Forum: Act fast to draw and retain foreign nurses in Singapore

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...-singapore

Good and not so good.

If there are not enough nurses, sleeping at the corridor and sleeping at the ward is same same. You are unattended. Even if you scream your lungs out in pain, nobody comes because there's nobody.

If you have these nurses from Myanmar and the Philippines, you would need someone to translate English to Hokkien because your ah ma does not understand English. When she cries out in pain the foreign nurses don't know what she is saying. The nurses want to help but can't. They feel stressed. They try to second guess what that ah ma is screaming about.

And when they render nursing care, well if you bring the whole of the Philippines here, you in effect convert a Singapore horsepeter into Phillipines one.

But beggars can't choose right? Our low TFR caused the manpower shortage in practically all sectors of industry and commerce and not just nursing.

So we just have to accept whatever nurses we can find....

We used to bring nurses from China but the quality of nursing care was......

So we stopped.
We STOPPED.

Now we bring Chinese chewren over and sponsor them. Send them to poly, pay for everything, and train them to become nurses..

We also have nurses from India, Sri Lanka. May be good for Indian Singaporeans who speak Tamil.

A small number of nurses are Chinese Malaysians. They are the best in terms of language. These nurses can speak Chinese dialects which even our own young Chinese Singaporean nurses can't.

(27-04-2023, 09:33 AM)Oyk Wrote:  We used to bring nurses from China but the quality of nursing care was......

So we stopped.
We STOPPED.

Now we bring Chinese chewren over and sponsor them. Send them to poly, pay for everything, and train them to become nurses..

We also have nurses from India, Sri Lanka.  May be good for Indian Singaporeans who speak Tamil.

A small number of nurses are Chinese Malaysians. They are the best in terms of language. These nurses can speak Chinese dialects which even our own young Chinese Singaporean nurses can't.

.... and also speak Malay.  Laughing

(27-04-2023, 09:20 AM)Oyk Wrote:  But beggars can't choose right? Our low TFR caused the manpower shortage in practically all sectors of industry and commerce and not just nursing.

So we just have to accept whatever nurses we can find....

you are wrong.
number of local students applying for local nursing courses are more than the available vacancies.
PAP needs to increase the enrolment number for local nursing students.

https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/nursing/2018...er-spikes/

It is also fuelled by strong interest from mid-career applicants looking to embark on a second career in nursing. The inaugural two-year Bachelor of Science (Nursing) programme offered by NUS Nursing was oversubscribed by more than 11 times, receiving 230 applications for 20 places.

Not long ago, I visited the NUH. It was about 7pm. I saw one Ah Ma who was on the sick bed. 2 foreign nurses attended to her did not understand what the Ah Ma want. The Ah Ma looked frustrated and helpless. How come the nurses could not understand her request. I approached them and told the nurses about the Ah Ma’s request. The Ah Ma felt relieved. Big Grin

(27-04-2023, 09:38 AM)forum456 Wrote:  you are wrong.
number of local students applying for local nursing courses are more than the available vacancies.
PAP needs to increase the enrolment number for local nursing students.

You are making a wild and untruthful assertion.

It's the same thing I read in edmw. Not enough doctors? Just increase the intake lar!

Not enough IT staff? Increase the intake lar!

Not enough bank staff? Increase the intake lar!

You talk as if we have lots of young peepur while schools are being closed and merged.

Till now you still don't WAKE UP and realize that most young Chinese looking peepur are actually Malaysians and Chinese (citizens of China only are called Chinese) and NOT Singaporeans.

When will you ever understand?

Our nurse shortage problem didn't start yesterday or last year. It started 25 years ago when peepur did not get married or make enough babies. How many chewren do you have?

Singapore is never short of any talent.

Singapore is always short of training places for local talents.

In one govt IT job program, there are 4000 local applicants for 700 places.
In another govt IT program, there are 800 local applicants for 22 places.
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post
Heart 

(27-04-2023, 09:46 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Not long ago, I visited the NUH. It was about 7pm. I saw one Ah Ma who was on the sick bed. 2 foreign nurses attended to her did not understand what the Ah Ma want. The Ah Ma looked frustrated and helpless. How come the nurses could not understand her request. I approached them and told the nurses about the Ah Ma’s request. The Ah Ma felt relieved. Big Grin

The nurses also feel stressed. Some don't handle the stress well and the patients are at the receiving end...

They thought Singapore was an English speaking country before they came but now they realize that it is not so. Many eventually left for Canada, the US....

What happened with that ah ma is a scene that's played over and over.

(27-04-2023, 09:49 AM)forum456 Wrote:  Singapore is never short of any talent.

Singapore is always short of training places for local talents.

In one govt IT job program, there are 4000 local applicants for 700 places.
In another govt IT program, there are 800 local applicants for 22 places.

You argue with hypothetical numbers while refusing to face our dire circumstances of a shrunk local population. Voters like you are better dead. You are a liability to Singapore.  Rolleyes

(27-04-2023, 09:57 AM)Oyk Wrote:  You argue with hypothetical numbers while refusing to face our dire circumstances of a shrunk local population. Voters like you are better dead. You are a liability to Singapore.  Rolleyes

below is the real proof of 800 applicants for 22 places.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGDOx_QkeF4

(27-04-2023, 09:35 AM)Oyk Wrote:  .... and also speak Malay.  Laughing

A small number of nurses are Chinese Malaysians. They are the best in terms of language. These nurses can speak Chinese dialects which even our own young Chinese  Clapping
Singaporean nurses can't. Sick

(27-04-2023, 09:54 AM)Oyk Wrote:  The nurses also feel stressed. Some don't handle the stress well and the patients are at the receiving end...

They thought Singapore was an English speaking country before they came but now they realize that it is not so. Many eventually left for Canada, the US....

What happened with that ah ma is a scene that's played over and over.

The Nurses are stressed as they cannot understand the Ah Ma’s request.They may turn their blind eyes away from the Ah Ma if the visitors are not around. Let the Ah Ma ownself KPKB ownself.

(27-04-2023, 11:37 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  The Nurses are stressed as they cannot understand the Ah Ma’s request.They may turn their blind eyes away from the Ah Ma if the visitors are not around. Let the Ah Ma ownself KPKB ownself.

Yes, that is very possible. They just wouldn't be able to help so they just ignore. 

Suppose the ah por says in Cantonese, ngor chek kiok ho hung ah 我只脚好痒啊!(My leg is feeling very itchy), how would an English and Tagalog speaking nurse understand? Is it eczema? Is it dry skin? The nurse would not be able to attend to the patient at all.

(27-04-2023, 11:13 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  A small number of nurses are Chinese Malaysians. They are the best in terms of language. These nurses can speak Chinese dialects which even our own young Chinese  Clapping
Singaporean nurses can't. Sick

The boomer generation of Singaporean nurses can speak Chinese dialects. In fact a Matron told me that when she was a rookie nurse 50 plus years ago, it was not Mandarin that she spoke to the patients. It was all sorts of Chinese dialects.

Those patients would be 110 or 120 years old now IF still alive.

Today's young nurses only speak English and Mandarin... the local ones.

(27-04-2023, 10:04 AM)forum456 Wrote:  below is the real proof of 800 applicants for 22 places.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGDOx_QkeF4

The CECA fugger OYK doesn't want to acknowledge this FACT as it exposes his fellow CECAs stealing jobs from Sinkies.

(30-04-2023, 05:38 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  The CECA fugger OYK doesn't want to acknowledge this FACT as it exposes his fellow CECAs stealing jobs from Sinkies.

Agree

singlion knows the Great rest
plandemic is a great opportunity
coronavirus causing covid19 the disease does not exist
the problem is man made
if Putin is true and fight for mankind
we might face a glut
if not chonTU-ed
A difficult kind of problem
shortage of mankind
clean will be in demand in all sectors.