Existing fluorescent tube fixtures housing can use with LED tubes ?

bros...........

i using 1.2 meter fluorescent tube light right now..........can i switch to LED tube while using the existing tube light housing ? Huh

or need to change the housing also ?.............i read online that i can just use back the old housing leh.......... Huh

(28-03-2024, 05:24 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  bros...........

i using 1.2 meter fluorescent tube light right now..........can i switch to LED tube while using the existing tube light housing ? Huh

or need to change the housing also ?.............i read online that i can just use back the old housing leh.......... Huh

need to rewire using old casing lah

KUM GONG

Nowadays, most of them are used like LED bulbs. Sometimes you can bypass the ballast.

(28-03-2024, 05:31 PM)theold Wrote:  Nowadays, most of them are used like LED bulbs. Sometimes you can bypass the ballast.

heng ar

still learning how to use these
in case of nuclear war power outage

[Image: enrum-lantern-for-candle-indoor-outdoor-...s5.jpg?f=s]

Can , must remove the starter Big Grin

Can. Remove starter and in my case, the ballast.

How come boh lumpar is so inept at doing these household DIY? Dun tell me your 50 years of living you do not have to change any lightings?

Why want to use back the old housing?
You are very auntie leh.

never seen tube lighting in toilet before 
Nice meh

labour is expensive in singapore. if possible just change the whole set. cheaper

It’s not going to save you much. The diff in $ from your bill is not noticeable

use candles save electricity cost and more romantic when dine with gf.

Provided gf is pretty

(28-03-2024, 05:25 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  need to rewire using old casing lah

thanks...........forget it then.............

(28-03-2024, 05:41 PM)itangg12 Wrote:  Can , must remove the starter Big Grin

so troublesome ah ?

(28-03-2024, 05:43 PM)Levin Wrote:  Can. Remove starter and in my case, the ballast.

beyond me liao lah............

(28-03-2024, 06:42 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  How come boh lumpar is so inept at doing these household DIY? Dun tell me your 50 years of living you do not have to change any lightings?

i only change the tubes...........never change lighting lah............

(28-03-2024, 07:57 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote:  It’s not going to save you much. The diff in $ from your bill is not noticeable

not much difference ah ?..............really meh ?

Bro, pay some money and get all your household lightings rewired into a screw on bulb type lah. Nowadays the bulbs come in with so many beautiful designs. Even if you want tube, they have tube bulbs that come with a screw head for screwing into the light socket. This will save you from that shitty ballast which I hated most when changing tubes.    Big Grin

if stupid dont how to rewire
then

change whole casing

buy waterproof double tube casing

https://www.focusdelightings.com.sg/prod...6698521673

(28-03-2024, 05:41 PM)itangg12 Wrote:  Can , must remove the starter Big Grin
yup..
 no  re wiring needed at all

just changed to old tubes to LED

(28-03-2024, 06:42 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  How come boh lumpar is so inept at doing these household DIY? Dun tell me your 50 years of living you do not have to change any lightings?

Boh lumpar is a girl who's not gd at diy

I tried doing the same thing a while back and found that it worked fine after I removed the old ballast and connected the wires directly. Some LED tubes say no need to remove the ballast, but I had flickering issues until I did. For lighting ideas beyond just tubes, lampadari moderni camera da letto gave me a few cool options to update the vibe in my home too.

So easy. Remove the ballast/starter and connect the power supply directly.

Cannot use the LED, if your tube holder is for fluorescent tube.

I tried before use a LED fluorescent tube on my fluorescent tube existing tube holder. You don't noticed anything at first work fine. After like few months suddenly you will notice flickering. Later than I found out you need to change the holder for LED lights.

Nevertheless I still on fluorescent tube. Partly actually better than LED. I don't wish to debate. Of course a lot will claim LED lights better. Yea my fish tank light is LED last time I used fluorescent tube but I noticed now some use back fluorescent tube. In fact got one famous fish tank light use to grow plants they still on fluorescent tube.

I mean something is not say New technology or stuffs always better. Now a days is all about making money fast. Yeah. This is why you see electronic products now a days or literally everything now you buy don't last so long.

Now the Boss, CEO smart. Why make a new product can last so many years? Or else people will not buy new ones.

(28-03-2024, 07:57 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote:  It’s not going to save you much. The diff in $ from your bill is not noticeable

I oo think so. I find LED lighting beri straining on my eyes and oso gives me headache. It costs almost double that of fluorescent as well. Since the electricity used is not much lesser dunno why garbagemen want to phase out fluorescent in favour of LED. Nowdays NTUC no sell fluorescent tubes and bulbs liao, even hardware stores oso hard to find them. Maciam need to go bolehland.

Most LED require re-wiring to bypass the existing ballast inside fluorescent fittings.  If the fitting has an electromagnetic ballast and not an electronic ballast,  you can buy Phillips Ecofit tt can replace fluorescent directly by just replacing the starter tt come with the purchase without doing any re-wiring. There r other type tt can replace fluorescent tube directly without any modification but not seem to b available online.

https://s.lazada.sg/s.X1yKO

Omni is in my ignored list. This works well like he always bumps my post for me all the time. Thank u Omni.

I swapped out my old tubes for LED ones using the same fixture, but I had to bypass the ballast first—pretty easy with some basic rewiring. After that, they worked fine. If you're also updating your lighting and want something more stylish than tube lights, check out https://modernchandelier.com/collections/chandeliers for ideas. They’ve got some really cool stuff that can brighten up the room way more than plain LEDs.