Carrier bag charge at larger supermarkets to begin in mid-2023

From mid-2023, supermarket chains including NTUC FairPrice, Cold Storage, Giant, Sheng Siong and Prime will charge at least 5 cents for each disposable bag.

https://str.sg/wtDL

can you dont buy?
cannot?
then LL la
[+] 1 user Likes menghuii's post

Angry Angry Angry
[+] 1 user Likes babygirl's post

the fakest thing is
you buy veg and meat wrapped with plastics
and PLASTIC wares
pepsi cola in plastics
fruits in plastics
then when you reach the cashier

YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO SAVE THE EARTH

DAAM IT!
[+] 2 users Like menghuii's post

5c entitled one to destroy the earth

(06-02-2023, 03:30 PM)menghuii Wrote:  the fakest thing is
you buy veg and meat wrapped with plastics
and PLASTIC wares
pepsi cola in plastics
fruits in plastics
then when you reach the cashier

YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO SAVE THE EARTH

DAAM IT!

save the earth
ALL BULLSHIT!!!
IS A DISGUISE TO TAX MORE

DO U KNOW THAT HOW MUCH CO2 EMITED N FUEL IS WASTED TO ON AIRCON TO WAIT FOR VIP TO BOARD THE CHAUFFERED CAR TO FETCH THEM WHEM THEY ARE GOING TO END MEETING READY TO MOVE TO ANOTHER LOCATION..
10 MIN B4 MEETING ENDS CAR MUST BE READY W AIRCON SWIR=TCHED ON
THEN AFTER WAITING FOR 20 MIN MEETING  STILL  ON NOT ENDED 
U CANT SWITCHED OF THE CAR ENGINE
KEEP THE CAR RUNNING FOR THE NEXT 30 MIN TO STAND BY FOR THE VIP COMES INTO THE CAR W COLD AIR!!!
[+] 3 users Like talky's post

(06-02-2023, 04:49 PM)talky Wrote:  save the earth
ALL BULLSHIT!!!

DO U KNOW THAT HOW MUCH CO2 EMITED N FUEL IS WASTED TO ON AIRCON TO WAIT FOR VIP TO BOARD THE CHAUFFERED CAR TO FETCH THEM WHEM THEY ARE GOING TO END MEETING READY TO MOVE TO ANOTHER LOCATION..
KEEP THE CAR RUNNING FOR THE NEXT 30 MIN TO STAND BY FOR THE VIP COMES INTO THE CAR W COLD AIR!!!

Are these facts or hearsay.............................? Big Grin

Those small retailers can't charge or they can also charge higher like $1 per bag?
[+] 1 user Likes Notdumb's post

I think while many Singaporeans whine endlessly about this when I went to malacca last yr every convenience shop ...every super .asked already implement.

(06-02-2023, 04:57 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I think while many Singaporeans whine endlessly about this when I went to malacca last yr every convenience shop ...every super .asked already implement.

So Malaysia is more advanced than us................? Thinking

(06-02-2023, 04:57 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I think while many Singaporeans whine endlessly about this when I went to malacca last yr every convenience shop ...every super .asked already implement.

Wah talk like very experienced liao. China already started maybe 20 yrs ago. Even their recycling is world famous!

PAP wants to make money and not save the earth

Otherwise, they would have started with retail to issue paper bags

Or arrange to set up a booth to sell reusable bags at the entrance

Lastly, stop all plastic bags and just sell reusable bags at the cashier

Like Japan Home

[Image: IMG-5684.jpg]

(06-02-2023, 06:29 PM)Ola Wrote:  PAP wants to make money and not save the earth

Otherwise, they would have started with retail to issue paper bags

Or arrange to set up a booth to sell reusable bags at the entrance

Lastly, stop all plastic bags and just sell reusable bags at the cashier

Like Japan Home

[Image: IMG-5684.jpg]

That is a good suggestion, we should copy Japan....................... Big Grin

(06-02-2023, 03:26 PM)menghuii Wrote:  can you dont buy?
cannot?
then LL la

EZ buy, Shoppee  . . . .  sells each Singlet plastic bag of same size for nearly 10 cents each

so must buy more  and then sell to others

pap really jialat. need to change them. a lot of unhappiness.
[+] 1 user Likes jus4lucky's post

(06-02-2023, 03:24 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  From mid-2023, supermarket chains including NTUC FairPrice, Cold Storage, Giant, Sheng Siong and Prime will charge at least 5 cents for each disposable bag.

https://str.sg/wtDL

Don't buy from them lah! So simple leh! Big Grin The wet market nearby my block no such thing one lah!

(06-02-2023, 04:49 PM)talky Wrote:  save the earth
ALL BULLSHIT!!!

Urbanisation is the killer for CO2 emission.
Need to go back the old way for great CO2 reduction.

(07-02-2023, 06:16 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Don't buy from them lah! So simple leh! Big Grin The wet market nearby my block no such thing one lah!

I have reduced the shopping from them if no good discount.  Rotfl
Even past CDC vouchers, I did not spend a single cent at their Supermarket.

is coming back to lppl
they buy fr shops 1 pkt of 1oo pcs $2/** less tah 3cts a pc
yet ntuc charges 10cts 
3x profit!!

Ok, gonna buy plastic bags online for S$0.03 per piece now!

Then more hdb residents will just throw into the rubbish chute without bagging. 

Means more cockroaches and rats ln the chute area.

(07-02-2023, 10:29 AM)klat Wrote:  Then more hdb residents will just throw into the rubbish chute without bagging. 

Means more cockroaches and rats ln the chute area.

that is not the problem of those million dollars ministers/MPs who stay landed.

In USA all food scraps, leftovers just go into the sink which has a food crasher/grinder to discard away. Here we have to collect whatever in the sink into a plastic bag to throw into the disposable bin. Why don't solve this issue first before charging consumers at supermarkets?