Commuters in Singapore rethink weekend plans due to East-West Line train

Commuters in Singapore rethink weekend plans due to East-West Line train disruption | The Star

https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplus/ase...disruption

Sinkees must also rethink weekend plans traveling into JB due to the restrictions of Sg car VEP. Why go to a place where actually they want to extort you of your $$$?

Song Boh, no car, you will be stucked at home when public transport is in trouble. 

Such incident will happen more often in future due to crazy massive importing.

cannot go jb go batam. lagi cheap

just that one cannot go jb take petrol then ll got to pay the singapore refinery inflated oil price.
global oil has reduced form usd80+ to current 70+ . but retail oil remain the same. oil refinery huat already after shell sell their refinery share. now is it monopoly already?

No issue for me i always stay at home pa games...

Jurong East is a very risky bottleneck without bypass alternative.

(28-09-2024, 09:56 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  No issue for me i always stay at home pa games...

pa games or pa gun?

(28-09-2024, 09:38 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Commuters in Singapore rethink weekend plans due to East-West Line train disruption | The Star

https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplus/ase...disruption

Go by bus or taxi lah! Big Grin Alternatives are available lah! You can use your own PMA lah!

(28-09-2024, 03:00 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Song Boh, no car, you will be stucked at home when public transport is in trouble. Such incident will happen more often in future due to crazy massive importing.

This is the result of the Govt's policy to open our doors to too many foreigners. Overcrowding has led to everything becoming far too expensive. Our ageing infrastructure is not adequate to service 6 million residents. Only 11% of us own cars, but our roads are congested during peak hours. How can so many people be safely and comfortably transported by MRT and buses when a breakdown like this happens?  

(29-09-2024, 10:48 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  This is the result of the Govt's policy to open our doors to too many foreigners. Overcrowding has led to everything becoming far too expensive. Our ageing infrastructure is not adequate to service 6 million residents. Only 11% of us own cars, but our roads are congested during peak hours. How can so many people be safely and comfortably transported by MRT and buses when a breakdown like this happens?  

事出反常必有妖lah.
Pointing finger is easy but have they known what is the actual root cause or problem of this train fault.

I strongly believe the SMRT maintenance team has highlighted the possible fault issue before. 
It is just that someone has been KIV this in their PM list?

(29-09-2024, 11:00 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Pointing finger is easy but have they known what is the actual root cause or problem of this train fault.I strongly believe the SMRT maintenance team has highlighted the possible fault issue before. It is just that someone has been KIV this in their PM list?

You miss the point that overcrowding in cities significantly exacerbate the impact of transportation disruptions, such as train breakdowns. When a city like SG is overcrowded, our transportation systems are usually operating at near capacity. This means that even a minor disruption can lead to severe congestion and delays. In overcrowded SG, there is a higher demand for public transportation because only 11% of us own cars. This makes it more difficult to accommodate passengers when disruptions occur, since there are fewer alternative options available.  

Overcrowding puts strain on infrastructure such as bridges, tunnels and tracks. This increases the likelihood of breakdowns and other problems. As such, it is important for our Govt to implement strategies to manage population growth and ensure our transport system is robust enough to handle the demands of a growing population. This includes investments in public transportation, infrastructure improvements and urban planning.