Forum: Recruitment of foreign doctors can be a double-edged sword -job competition

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...dged-sword

Will the selection of traineeship or fellowship posts be perfectly meritocratic, or will local graduates and returning Singaporeans who pursued overseas medical studies have priority in being selected for these posts over foreign junior doctors?

Will these foreign doctors be limited to working only in hospitals, or will they be allowed to be family physicians or general practitioners after full registration?

Like any other sector, bringing in foreign skilled workers can be a double-edged sword. It helps relieve workload, but it may also intensify competition for promotion and jobs.
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

Cham ah, more adnn who cannot speak local dialects, mandarin or malay language going to treat our old folks.

Miscommunication going to happen

Even Singaporean doctors also worry about to compete with foreign India doctors for jobs.

Singaporean engineering engineers and IT engineers have been competing with India engineers for jobs for more than 20 years.

Now, it is time for Singaporean doctors to worry about competing with India doctors for jobs.

(06-10-2022, 10:01 AM)forum456 Wrote:  Even Singaporean doctors also worry about to compete with foreign India doctors for jobs.

Singaporean engineering engineers and IT engineers have been competing with India engineers for jobs for more than 20 years.

Now, it is time for Singaporean doctors to worry about competing with India doctors for jobs.

How cum no competition on ministars job?

(06-10-2022, 10:05 AM)Stoki Wrote:  How cum no competition on ministars job?

because there is no competition from India on ministers' jobs, they can safely recruit engineers and doctors from India.

how are these "doctors" gonna understand the boomers...?
can they speak hokkien for starters?

dont double dumb dumb drouble
just open more slots to lower percentile students
if search for global percentile young people
then OF COURSE ours stand NO CHANCE!

Life is so tough can see a few 24 hours clinics around.

Good overseas' trained doctors who find stiff competition too stressful may not want to return. Local doctors may also consider migrating.

The quality of Ah neh doctor is questionable based on my son's experienced with one many years ago.
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

(06-10-2022, 09:56 AM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...dged-sword

Will the selection of traineeship or fellowship posts be perfectly meritocratic, or will local graduates and returning Singaporeans who pursued overseas medical studies have priority in being selected for these posts over foreign junior doctors?

Will these foreign doctors be limited to working only in hospitals, or will they be allowed to be family physicians or general practitioners after full registration?

Like any other sector, bringing in foreign skilled workers can be a double-edged sword. It helps relieve workload, but it may also intensify competition for promotion and jobs.

Foreign doctors should only see and treat foreign workers lah! Since they must have them lor!

Govt always give good jobs to FTs so that they can buy $1 million HDB and condo.

If it is a Ah neh doctor in polyclinic,
Can we request for a local doctor instead?

(06-10-2022, 01:21 PM)whylah Wrote:  If it is a Ah neh doctor in polyclinic,

as a subsidised patient, you cannot choose doctor.

you can choose doctor if you pay as a private patient

jiatlat liao.....they sure anyhow treat give you all sorts of medicine to kill your kidney and liver...

(06-10-2022, 01:21 PM)whylah Wrote:  If it is a Ah neh doctor in polyclinic,

I heard OYK said soon thy are rolling out personal doctor program where individual will be assigned one. If not happy can change. So make sure you are assigned a local Singaporean doctor. ... Rolleyes

(06-10-2022, 01:34 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I heard OYK said soon thy are rolling out personal doctor program where individual will be assigned one. If not happy can change. So make sure you are assigned a local Singaporean doctor. ... Rolleyes

you cannot choose doctor.
you can choose the clinic.
one day, the clinic can hire India doctor when your doctor leaves