Awkward moment during PM Wong speech at CCK rally

Awkward moment during PM Wong speech at CCK rally : r/singapore
https://www.reddit.com/r/singapore/comme...G-iJ1OEcQB&utm_content=1&utm_medium=ios_app&utm_name=ioscss&utm_source=share&utm_term=1&rdt=63293

Pitching it to the wrong audience. You should know your audience first. If you are speaking to 90% hdb heartlands why would they care if you impose a wealth tax on wealthy condo and landed homes owners. Facepalm Sad

Extracted:

During PM Wong's speech (slightly before 2hr mark on CNA), he talked about oppo parties criticism of 9% GST and to implement a wealth tax. He then state since most of the wealth are in property, a wealth tax will cause those staying in private and landed properties to pay more. When he said that to an audience that I guessed are mostly staying in HDB flats, the atmosphere was just silent and awkward, even the party volunteers were not blowing whistle or clapping their pomp pomps. Well it's a good day to be wealthy!

He still ask how is it that only marine parade respond.  Rotfl

(27-04-2025, 07:57 AM)winbig Wrote:  He still ask how is it that only marine parade respond.  Rotfl

I think being a smart guy (but not too politically  savvy) he knew immediately after that he was speaking to mostly heartlanders.

No way he could have known from the crowd that a segment were from marine parade.  He just threw in a joke to soothe over the awkwardness  Big Grin

(27-04-2025, 07:57 AM)winbig Wrote:  He still ask how is it that only marine parade respond.  Rotfl

So you are one of those PAP sheeples at their rally last night, is it?

Why is the people from marine parade doing over there. PAP ferry them there by bus?

(27-04-2025, 08:18 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  So you are one of those PAP sheeples at their rally last night, is it?

No lah. I got no time to go rally. I'm busy preparing 🍍 for u.  Laughing

(27-04-2025, 08:30 AM)winbig Wrote:  No lah. I got no time to go rally. I'm busy preparing 🍍 for u.  Laughing

Dun be shy, I know you went with LKSM

Tell me, when did it started

Is it when you showed him all the PAPapples you got from Shiny Forehead?

It seems he is reluctant to tax the wealthy but willing to impose GST which is regressive and affects the poor.

Confirmation of PAP's pro rich policies...expanding income gap and inequality

[+] 2 users Like sgbuffett's post

This episode revealed the wealth divide lo.. and PAP dunno the ground..
[+] 2 users Like Raphael05's post

GST tax the wealthy people lah....ordinary usually don't pay GST one...some more we got CDC vouchers and cash rebate, too

Car coe each 100k, property tax at 32%. .. very high already. Why keep punishing the hardworking ppl?

LW logic on GST is so warped I do not know where to begin

Those with more than 1 property does not qualify for GST voucher rebates

IAM affected, so you tell me, will I ever vote for PAP or not?

I gain nothing from PAP all these years

Voting for PAP or Opposition makes no difference to me

Anyway, PAP now is not the PAP of yester years

No foresight, no substance, no talent, no ideas

SMH

(27-04-2025, 09:47 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  LW logic on GST is so warped I do not know where to begin

Those with more than 1 property does not qualify for GST voucher rebates

IAM affected, so you tell me, will I ever vote for PAP or not?

I gain nothing from PAP all these years

Voting for PAP or Opposition makes no difference to me

Anyway, PAP now is not the PAP of yester years

No foresight, no substance, no talent, no ideas

SMH

I am in the same situation as you
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

Please vote for psp lah.
It means please stop paying. Rotfl
This greedy team has mismanaged the economy. They are unable to control the inflation and blame it is a global issue.
They never blame themselves as a main problem creator.
When you point finger at others, 3 other fingers are actually pointing at you.

High COE
High property price
High medical cost
High cost of living
Jobs stolen by Ftrashes
Work until die.
After 50, it is very difficult to find a decent job.
So many LKKs still got to work, cannot retire happily.

Their incompetency shd be “rewarded”
We are not beggers, keep issuing CDC vouchers.