Bean shortage drives up cost of even the cheapest cup of coffee

UPDATED MAY 14, 2023, 6:44 PM SGT

NEW YORK – The global cost-of-living crunch has pushed coffee drinkers to get their fix from cheaper brews. But a shortage of robusta beans is making it increasingly difficult to find a budget-friendly cup.

While many coffee lovers prefer the high-quality arabica beans sold in cafes, robusta is normally less expensive as the tree is hardier and requires less care, making it easier to produce in large quantities. The variety is often used in instant coffee, espressos and ground blends sold at supermarkets, which have experienced a comeback as cash-strapped consumers seek alternatives.

Key growers, however, are finding it difficult to keep up with the surge in demand, with wholesale prices last week hitting the highest level in nearly 12 years.

The odds of global robusta shortages easing any time soon look bleak. Vietnam – the world’s largest producer – probably collected its smallest harvest in four years, after farmers focused on planting more profitable crops like avocados and durians to cope with booming fertiliser costs in the aftermath of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. (Levin's note: The world's biggest producer of fertiliser, Russia, is under US sanctions).

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/unite...-of-coffee

Heng I not affected because I no drink kopi Big Grin

Tea is my main choice of poison Big Grin

But they charged same price...$1.70 in Kopitiam.
[+] 1 user Likes ysh02's post

another reason for price increase by kopitiam.

nowadays drinks stall drinks so expensive i havent buyed one since the start of this year
Frown

people are mean and scary
i dont know how they judge me
i dont know what they think about me
Sad 

[Image: 20210721-151839.jpg]

Robusta (left bottom), and 3 types of arabica from different countries

(15-05-2023, 07:49 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Heng I not affected because I no drink kopi Big Grin

teh see siu dai ?

(15-05-2023, 11:27 AM)Niubee Wrote:  teh see siu dai ?

Teh C Kosong Big Grin

(15-05-2023, 07:49 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Heng I not affected because I no drink kopi Big Grin

Prices of coffee and tea move up in tandem!  Cool

(15-05-2023, 11:40 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  Prices of coffee and tea move up in tandem!  Cool

Ok, if left with no choice can always go back to licking the tasty meow meow juice Big Grin

Starbucks has been using coffee beans from Yunnan in China.

(15-05-2023, 11:43 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Ok, if left with no choice can always go back to licking the tasty meow meow juice Big Grin

Meow meow juice moves with inflation also leh!  Rotfl

(15-05-2023, 11:45 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  Meow meow juice moves with inflation also leh!  Rotfl

Ish ok, ish tastier than any coffee or tea beverage Laughing

I drinking lime lemon tea now.

(15-05-2023, 12:08 PM)dynamite Wrote:  I drinking lime lemon tea now.

Drink milo

(15-05-2023, 11:43 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Starbucks has been using coffee beans from Yunnan in China.

Yunnan arabica, top left of the photo above

(15-05-2023, 12:26 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Drink milo

I drink made in Malaysia Milo

(15-05-2023, 12:44 PM)dynamite Wrote:  I drink made in Malaysia Milo

Aussie made Milo taste better than Msian ones.

(15-05-2023, 12:50 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Aussie made Milo taste better than Msian ones.

I buy based on price.

Milo...lots of sugar.

(15-05-2023, 12:51 PM)dynamite Wrote:  I buy based on price.

Taste is also important…just like CKT you eat

(15-05-2023, 12:53 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Milo...lots of sugar.

Then drink this lor.

[Image: IMG-1017.jpg]

[Image: IMG-1018.jpg]

joyeux anniversaire en russe google traduction

(15-05-2023, 08:23 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  But they charged same price...$1.70 in Kopitiam.

Koufu only $1.20 leh! Big Grin

(15-05-2023, 12:58 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Koufu only $1.20 leh! Big Grin

Heard some coffeeshop in Ubi only 0.9

(15-05-2023, 12:50 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Aussie made Milo taste better than Msian ones.

Yes. I was told the formula is different that's why taste better.
[+] 1 user Likes Levin's post

(15-05-2023, 01:01 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Heard some coffeeshop in Ubi only 0.9

Only 80¢ at Whampoa Makan Place leh! Big Grin

(15-05-2023, 01:13 PM)Levin Wrote:  Yes. I was told the formula is different that's why taste better.

Palm oil versus milk powder.