Anyone using AES 256-bit hardware-based encryption for their SSD ??

all my external SSDs got this AES 256-bit hardware-based encryption thing.........with TCG Opal 2.0 software-based encryption.............

got anyone using this AES 256-bit thing ??......... Huh.............don't know what this TCG Opal 2.0 thing is........ Huh

i'm thinking maybe i can use it to protect my porn collection.............so if i happen to die suddenly, no one can see my porn collection mah - otherwise, i paiseh leh......... crying

No lah.. you should not encrypt it, so that they can play it during your funeral.

Even if you lie in the coffin, if a porn is played, you'll get up!

(21-06-2024, 01:32 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  No lah.. you should not encrypt it, so that they can play it during your funeral.

Even if you lie in the coffin, if a porn is played, you'll get up!

alamak bro...............serious question leh...........

(21-06-2024, 12:55 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  all my external SSDs got this AES 256-bit hardware-based encryption thing.........with TCG Opal 2.0 software-based encryption.............

got anyone using this AES 256-bit thing ??......... Huh.............don't know what this TCG Opal 2.0 thing is........ Huh

i'm thinking maybe i can use it to protect my porn collection.............so if i happen to die suddenly, no one can see my porn collection mah - otherwise, i paiseh leh......... crying

AES 128(16 bytes encryption)is already practically impossible to break/hack.
No need to waste $$$ on AES 256(32bytes encryption) lah.

AES 128 is good enough.
AES 256 will only make your encrypting/decrypting slower.

[Image: IMG-7088.jpg]