Threads: 38,709

Likes Given: 67,668
Flaws and Limitations of CDC Vouchers
1.Limited Coverage and Redemption:
Not Universal Acceptance: Not all heartland shops and hawkers accept CDC vouchers. This can limit consumer choice and convenience, particularly in areas with low participation rates.
Technical Barriers: While the process is generally user-friendly, some seniors or individuals with limited digital literacy may face difficulties redeeming the vouchers, despite assistance efforts.
Perception of Hassle: Some vendors and customers may perceive the redemption process as slightly more cumbersome compared to cash transactions.
2. Potential for Inflationary Pressure:
Increased Demand, Limited Supply: The injection of voucher spending can temporarily increase demand for certain goods and services without a corresponding increase in supply, potentially leading to price increases in participating stores. Vendors might see the vouchers as a chance to temporarily raise prices.
Displacement Effects: If consumers simply substitute their existing spending with voucher spending, the vouchers may not generate a net increase in economic activity; instead, they may just shift spending from non-participating businesses to participating businesses.
3.Administrative Costs and Leakage:
Implementation and Distribution Costs: There are costs associated with printing, distributing, and managing the voucher scheme.
Potential for Fraud: Although measures are in place, there's always a risk of voucher misuse or fraudulent redemption, necessitating ongoing monitoring and enforcement.
4.Ineffectiveness in Addressing Underlying Economic Issues:
Temporary Relief: The vouchers provide short-term financial relief but do not address the underlying causes of cost-of-living pressures, such as income inequality or structural economic challenges.
Dependency and Moral Hazard: Over-reliance on government handouts can create dependency and reduce the incentive for individuals to take proactive steps to improve their financial situations.
5. Distortion of Market Signals:
Artificial Demand: The vouchers create artificial demand for specific goods and services at participating businesses. This might lead to inefficient resource allocation if businesses make investment decisions based on this temporary demand surge.
Discrimination Against Non-Participating Businesses: Businesses that choose not to participate in the voucher scheme may face a competitive disadvantage, even if they offer better products or services.
6.Fairness and Equity Concerns:
Equal Distribution, Unequal Benefits: While vouchers are distributed equally to all households, the benefits may not be equally distributed. For example, larger families may benefit more due to higher consumption needs.
Geographical Disparities: Households living in areas with fewer participating merchants may have fewer opportunities to use the vouchers.

Threads: 467

Likes Given: 1,150
TS is simply complaining CDC Vouchers cannot be used in JB.
You've got friendly neighbours? Grow Up! - 李光耀 2013

Threads: 701

Likes Given: 1,000
(19-02-2025, 10:42 AM)Manthink Wrote: TS is simply complaining CDC Vouchers cannot be used in JB. 
He wants JB massage to be able for CDC vouchers.

(19-02-2025, 10:46 AM)Niubee Wrote: He wants JB massage to be able for CDC vouchers.
As a M'sian, TS will never understand how CDC Vouchers for SGreans will eventually help businesses in JB.
After all, we know many Johorians now work in SG and earn SGD and pay SG Tax.
CDC Vouchers works like an economy simulus for consumers like SEZ has for Johor.

Didn't know some are mind reader here power sia

(19-02-2025, 11:12 AM)Manthink Wrote: As a M'sian, TS will never understand how CDC Vouchers for SGreans will eventually help businesses in JB.
After all, we know many Johorians now work in SG and earn SGD and pay SG Tax.
CDC Vouchers works like an economy simulus for consumers like SEZ has for Johor. 
Can please enlighten me thank

(19-02-2025, 11:18 AM)Bigiron Wrote: ![[Image: IMG-20250219-111656.jpg]](https://i.postimg.cc/CL4dNtyc/IMG-20250219-111656.jpg)
Can please enlighten me thank
As a M'sian,
Bigiron will never see the CDC Vouchers logo at any JB/Bolehland cashier....
This explains why
TS complains about the "Flaws and Limitations"
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 11:42 AM by
Manthink.)

(19-02-2025, 11:27 AM)Manthink Wrote: As a M'sian, Bigiron will never see the CDC Vouchers logo at any JB/Bolehland cashier....
This explains why TS complains about the "Flaws and Limitations" 
![[Image: image.jpg]](https://media.timeout.com/images/106232916/750/422/image.jpg)
Please enlighten me why Malaysia need to intro this ?
Are you say Malaysia can part of Sg ?
Or are saying it causes surge in inflation in Sg ?
If so thank for your enlighten
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 11:57 AM by
Bigiron.)

Threads: 2,765

Likes Given: 4,271
Give you free money also want to complain???
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 11:52 AM by
cityhantam.)

(19-02-2025, 11:51 AM)cityhantam Wrote: Give you free money also want to complain??? 
Free money from where ?
Where does this money from ?

Threads: 9

Likes Given: 1,329
My favourite watercress soup stall does not accept cdcv.
My favourite meehoonkuay stall will not pay back any changes, if I pay with a $10 voucher.
I am donating them to charity. 🙏

Remember it got expiry date if you don't use.

(19-02-2025, 11:49 AM)Bigiron Wrote: Please enlighten me why Malaysia need to intro this ?
Are you say Malaysia can part of Sg ?
Or are saying it causes inflation in Sg ?
If so thank for your enlighten
As a M'sian,
Bigiron is not happy SG's CDC Vouchers cannot be used in JB/Bolehland as it is not part of SG.
This explains why
TS list his complains from "discrimination" against non-participating businesses (aka businesses outside of SG) to location "disparities" like JB..
He also forget the inflation problem we experienced is related to USA's monetary policy that not only impact the Little Red Dot, but also affected rest of the World.
Quote:- Discrimination Against Non-Participating Businesses: Businesses that choose not to participate in the voucher scheme may face a competitive disadvantage, even if they offer better products or services.
- Geographical Disparities: Households living in areas with fewer participating merchants may have fewer opportunities to use the vouchers.
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 12:03 PM by
Manthink.)

(19-02-2025, 12:02 PM)Manthink Wrote: As a M'sian, Bigiron is not happy SG's CDC Vouchers cannot be used in JB/Bolehland as it is not part of SG.
This explains why TS list his complains from "discrimination" against non-participating businesses (aka businesses outside of SG) to location "disparities" like JB..
He also forget the inflation problem we experienced is related to USA's monetary policy that not only impact the Little Red Dot, but also affected rest of the World. ![[Image: biggrin.png]](https://sgtalk.net/images/smilies/biggrin.png)
You are a Malaysian? Isn't it?
So what is your long term suggestion? This is not complaining this is the fact .
Are you a scammer 😲?
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 12:10 PM by
Bigiron.)

(19-02-2025, 11:53 AM)Bigiron Wrote: Free money from where ? Where does this money from ?
True - where go such thing as "Free $" when SG already earned $ revenue by taxing both rich and and not so rich foreigners working and living in SG ?
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapo...tax-change

(19-02-2025, 12:09 PM)Manthink Wrote: True - where go such thing as "Free $" when SG already earned $ revenue by taxing both rich and and not so rich foreigners working and living in SG ? 
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapo...tax-change
Thank you ....for agreeing 😊
So are you a Malaysian?

(19-02-2025, 12:09 PM)Bigiron Wrote: You are a Malaysian? Isn't it? So what is your long term suggestion? This is not complaining this is the fact . Are you a scammer 😲?
I can understand why
TS likes to assume that I am a M'sian like him. But hor, too bad - I am just a humble average SGrean earning simple living in a country that is already well funded by over 300,000 M'sians working in SG and paying SG Tax,
Perhaps the real "scammer"
Bigiron should be talking to is his Gov in KL.
https://www.weekly-echo.com/taxing-malay...oorer-mps/

(19-02-2025, 11:51 AM)cityhantam Wrote: Give you free money also want to complain??? 
Some pple say SGreans love to complain. But I don't leh since CDC Voucher helps promote more businesses in SG and keep our $ within SG .

(19-02-2025, 11:53 AM)Bigiron Wrote: Free money from where ?
Where does this money from ?
Give you chicken wings you just take and enjoy lor!

(19-02-2025, 12:27 PM)cityhantam Wrote: Give you chicken wings you just take and enjoy lor! 
Agreed but will remember they will take back the whole chicken farm

(19-02-2025, 12:17 PM)Manthink Wrote: I can understand why TS likes to assume that I am a M'sian like him. But hor, too bad - I am just a humble average SGrean earning simple living in a country that is already well funded by over 300,000 M'sians working in SG and paying SG Tax,
Perhaps the real "scammer" Bigiron should be talking to is his Gov in KL.
https://www.weekly-echo.com/taxing-malay...oorer-mps/
Do you have evidence to back it up. Since you keep mentioning as a Malaysian... telling us you are Malaysian ain't it. Unless you are a scammer.
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 12:46 PM by
Bigiron.)

(19-02-2025, 12:20 PM)Manthink Wrote: Some pple say SGreans love to complain. But I don't leh since CDC Voucher helps promote more businesses in SG and keep our $ within SG . 
In what way CDC vouchers help to promote more businesses? Does it mean more businesses more price up raising and more cost needed?

Threads: 652

Likes Given: 5,763
Actually, PAP is running this country like Chinese Businessman
where items sold are always OVER- priced
so that it can fatten the Corp Revenue and taxes
At the end, using Over- paid items to give us some ikan bilis
Only 61% is FOEVER NAIVE
Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers?
(This post was last modified: 19-02-2025, 12:56 PM by
Ola.)
The following 1 user Likes Ola's post:1 user Likes Ola's post
• Bigiron

(19-02-2025, 12:36 PM)Bigiron Wrote: Agreed but will remember they will take back the whole chicken farm
Well, they own the whole chicken farm mah!

(19-02-2025, 02:02 PM)cityhantam Wrote: Well, they own the whole chicken farm mah! 
Power they own the whole chicken farm so mean this giving is like a 施舍 sinkies really poor thing

(19-02-2025, 02:53 PM)Bigiron Wrote: Power they own the whole chicken farm so mean this giving is like a 施舍 sinkies really poor thing
You don't want?
The give me lor!

(19-02-2025, 03:27 PM)cityhantam Wrote: You don't want?
The give me lor! 
Give you for what? It is my own money leh

(19-02-2025, 04:13 PM)Bigiron Wrote: Give you for what? It is my own money leh
Then just be happy and stop complaining lor!

Likes Given: 20
Go buy Ringgit from neighbourhood money changer with your CDC vouchers!

(19-02-2025, 05:40 PM)cityhantam Wrote: Then just be happy and stop complaining lor! 
Is that a compliant or bringing up for awareness and highlights the flaw and limitations.
What make thinking this is a compliant?