Forum: Do more to get retirees back in workforce

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...-workforce

One week work 3days.

easy what................reduce CPF payout...............increase GST and other indirect taxes..........these PAP-voting old farts will HAVE TO go back to work................LOL

if they no paked and still living they will be needed.
many paked now in danger. Once the switch makes contact they die.
meanwhile health no good as body feeds the GQDs genetic quantum dots. te Hydorgels

Some people just love to work ?
One leg already in the coffin still want to work?

If they are professionals, they should have heavy savings be it personal or their CPF.
So much money cannot finish spending nor bring along...work for what?

If not for money then volunteer to work for free....sure many employers will grab .

Why do people wanna enslave elderly? Collect more CPF, tax?

(14-12-2023, 12:01 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Why do people wanna enslave elderly? Collect more CPF, tax?

Tan Chuan-Jin claims that seniors love to work collecting discarded cardboard as a form of exercise, and not because they are in need of money.  LOL!

Got to face reality. When you are old, you are unwanted. All the hogwash about wanting to tap on their experience won't help if there are simply so many advantages hiring younger staff compared to older ones. Cheaper salary, less likelihood of ossification etc. The truth is, many old folks like to 倚老卖老, refusing to make changes but preferring status quo. With these people around things won't improve.

No point hiring these lau kok kok old folks. You hire them, everyday they take MC then how? Laughing

(14-12-2023, 11:43 AM)hansamu Wrote:  Some people just love to work ? One leg already in the coffin still want to work? If they are professionals, they should have heavy savings be it personal or their CPF. So much money cannot finish spending nor bring along...work for what? If not for money then volunteer to work for free....sure many employers will grab .

Most companies may see the displacement of mature workers as a necessary evil to provide opportunities, remove obstacles to gainful employment and help young adults to find gainful employment. The current shorter cycles between economic growth and downturn mean that employment opportunities are limited for fresh graduates with fewer white collar jobs opening up to replace those of retiring employees. To compound matters, more companies are blaming ongoing business restructuring and softer economic conditions as the main reasons for laying-off older workers. 

(14-12-2023, 12:28 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Got to face reality. When you are old, you are unwanted. All the hogwash about wanting to tap on their experience won't help if there are simply so many advantages hiring younger staff compared to older ones. Cheaper salary, less likelihood of ossification etc. The truth is, many old folks like to 倚老卖老, refusing to make changes but preferring status quo. With these people around things won't improve.

Even though there is a measure of inter-dependency between the young and old, both groups of workers do have competing interests. Most current white collar work is knowledge or technology based, so employees are theoretically able to continue their careers well into their sixties. However, most employers are reluctant to hire or even retain mature staff. Many seniors are prompted by caution to work longer to save for their retirement. However, in spite of changes to the Retirement and Re-employment Act, older workers are still not receiving the protection from discrimination by employers based on age rather than their ability. 

Under the law, employers still have the flexibility to transfer older staff to their subsidiaries or other companies, and may also terminate them with financial compensation, if the first two options are considered unfeasible. Discriminatory practices against older workers may even be seen by younger colleagues as necessary to resolve the growing problem of unemployment and underemployment among their cohort of degree holders. Junior employees with aspirations to climb the corporate ladder may see older co-workers as a hindrance to their ambitions. Young Singaporeans entering the workforce must be made aware of who contributed to their subsidised education through primary and secondary school, and enabled them to benefit from student loans in university.  Apart from their parents or grandparents, it was taxpayers - many of whom are nearing retirement age - who contributed to Government coffers to help make this possible.

(14-12-2023, 11:43 AM)hansamu Wrote:  Some people just love to work ?
One leg already in the coffin still want to work?

In hwz forum, they work to give inheritance to offspring to shiok. That is their motivation to work even when very old. I wish I am their offspring so can use their monies after they kick the bucket but if they live just too long then I need to plan alternatives.

Allow them to work part- time especially if they are not that old ie 60 or 65 years old in their old profession is fine.

(14-12-2023, 12:28 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Tan Chuan-Jin claims that seniors love to work collecting discarded cardboard as a form of exercise, and not because they are in need of money.  LOL!

Thats why he eat outside kenna find out still die die wanna eat and willing to lose his million dallors salary  Thinking

(14-12-2023, 01:30 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Thats why he eat outside kenna find out still die die wanna eat and willing to lose his million dallors salary  Thinking

The lady can feed him becuz she come from business family. If I am him I don't mind since got lady feed. Ppl say you eat soft rice is becuz they jealous as they want to eat cannot eat.

(14-12-2023, 01:41 PM)sgh Wrote:  The lady can feed him becuz she come from business family. If I am him I don't mind since got lady feed. Ppl say you eat soft rice is becuz they jealous as they want to eat cannot eat.

soft rice not easy to eat ... lots of hard work

sg is at a disgrace state now.

(14-12-2023, 01:44 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  soft rice not easy to eat ... lots of hard work

How you know? You eat before?

Work until die. Song Boh!

(14-12-2023, 01:52 PM)jus4lucky Wrote:  sg is at a disgrace state now.

Really gone case.

Can’t imagine if the LKK die in the workplace during working hour.

(14-12-2023, 01:30 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Thats why he eat outside kenna find out still die die wanna eat and willing to lose his million dallors salary  Thinking

Cheng Li Hui is definitely no "spring chicken". If he wanted to risk his entire political career, at least do it with a sweet young thing!  

(14-12-2023, 12:28 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Got to face reality. When you are old, you are unwanted. All the hogwash about wanting to tap on their experience won't help if there are simply so many advantages hiring younger staff compared to older ones. Cheaper salary, less likelihood of ossification etc. The truth is, many old folks like to 倚老卖老, refusing to make changes but preferring status quo. With these people around things won't improve.

The reason why our civil service is stagnant and slow to react is because these old timers have been there for too long. They are so comfortably ensconced in their positions that they know that they don't need to do much real work to get paid a decent salary. When LKY was helming the govt, at least he'll pressure them to keep working on solutions but not now. Our civil service seems to be working on auto-cruise mode now.

To improve, we need to "drain the swamp", as what Trump has said.

(14-12-2023, 02:23 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Cheng Li Hui is definitely no "spring chicken". If he wanted to risk his entire political career, at least do it with a sweet young thing!  

SYT no monies leh. ms cheng got monies. If choose SYT need to give monies for her to spend shiok shiok. If choose ms cheng is she give you monies to spend shiok shiok. So choose wisely. Story say finish.

(14-12-2023, 01:53 PM)sgh Wrote:  How you know? You eat before?

I tried but ... cannot tahan .... surrender  crying

(14-12-2023, 02:23 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Cheng Li Hui is definitely no "spring chicken". If he wanted to risk his entire political career, at least do it with a sweet young thing!  

He only see $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

(14-12-2023, 03:00 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  He only see $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Nothing wrong with that. Our govt politicians are paid handsomely if not they don't serve the public so of cuz $$$ is important and we must learn from them as most of them are scholars aka study book until very high level kind.

(14-12-2023, 03:04 PM)sgh Wrote:  Nothing wrong with that. Our govt politicians are paid handsomely if not they don't serve the public so of cuz $$$ is important and we must learn from them as most of them are scholars aka study book until very high level kind.

I don't see a shred of guilt drawing down taxpayers' money at such a rate.  Every Minister has a starting salary of at least $1 million annually while the PM draws more than $2.2 million per year. Such sums are enough to feed the average S'porean family for a lifetime.

(14-12-2023, 06:02 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I don't see a shred of guilt drawing down taxpayers' money at such a rate.  Every Minister has a starting salary of at least $1 million annually while the PM draws more than $2.2 million per year. Such sums are enough to feed the average S'porean family for a lifetime.

The 61% give them the mandate that it is perfectly ok to be rewarded for the hard work they put in. In fact I think they could be thinking the current pay may not even be enough due to inflation. So stay tuned for further updates. We get the govt we vote for (so guess did I vote them?)

Who are the 61% NAIVE?

PAP can easily just use age benchmark in the 4 categories to hire FTs

But instead! The Compass Framework only wants young FTs.

[Image: MOM-Compass-Framework-Criteria.png]