. Customers can use both connections simultaneously

https://www.starhub.com/personal/support...xaEDMjuFm5

(31-01-2024, 01:44 AM)grotesqueness Wrote:  ONR GOT WIFI

Optical Network Router (ONR) will be provided during the installation appointment. ONR is a single device combined with WiFi and wired features. Customers can use both connections simultaneously

Ok.. means my knowledge is outdated. The last one that I had from starhub had no wifi function and I've to attach my own wireless router. Was more than 10 years ago..

(31-01-2024, 01:44 AM)grotesqueness Wrote:  ONR GOT WIFI

but the ONR i got from Singtel is quite old liao............just a black box and no antenna or anything............

(31-01-2024, 12:14 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  I doubt their ONR has wireless function, but you can call and try to ask.

Alternatively, just buy a wireless router and connect to the ONR, then set the ONR to bridge mode. In that case, the ONR is functioning just like a ONT.

i have a wireless router................but to turn it on all the time will cost electricity leh..............and just for when i use the hp as remote for the tv............not worth it leh......

(01-02-2024, 05:18 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  but the ONR i got from Singtel is quite old liao............just a black box and no antenna or anything............

then you can throw the black box back at singtel head at the counter

(01-02-2024, 05:20 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  then you can throw the black box back at singtel head at the counter

seriously leh..............can swap for a new ONR with wireless function ?

later i ask them and they laugh at me..............paiseh mah..........

(02-02-2024, 06:56 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  seriously leh..............can swap for a new ONR with wireless function ?

later i ask them and they laugh at me..............paiseh mah..........

why...........paiseh?

you.........thick...........skin.............ask..............can............liao.

(02-02-2024, 07:39 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  why...........paiseh?

you.........thick...........skin.............ask..............can............liao.

no need liao lah..............i asked on a LG tv forum and several members say the remote very robust...............lasted years of drops and still works........... Heart