Giant will shut its Toa Payoh supermarket on Sept 15, its 9th closure

Giant will shut its Toa Payoh supermarket on Sept 15, its 9th closure in Singapore this year.

This comes as the supermarket chain's footprint in the region shrinks amid stiff competition. https://str.sg/CGke

Local should support Giant and not let NTUC and SS cornered the market.

[+] 2 users Like Niubee's post

that place used to be NTUC

now return back

Actually hope Seng Song take over. Who knows kns NTUC again or another F&B outlet....zzzz

(05-09-2024, 10:40 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  that place used to be NTUC

now return back

U long time no go toa payoh, mixed up liao. The old NTUC is still there, all the way behind, opp Courts. Giant has always been situated next to TP library. In fact Giant owns its premise. Kopi shop oredy cost 40 mill, Giant iz planning to sell dat space for 16 mill which iz a steal. Great location for a new entry foreign supermkt.  If got discount stores like ALdi or Walmart take over, no end biznes.

(05-09-2024, 11:22 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  U long time no go toa payoh, mixed up liao. The old NTUC is still there, all the way behind, opp Courts. Giant has always been situated next to TP library. In fact Giant owns its premise. Kopi shop oredy cost 40 mill, Giant iz planning to sell dat space for 16 mill which iz a steal. Great location for a new entry foreign supermkt.  If got discount stores like ALdi or Walmart take over, no end biznes.

ohhh
this one near library
must return back tp emporium

(05-09-2024, 11:32 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  ohhh
this one near library
must return back tp emporium

Laughing Good ol emporium, Kimisawa, Yaohan days. Travel too far in the past liao. B4 Giant was Shop n Save.

(05-09-2024, 09:35 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Local should support Giant and not let NTUC and SS cornered the market.

You don't cum and talk cock lah chao cheebye fucker.
You think i dunno you only support China 思家客 mart!???  Rolleyes

(05-09-2024, 11:22 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  U long time no go toa payoh, mixed up liao. The old NTUC is still there, all the way behind, opp Courts. Giant has always been situated next to TP library. In fact Giant owns its premise. Kopi shop oredy cost 40 mill, Giant iz planning to sell dat space for 16 mill which iz a steal. Great location for a new entry foreign supermkt.  If got discount stores like ALdi or Walmart take over, no end biznes.

I remember before Gaint supermarket is a Halal food court. They have other branches around SG. Later close down. Is selling Chinese foods but is Halal. Than Giant supermarket take over.

Even Giant also collapse and close shop..

Jiat lat liao,, US jobless also increase, bad time ahead.

more big name gg to announce job cut later ..

In the first place, Giant shouldn't be in Singapore, no depths.

Extremely difficult to entertain poor millionaires and complain king

Recalling few Japanese and French came and left badly beaten.

Smart American Walmart doesn't blink an eye

Probably Giant recorded highest sale only in Instant noodles..

Everyone eats 3X a day at home

(06-09-2024, 12:06 AM)Jericho75 Wrote:  You don't cum and talk cock lah chao cheebye fucker.

Where ?

(06-09-2024, 07:46 AM)Niubee Wrote:  Where ?

Confirm U not sinkie. Gotcha  Cool

(06-09-2024, 12:06 AM)Jericho75 Wrote:  You don't cum and talk cock lah chao cheebye fucker.

This 死家个 store stuff all trying to pack like Japanese standard colorful wrapper etc but their quality really lousy and full of cancerous sugars and chemicals and illegal substance..my many china collegues all eat liao whole family a bit siao siao one like Omnipresemt like that..
[+] 1 user Likes Sharexchange's post

(06-09-2024, 12:33 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I remember before Gaint supermarket is a Halal food court. They have other branches around SG. Later close down. Is selling Chinese foods but is Halal. Than Giant supermarket take over.

If no remember wrongly, b4 Giant was Shop n Save. Got 1 foodcourt but iz next to Giant. Must ask those living in TP what was the original layout. Last time got Cinema or not....

(06-09-2024, 04:53 AM)Scythian Wrote:  .
Recalling few Japanese and French came and left badly beaten.

Smart American Walmart doesn't blink an eye

Carrefour was doing great @ Vivo until they open a second branch @ Plaza Singapura and cannibalize itself. Japanese supermarket lost out becos of their high prices. Sinpwnean ony loyal to discounts eg Daiso, Don Donki. Itz Ok if location iz not in town as long as iz accessible and prices are low. Dis Giant premise is ideal location.

It's impossible to beat pap's NTUC, Fairprice and SS and those wet markets.

(05-09-2024, 09:35 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Local should support Giant and not let NTUC and SS cornered the market.

Are you sure about that? Giant is owned by Cold Storage, which is Malaysian.

(06-09-2024, 09:21 AM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  If no remember wrongly, b4 Giant was Shop n Save. Got 1 foodcourt but iz next to Giant. Must ask those living in TP what was the original layout. Last time got Cinema or not....

Upstairs is old skool Teochew restaurant. Very popular even now.

(06-09-2024, 12:33 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I remember before Gaint supermarket is a Halal food court. They have other branches around SG. Later close down. Is selling Chinese foods but is Halal. Than Giant supermarket take over.

That is because there is another halal food court located nearer the HDB hub and bus MRT interchange lah!

Fork and Spoon!

(05-09-2024, 10:40 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  that place used to be NTUC

now return back

Hello.. ntuc is on the other side of the open air carpark lah!

(06-09-2024, 10:31 AM)goodboy Wrote:  Are you sure about that? Giant is owned by Cold Storage, which is Malaysian.

The less retailers, the More price fixing

(06-09-2024, 09:21 AM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  If no remember wrongly, b4 Giant was Shop n Save. Got 1 foodcourt but iz next to Giant. Must ask those living in TP what was the original layout. Last time got Cinema or not....

Smile I stay at TPY ever since I was born. Partly that time I still a boi boi hard to recall , I think you are right before that halal food court is shop n save . Yea that building got cinema which now where McD and bank of China is located.

(06-09-2024, 11:22 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile I stay at TPY ever since I was born. Partly that time I still a boi boi hard to recall , I think you are right before that halal food court is shop n save . Yea that building got cinema which now where McD and bank of China is located.

Last time I went there to buy pirated PS 1 games 😁

Giant all close down in Muddysia liow .... also Giant quality no that great

(06-09-2024, 10:31 AM)goodboy Wrote:  Are you sure about that? Giant is owned by Cold Storage, which is Malaysian.

no cs is owned by jardine grp not malaysian
jardine are british

(06-09-2024, 02:15 PM)talky Wrote:  no cs is owned by jardine grp not malaysian
jardine are british

Oh…. You’re right… the opium importers