Threads: 7,216

Likes Given: 585
Strangely a scheme that is suppose to take care of sick and/or disabled elderly automatically enroll only those born after 1980 and not earlier.
Why those 60 and above many are not enrolled ...aren't these the people who need the scheme most. Why then are they not automatically enrolled?
Why 3 disability needed? ....if a person has just one disability , for example, he cannot feed himself ...won't he also need help. Why is it ithe scheme leaves him out??!
What kind of govt launch a scheme claiming to want to help the elderly but actually leave them out of the scheme?
It just make no sense. Why bother when those who need help cannot get it.
Those who start paying for the scheme by the time they get old and disable and need it, the pay out will be totally inadequate due to inflation.
Is the govt even sincere jn wanting to help those who need help?
What js this scheme all about?...all I know is I kena deduxtion from my CPF and I don't need it and my mom is not automatically on the scheme....
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/brandstu...life/intro
(This post was last modified: 12-04-2023, 12:51 PM by
sgbuffett.)

Threads: 522

Likes Given: 72

Threads: 106

Likes Given: 460
(12-04-2023, 11:24 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: Strangely a scheme that is suppose to take care of sick and/or disabled elderly automatically enroll only those born after 1980 and not earlier.
Why those 60 and above many are not enrolled ...aren't these the people who need the scheme most. Why then are they not automatically enrolled?
Why 3 disability needed? ....if a person has just one disability , for example, he cannot feed himself ...won't he also need help. Why is it ithe scheme leaves him out??!
What kind of govt launch a scheme claiming to want to help the elderly but actually leave them out of the scheme?
It just make no sense. Why bother when those who need help cannot get it.
Those who start paying for the scheme by the time they get old and disable and need it, the pay out will be totally inadequate due to inflation.
Is the govt even sincere jn wanting to help those who need help?
What js this scheme all about?...all I know is I kena deduxtion from my CPF and I don't need it and my mom is not automatically on the scheme....
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/brandstu...life/intro
U think insurance is charity?

Threads: 232

Likes Given: 6,677
I opt in
Not automatically included.
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine

Threads: 2,295

Likes Given: 742
I opt out this useless plan.
I Ching taught me solving today problem is more important than solving tomorrow problem.
(This post was last modified: 12-04-2023, 04:40 PM by
RiseofAsia.)

Threads: 9,719

Likes Given: 12
This one isn't that " insurance "policy.
Back in early days, you got the option to opt in. Actually a lot elderly opt in I forget is force or up to your wish.
Now Govt just " change the name for it " and they do themselves don't let private insurance companies do.
Partly they seem a lot money there which Private insurance companies have profit from these.
Now by 30 is FORCE to opt in.
Last time is 40 yrs you got the choice to opt out. DO NOTE YOU MUST CALL NTUC INCOME TO OPT OUT.
IF you never call is Automatic deduct from your bank.

Threads: 237

Likes Given: 3
Compulsory for those young workers. Cannot opt out. WTF

Threads: 9,719

Likes Given: 12
(12-04-2023, 01:57 PM)Stoki Wrote: Compulsory for those young workers. Cannot opt out. WTF
Govt " quite cunning " , now at least Directly say you Cannot opt out.
Last time is You must call to opt out or else if you never call NTUC Income, they automatic deduct.

Threads: 35

Likes Given: 429
(12-04-2023, 12:04 PM)winbig Wrote: U think insurance is charity?
Nope, that's why govt is getting into the biz to cream off what insurers used to cream... Lol

Threads: 232

Likes Given: 6,677
This huan no need means testing
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine

Threads: 98

Likes Given: 286
Careshield just clearly does not make sense for most people.
A person in the mid 40s would have paid more than $10k into the scheme until age 65. If you do become disabled you get only 600+ every month.
Let's say there is a 10% chance for a person aged above 65 to become disabled. You need to live for ~14 years after you become disabled to break even and this is not even considering the time-value of money of the premiums you put in.
This scheme only makes sense if your health is already very jialat and you think you are going to be disabled very soon.