DBS, POSB clients say accounts being drained

DBS, POSB clients say accounts being drained even if they don’t click on phishing links, or share passwords

SINGAPORE – Despite DBS’ and POSB’s efforts to caution their customers to be wary of phishing scams, users are still getting robbed online.

This hardly bodes well for the banks’ aggressive move to push customers to use digital banking and cash transfer apps such as PayNow and PayLah!

Several users from both banks have now claimed on social media that there have been unauthorized charges or withdrawals made to their accounts even though they had not clicked on suspect links and had kept their one-time passwords (OTPs) private.

In a Facebook forum, DBS Bank user HC Ang said in a recent post: “My mum bank account got hacked several times last night!” The user advised: “So close your DBS/POSB account & transfer your money to another bank.” Ouch.

Users have complained that money keeps getting siphoned from their accounts without their clicking on phishing links. Some said this had been known to happen without their receiving any notice from their banks that any money had been deducted.

https://theindependent.sg/dbs-posb-clien...passwords/

Jialat!

I am going to close all my GIRO payments!

(11-02-2022, 01:09 PM)klat Wrote:  DBS, POSB clients say accounts being drained even if they don’t click on phishing links, or share passwords

SINGAPORE – Despite DBS’ and POSB’s efforts to caution their customers to be wary of phishing scams, users are still getting robbed online.

This hardly bodes well for the banks’ aggressive move to push customers to use digital banking and cash transfer apps such as PayNow and PayLah!

Several users from both banks have now claimed on social media that there have been unauthorized charges or withdrawals made to their accounts even though they had not clicked on suspect links and had kept their one-time passwords (OTPs) private.

In a Facebook forum, DBS Bank user HC Ang said in a recent post: “My mum bank account got hacked several times last night!” The user advised: “So close your DBS/POSB account & transfer your money to another bank.” Ouch.

Users have complained that money keeps getting siphoned from their accounts without their clicking on phishing links. Some said this had been known to happen without their receiving any notice from their banks that any money had been deducted.

https://theindependent.sg/dbs-posb-clien...passwords/
I hope DBS/POSB don't go the way OCBC did.......it is frustrating to see bank customers being dupe into losing money via internet banking.  It is better to do transactions by going personally to a bank or use checks to settle debts.........

Just use a proxy on my handphone number and I can use it to pay my friends via Paylah?

But still need user ID and password, leh.

Is it insider hands?

Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers? 

My son had this problem 2 years back. Somebody used his debit card details to buy things online(US retailer). When he found out, more than $1600 had already been deducted from his POSB account. Wrote to the US company to furnish us the buyer info but they refused. Eventually, made police report here.
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

(11-02-2022, 01:23 PM)Ola Wrote:  Just use a proxy on my handphone number and I can use it to pay my friends via Paylah?

Is it insider hands?

(11-02-2022, 01:26 PM)Clyde Wrote:  My son had this problem 2 years back. Somebody used his debit card details to buy things online(US retailer). When he found out, more than $1600 had already been deducted from his POSB account. Wrote to the US company to furnish us the buyer info but they refused. Eventually, made police report here.

I encounter before , I don't know how or what. I always Dam carefully online. Even so call purchase stuffs online.
My computer don't have virus or malware either. Phone too. etc

Happen to check one purchase is buy some stuffs from a HK or China website which I never buy and I don't even visit any hk or china website much to buy stuffs.

later call DBS , managed to get back my money but troublesome need to re enter all my card details come business purpose stuffs.

Like dat, ensure yr house is in order , conduct complete audit check what actually had gone wrong....otherwise once trust confidence is lost, yr shares will tumble like hell

(11-02-2022, 01:23 PM)Ola Wrote:  Just use a proxy on my handphone number and I can use it to pay my friends via Paylah?

Is it insider hands?

Banks have invested millions on cyber security, seems all useless leh.

Very likely someone knows well how bank system works.
[+] 1 user Likes Oasis's post

I received an email from OCBC telling me daily transfer limit change is no longer allowed, I was thinking of lowering the daily limit to $100. Is that how they tackle to cyber crimes?

(11-02-2022, 02:26 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Banks have invested millions on cyber security, seems all useless leh.

Not all banks are useless.
Got 1 bank is very safe one.
Allow 1 bank app can install on 1 phone. If you want to install the bank app to another phone/tablet. You need to call them to reset it.You guess which bank? Rotfl

Hint:-
Not Duck Ball Soup and Open CB Company.

Their digibot apps also breakdown. Even want to give feedback to complaint also breakdown. WTF is DBS doing!!!

I was told that overseas Govt will have your bank account to debit your mthly charges ie telco, electricity, water and car payments. Nothing else is allowed.

So far, their 20 or 40 million people money in the bank still safe and sound.

Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers? 

(11-02-2022, 01:26 PM)Clyde Wrote:  My son had this problem 2 years back. Somebody used his debit card details to buy things online(US retailer). When he found out, more than $1600 had already been deducted from his POSB account. Wrote to the US company to furnish us the buyer info but they refused. Eventually, made police report here.

Your son’s case was a small case.
My case was credit card already cancelled still can have transactions… Rotfl 
The bank personnel told me the bank will handle it.

(11-02-2022, 03:11 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Your son’s case was a small case.
My case was credit card already cancelled still can have transactions… Rotfl 
The bank personnel told me the bank will handle it.
This can happen means their whole banking system is screw up. Who dare to use their credit card, ATM or cashess payment. Better stick to hard cash and cheques.

(11-02-2022, 03:09 PM)Ola Wrote:  I was told that overseas Govt will have your bank account to debit your mthly charges ie telco, electricity, water and car payments. Nothing else is allowed.

So far, their 20 or 40 million people money in the bank still safe and sound.

In Australia ATM pin is only 4 digits. Internet banking for big banks has no two factor login in place.

(11-02-2022, 02:26 PM)Oasis Wrote:  Very likely someone knows well how bank system works.

DBS a lot of CECAs...................most likely inside job..............
[+] 1 user Likes Napoleon Porlumpar's post

(11-02-2022, 01:17 PM)debono Wrote:  I hope DBS/POSB don't go the way OCBC did.......it is frustrating to see bank customers being dupe into losing money via internet banking.  It is better to do transactions by going personally to a bank or use checks to settle debts.........

Better hope DBS goes the way OCBC did! 
And refund the 💰. 
At least in OCBC cases,  the account holders initiated it by clicking the fake link. 
Here,  they claim not to have done anything.

(11-02-2022, 05:13 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  Better hope DBS goes the way OCBC did! 
And refund the 💰. 
At least in OCBC cases,  the account holders initiated it by clicking the fake link. 

Not having done anything money got siphoned away. Very serious case.  Bigeyes

(11-02-2022, 05:13 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  Better hope DBS goes the way OCBC did! 
And refund the 💰. 

One off only lah, dunt expect them do it every time your money gets stolen.

This systems are large and complex ...
There are many ways for hackers to gain entry through bugs and backdoors.

The other threat is insider use his access to system to manipulate.

Why no sound no words from MCI  Sad

(11-02-2022, 05:48 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  One off only lah, dunt expect them do it every time your money gets stolen.

This case is different from OCBC.  In that case the fault was mainly due to the account holders. So refunding the money to them was out of goodwill. Therefore don't expect that to be repeated. 
In this case,  the account holders did not do anything . So not their fault. Something wrong at the bank .
Bank should be liable. It won't be a Goodwill payment like OCBC , but a payment due to bank negligence
[+] 1 user Likes Ahnya's post

(13-02-2022, 10:50 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  In this case,  the account holders did not do anything . So not their fault. Something wrong at the bank .
Bank should be liable. It won't be a Goodwill payment like OCBC , but a payment due to bank negligence

Jialat. Too many ce.ca there with fake degrees and credentials???

Huh