Gan Siow Huang apologises over handshaking incident at Cantonese cultural festival

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/g...l-festival
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

I never bother to read so what?
[+] 2 users Like [[ForeverAlone]]'s post

After election true colour all
Out
[+] 1 user Likes Cmpunk's post

Shake hand must be first with the host mah , the junior ( karkiay) open the door one later nevermind lah.....you don't know meh....eg during NDP when president arrived; the one who opened the car door president also never shake hand first with him lah....

Apologise got use meh? I felt very disgusted to see the way she just ignored him. Obviously looking down on a person.     Rolleyes

[+] 4 users Like Huliwang's post

Army style lah. Remember there was one pappies mp candidate that chased those lower ranking officers out of the air-con room saying they were not supposed to be inside? Eventually, pappies last minute removed him and replaced with another candidate.

If this news is not reported, I am sure she will not apologise for her bad behaviour. So much for another Army General.

[Image: IMG-3086.jpg]
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

This is what you get from pap, after election. Laughing

(09-06-2025, 08:01 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  This is what you get from pap, after election. Laughing

Not on video, her bodyguard maybe quietly sprayed Dettol sanitizer spray after each handshake...hehehe

Recalling happened to Dr Tony Tan hesitated to shakehand with fish monger at wet market.

It also happened b4 with another PAP lady Senior MP too.

(08-06-2025, 10:50 PM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/g...l-festival

They were not trained or even taught to shake hands with commoners

Gan Siow Huang tio gan liao la

Elction time humble after that different

(09-06-2025, 11:10 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Elction time humble after that different

Snubbish : Belittle others 

It can also refer to a person who is arrogant, pretentious, and superior towards those they perceive as less important, resembling a snob.

Saw PAP's Supporter comments on this news

saying "this is not an issue"

You think PAP really bothers about this type of discrimination??

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

What is the point of keep apologising, is an easy word? Think before one do an action, knowingly it is wrong in doing something that is not right in the first place. Where hv the brain embedded? Shaking hands wil not kill. Do it with respects. Is the eyes, dog eyes? Does LW trained all these people to behave this way?

What's wrong? This also considered arrogant & disrespect with so many hands but 2 eyes?

See what Putin did to leaders of countries:

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/WlZ_qog1JQs

(09-06-2025, 08:01 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  This is what you get from pap, after election. Laughing

"狗眼看人低"

Well done Marymount citizens.

(08-06-2025, 11:15 PM)Cmpunk Wrote:  After election true colour all
Out
What is new

[+] 1 user Likes Rainforest's post

(09-06-2025, 05:24 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  Shake hand must be first with the host  mah , the junior ( karkiay) open the door one later nevermind lah.....you don't know meh....eg during NDP when president arrived; the one who opened the car door president also never shake hand first with him lah....

You have a point, I think you are right. Rotfl

(09-06-2025, 01:47 PM)Rainforest Wrote:  What is new

I need a good laugh...LOL. Rotfl
[Image: IMG-20250514-135939.jpg]

Gan should now act crying hard and say sorry.

Peepur will forgive her.

(09-06-2025, 09:39 AM)Scythian Wrote:  They were not trained or even taught to shake hands with commoners

"Not traind" maybe you do it for her lehh.

(09-06-2025, 05:24 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  Shake hand must be first with the host  mah , the junior ( karkiay) open the door one later nevermind lah.....you don't know meh....eg during NDP when president arrived; the one who opened the car door president also never shake hand first with him lah....

That old man is LKY man ahh. Old man is training young woman to learn to hand shake first ma!.

(09-06-2025, 03:09 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  "Not traind" maybe you do it for her lehh.

One that opening the door no need to shake hand one lehh. Rotfl

(09-06-2025, 02:55 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  You have a point, I think you are right. Rotfl

The Cantonese cultural festival was organised by Kwong Wai Siew Peck San Theng, a 155-year-old cultural institution managed by 16 Cantonese clan associations.

Ms Gan said it was her first visit to Peck San Theng, and she was overwhelmed by the group that went to greet her.

(09-06-2025, 03:06 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  I need a good laugh...LOL. Rotfl
[Image: IMG-20250514-135939.jpg]

“When I (refer to her) got out of the car, I was trying to identify the host of Peck San Theng and shake hands with the host first,” she said.

“I was also a little overwhelmed by the big group that received me when I got out of (her car) my car. I sincerely apologise to the (old man) man in the red shirt for the delay (the right way) in shaking hands with him.”

[Image: Screenshot-2025-05-20-17-02-17-33-99c048...3b3817.jpg]
The video has been making the rounds on social media, with one post on TikTok garnering more than 185,000 views just a day after it was posted on June 7.

Many netizens had commented that they felt Ms Gan’s actions were arrogant and disrespectful. (Then that when time can can try with the Singapore President.  Clapping Rotfl Gesti-109  

Ms Gan said she was thankful for the invite to the festival and the warm welcome, and that she has requested the organiser to convey her apologies to the man in the red shirt as she is currently overseas.

Look very insincere if not expose by social media.

(08-06-2025, 10:50 PM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/g...l-festival

Here are some key criticisms of Ms Gan Siow Huang’s explanation around the handshake incident:

---

1. Poor optics despite plausible reasons

She claimed she was looking for the official host and managing her phone—both are plausible—but observers note she did eventually shake others’ hands, including people similarly dressed. That contrast makes her explanation seem selective rather than consistent.

---

2. Selective acknowledgement feels elitist

On r/singapore, many felt her behaviour betrayed elitism:

> “Judging others based on their physical appearance is definitely a new low”
“If an MP treats a common person with such disdain… how can people trust they have the people’s best interests at heart?”  

Even though the man may have been part of the welcoming party, her failure to acknowledge him while greeting others stuck out.

---

3. Security vs courtesy – the excuse falls flat

Some defended her hesitation on safety grounds. But critics pointed out that this man helped to close her car door—implying he was not a threat but likely coordinated. One Redditor highlighted:

> “It’s probably… too noisy…and so many ppl to shake hands with she just missed out one… although she did shake his hand eventually and acknowledged him at the start and at the end.”  

This suggests her security-based explanation may be overstated.

---

4. Inconsistency with past political standards

Singapore has seen politicians lose support for perceived disrespectful gestures—like Seet Ai Mee’s handshake + hand-washing at a wet market. Today’s public is more forgiving—but that pattern sets expectations. Her explanation doesn’t address the broader context of politician behaviour under scrutiny.

---

🧭 Final Takeaway

While Ms Gan’s apology and explanation aren’t implausible, critics point out big cracks:

Optical difference between this handshake and others,

Elitist vibes from ignoring someone after public duty to greet,

Unconvincing safety excuse, given the context.

So the flaw lies not just in what she said—but in how that explanation contradicts the actual optics and public expectations of an MP.

I do not shake hand with the door boys who open my car door for me at hotels. They never think I am snubbish ever.