Fireworks will be set off from 5 heartland locations in S’pore on New Year’s Eve.

🎆
🎆 Fireworks will be set off from 5 heartland locations in S’pore on New Year’s Eve.

➡️ http://bit.ly/3FXWKzd

Follow us on @mothershipsg for the latest updates

➡️ http://bit.ly/3FXWKzd

Follow us on @mothershipsg for the latest updates

All locations are quite 'far-flung' except MacPherson which is somewhat more central.
[+] 1 user Likes Levin's post

I remember last year the fireworks hit a flat Big Grin

(29-12-2022, 07:06 AM)Levin Wrote:  All locations are quite 'far-flung' except MacPherson which is somewhat more central.

Yes, why not have it at near some more heartland places........? Laughing

no marina areas no talk.

So this justifies the GST increase, is it?
[+] 2 users Like Sentinel's post

This year should be the larger after COVID.

(29-12-2022, 08:53 AM)FangFang Wrote:  This year should be the larger after COVID.

With the pandemic becoming smaller in Singapore, perhaps it is time to have a bigger celebration......... Clapping Gesti-109

(29-12-2022, 08:25 AM)debono Wrote:  Yes, why not have it at near some more heartland places........? Laughing

I prefer them to be at 'far-flung' places. But must change every year lah. But one of them should be at a somewhat central location. So this year's location distribution is quite good, IMHO.

waste money again. better scrap gst
[+] 1 user Likes jus4lucky's post

Where the money come from?

(29-12-2022, 10:52 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Where the money come from?

From govt. coffers................. Rotfl

What's there to see? They are burning up your hard earn money in the sky. All doom and gloom next year. I'd rather sleep through this waste of time and money.

(29-12-2022, 10:55 AM)debono Wrote:  From govt. coffers................. Rotfl
The govt coffers come from your pockets. Angry Tongue

(29-12-2022, 10:57 AM)surfer Wrote:  Laughing
The govt coffers come from your pockets. Angry Tongue

I flying off tomorrow night to Taiwan to see the Taipei 101 fire works - best in the world.

(29-12-2022, 08:25 AM)debono Wrote:  Yes, why not have it at near some more heartland places........? Laughing

It's a novelty and sexciting for chewren below the age of seven.

Most Sgtalk lau funkers and lau funties should have seen it before...at very least on TV.

If it comes to my place in Holland Road, I won't even bother to go out and watch or take photos and upload to Insta.  Rolleyes

(29-12-2022, 11:12 AM)Oyk Wrote:  It's a novelty and sexciting for chewren below the age of seven.

Most Sgtalk lau funkers and lau funties should have seen it before...at very least on TV.

If it comes to my place in Holland Road, I won't even bother to go out and watch or take photos and upload to Insta.  Rolleyes

Every year the fireworks are the same, it is like burning money in the sky....... crying

(29-12-2022, 11:16 AM)debono Wrote:  Every year the fireworks are the same, it is like burning money in the sky....... crying

It may look like it's a lot of money but if you divide it by 5.9 million people, it is not.

You should not look at the total amount spent but the per capita expenditure.

Otherwise, everything that the government spends on will look like it's a lot of money.  

The Countdown ushers in the New Year. It is the birthday of 2023.  I don't think it's a bad idea for all of Earth to rejoice that yet another year is born, but unlike negative peepur who say it's gloom and doom, I believe the world is what we make it to be.  Think positive, have the right vibes for your new year's resolutions, and make Singapore an even better place for us all, united we stand.

(29-12-2022, 11:22 AM)Oyk Wrote:  It may look like it's a lot of money but if you divide it by 5.9 million people, it is not.

This excuse is used in every stupid expenditure and then when you add all these up it's not so small money anymore. 

Just like one can say eat ckt once a week won't be harmful to the body but if on other days you also eat fried carrot cake and roti prata then he will get heart attack soon

(29-12-2022, 11:29 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  This excuse is used in every stupid expenditure and then when you add all these up it's not so small money anymore. 

Just like one can say eat ckt once a week won't be harmful to the body but if on other days you also eat fried carrot cake and roti prata then he will get heart attack soon

Your ckt, ctk and rp example betrays a lack of IQ, or confirms stupidity, whichever way you prefer it put.

When you look at the national Budget, all expenses are in the millions.   Likewise for revenue.  Revenue does not come about by taxing a man his life savings.  It's only a few hundred or a few thousand dollars, depending on his income (Income Tax)  and spending (GST).  If you say...so little!  what for?  Might as well not tax anyone.  All the trouble setting up an IRAS in Novena, and only a few hundred bucks from Sally (17 years old, just finished Sec 4, and salary and spending are not that high) and even nothing from Muthu (a ceca from India who is digging roads for a monthly salary of $700)....sua lar, no point lar!

Eh! hang on! if you add it all up, the total revenue collected from all the people in Singapore is a lot.  

Then, you move on to the expenditure side of the Budget.  When you see a doctor at the polyclinic because something grew on your kkj, you get subsidies.  Yes, we do give healthcare subsidies to new citizens too...we don't discriminate just because you were born and grew up in Malaysia.

And the subsidy for your kkj treatment is also not in the tens of million but in your case, it might just run to a few hundred of dollars for a few more necessary follow-up treatment.

So, big number or small number....the fireworks should be seen in context.  As I said, if you look at the total amount spent, it seems like a lot. But the government also collects a lot of money in taxes from us....just because you (and in fact me too) will not be watching it, it does not mean that others think like us.  That's the beautiful thing about democracy.

Fireworks is opium for sheeples

(29-12-2022, 10:52 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Where the money come from?

Your income tax Big Grin

We celebrate two thousand and twenty three years after Jesus Christ died on the cross and ascended to heaven.

The entire world recognises Jesus Christ son of God died for our sins and raised to heaven with eternal life.

(29-12-2022, 12:03 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Your ckt, ctk and rp example betrays a lack of IQ, or confirms stupidity, whichever way you prefer it put.

When you look at the national Budget, all expenses are in the millions.   Likewise for revenue.  Revenue does not come about by taxing a man his life savings.  It's only a few hundred or a few thousand dollars, depending on his income (Income Tax)  and spending (GST).  If you say...so little!  what for?  Might as well not tax anyone.  All the trouble setting up an IRAS in Novena, and only a few hundred bucks from Sally (17 years old, just finished Sec 4, and salary and spending are not that high) and even nothing from Muthu (a ceca from India who is digging roads for a monthly salary of $700)....sua lar, no point lar!

Eh! hang on! if you add it all up, the total revenue collected from all the people in Singapore is a lot.  

Then, you move on to the expenditure side of the Budget.  When you see a doctor at the polyclinic because something grew on your kkj, you get subsidies.  Yes, we do give healthcare subsidies to new citizens too...we don't discriminate just because you were born and grew up in Malaysia.

And the subsidy for your kkj treatment is also not in the tens of million but in your case, it might just run to a few hundred of dollars for a few more necessary follow-up treatment.

So, big number or small number....the fireworks should be seen in context.  As I said, if you look at the total amount spent, it seems like a lot. But the government also collects a lot of money in taxes from us....just because you (and in fact me too) will not be watching it, it does not mean that others think like us.  That's the beautiful thing about democracy.

You've just slapped your own face by acknowledging that taxes from everybody accumulates to a big value, meaning that all unnecessary expenditures will add up, despite each one only 'a few hundred thousands or a few millions'.

(29-12-2022, 10:55 AM)surfer Wrote:  What's there to see? They are burning up your hard earn money in the sky. All doom and gloom next year. I'd rather sleep through this waste of time and money.

That's the beautiful thing about democracy.  Just because you think it's gloom and doom, and you want to sleep does not mean other people think the same and want to do the same.  So peepur like you are really a minority and I say this based on the rather small membership count in sgtalk.

As most Singaporeans would agree, life is pretty good in Singapore, and there's no better time to be a Singaporean than now.  If only you see how life is in Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand and even China, the world's second biggest economy, you'd be grateful that you are in Singapore now, if not a Singaporean, and that you have PAP to look after you.  I go everywhere without wearing mask now.  I feel so safe, and I feel good that the leadership will continue to be in good hands under Lawrence Wong.

(29-12-2022, 03:14 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  You've just slapped your own face by acknowledging that taxes from everybody accumulates to a big value, meaning that all unnecessary expenditures will add up, despite each one only 'a few hundred thousands or a few millions'.

Name me a country where taxes add up to very little.

Even in the worst of times, Malaysia which you do know very well, being a jhk, collects a lot in taxes.

Expenditure on healthcare, education, defence...they are necessary.  Right.  But that does not mean that here in Singapore, it's all work and no play, especially when we can WELL afford to spend a little on fireworks.

You are just arguing for the sake of it, but if it is not that then you must be living a boring life, lacking in even a simple joy that life throws at us.  I may not watch the fireworks, but millions are waiting for it..

I have other plans for Countdown to usher in the New Year, and it will be something truly unforgettable.  As for you, I'd suggest you stay here on 31 December 2022 to keep lvlrsSTI company.  But if you think he is none of your business, well....if you prefer there's still time to plan a trip home in Malaysia for the Countdown...and watch the fireworks with your nephews and nieces in Kuala Lumpur.  Big Grin

(29-12-2022, 03:14 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  You've just slapped your own face by acknowledging that taxes from everybody accumulates to a big value, meaning that all unnecessary expenditures will add up, despite each one only 'a few hundred thousands or a few millions'.

Granted if you divide the cost of fireworks to the number of people here it is a small sum.......but then those monies can be better use to help those that are below the poverty line.... Clapping Gesti-109

(29-12-2022, 04:42 PM)Oyk Wrote:  That's the beautiful thing about democracy.  Just because you think it's gloom and doom, and you want to sleep does not mean other people think the same and want to do the same.  So peepur like you are really a minority and I say this based on the rather small membership count in sgtalk.

As most Singaporeans would agree, life is pretty good in Singapore, and there's no better time to be a Singaporean than now.  If only you see how life is in Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand and even China, the world's second biggest economy, you'd be grateful that you are in Singapore now, if not a Singaporean, and that you have PAP to look after you.  I go everywhere without wearing mask now.  I feel so safe, and I feel good that the leadership will continue to be in good hands under Lawrence Wong.
You have your way of thinking I have mine. The countries you’ve mentioned I’ve been to them all. I’ve even been to India, Brazil, Peru, Venezuela and gone to their slum areas. I feel safe. 
Here in this red dot I still put on a mask whenever I step out of my place.
The PAP doesn’t look after me. I look after myself. PERIOD.
LW looks after you ? Fat hope. I’ve written an email direct to him but it was replied by an underling. Till today my questions to him are still not answered.

(29-12-2022, 04:59 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Name me a country where taxes add up to very little.

Even in the worst of times, Malaysia which you do know very well, being a jhk, collects a lot in taxes.

Expenditure on healthcare, education, defence...they are necessary.  Right.  But that does not mean that here in Singapore, it's all work and no play, especially when we can WELL afford to spend a little on fireworks.

You are just arguing for the sake of it, but if it is not that then you must be living a boring life, lacking in even a simple joy that life throws at us.  I may not watch the fireworks, but millions are waiting for it..

I have other plans for Countdown to usher in the New Year, and it will be something truly unforgettable.  As for you, I'd suggest you stay here on 31 December 2022 to keep lvlrsSTI company.  But if you think he is none of your business, well....if you prefer there's still time to plan a trip home in Malaysia for the Countdown...and watch the fireworks with your nephews and nieces in Kuala Lumpur.  Big Grin

Seems like you dunno how to read. Never did I say that the taxes add up to very little. In fact, I said that they add up to a lot! That is why I said, small amounts accumulate! So when you said that fireworks constitute only a very small amount from each sinkie and so it doesn't matter is WRONG!

We have spent too much on unnecessary stuff. I would assume that you think that spending $880k on a bin centre is totally justifiable since it is only a small amount from each taxpayer.

Writing a lot does not mean you can confuse people you know.

(29-12-2022, 05:01 PM)debono Wrote:  Granted if you divide the cost of fireworks to the number of people here it is a small sum.......but then those monies can be better use to help those that are below the poverty line.... Clapping Gesti-109

I dun buy the argument of dividing each expense by the number of people here. This is the same argument one stupid MP put forward when he said that PM's salary is low since each citizen contributed less than $1.