Good money' at first, then 'a bit stagnant': Food delivery riders square

It’s “good money” at first, but then gets “a bit stagnant”: Food delivery riders are squaring up to realities as they eye a better gig. 

We followed two riders on the job:

https://cna.asia/40DhDZn

but newspaper got reported some earning $6K per month.

(26-03-2023, 11:41 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  but newspaper got reported some earning $6K per month.

Same like PHV it is not everyone it is some ppl really can get that amount. They got tier system and some platform algorithm that determines who get the order etc.

many live hood depend on grab, food panda etc

No future jobs for the young. Zero transferable skills

(26-03-2023, 11:41 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  but newspaper got reported some earning $6K per month.

that included illegal drug delivery

drug also food

I feel is like " wasting your time, money " ..... sad is We are so call " Highly educated society whereby near to 100 percent of the people here now a days will have the chance to study study till degree or even masters.

Govt do give support to those really really dam poor family with kids to ensure they received education.

BUT in reality is really ' mis match "

whereby ?? better jobs are been taken by so call " talents " aka CECA and other countries.

EPIC locals doing delivery , PHV which don't even need to study much IF You want to work as one.

Well Spore if want can go back to do those blue collar jobs our forefathers did last time. Plumber, electrician, technician, mechanic etc. Those are jobs we sinkies do and not so many foreigner fight. Then MIW decide we need to upgrade do atas job so those jobs still need to do how? Import lor and that is why we see so many foreigners do. Now we supposed to blow air con do atas job later also got foreigner come in fight for this rice bowl so we are dead attacked from all fronts!

(26-03-2023, 03:07 PM)sgh Wrote:  Well Spore if want can go back to do those blue collar jobs our forefathers did last time. Plumber, electrician, technician, mechanic etc. Those are jobs we sinkies do and not so many foreigner fight. Then MIW decide we need to upgrade do atas job so those jobs still need to do how? Import lor and that is why we see so many foreigners do. Now we supposed to blow air con do atas job later also got foreigner come in fight for this rice bowl so we are dead attacked from all fronts!

Even blue collar jobs like, plumbers, electricians, technicians and mechanics are now taken over by foreigners......................... Big Grin

(26-03-2023, 03:12 PM)debono Wrote:  Even blue collar jobs like, plumbers, electricians, technicians and mechanics are now taken over by foreigners......................... Big Grin

Not really NOW. Been that way for decades I was told. When I did my renovation more than 10 years ago, most of the guys who work on it are Malaysians. The plumber, floor shiner, the doors/windows guy etc. Not sure about the electrician. The tiler for the kitchen wall tiles is PRC.

then another Malay guy can afford (2nd hand) Nissan GTR some more........... Rotfl

(26-03-2023, 03:12 PM)debono Wrote:  Even blue collar jobs like, plumbers, electricians, technicians and mechanics are now taken over by foreigners......................... Big Grin

What I am saying is those jobs are done by locals way before MIW decide to open the flood gates let all ppl come in. Nowadays very few locals do as we are educated in schools to do atas job aka blow air con open mouth ask ppl do work kind. And then got free time write tons and tons of reports to superior and the pay is high! That is until such cushy jobs foreigners also fight for this role so we do what then ?

(26-03-2023, 03:16 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  then another Malay guy can afford (2nd hand) Nissan GTR some more........... Rotfl

I there are some  who can hit $6K per month, but they are few and far between.  Only those who are willing to put in 10 to 16 hours per day may earn that much........... Big Grin

You dont know they export Young Sg Talents to the world and import massive Foreign Talents into Sg meh. Rotfl

(26-03-2023, 11:34 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  It’s “good money” at first, but then gets “a bit stagnant”: Food delivery riders are squaring up to realities as they eye a better gig. 

We followed two riders on the job:

https://cna.asia/40DhDZn

Stop reading at " Seven in 10 respondents earned less than S$3,000 a month, and more than one in three would leave for a job that pays them at least that amount. "

then how come this Muud claims he can easily earn $6500 per month. Why muuds also like to Big Cannon Fairy?

'Maybe our salary more than yours': Delivery rider flexes his $6,500 earnings, rants about being looked down on
https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/maybe-our-salary-more-yours-delivery-rider-flexes-his-6500-earnings-rants-about-being

(26-03-2023, 08:58 PM)lioncityftw Wrote:  Stop reading at " Seven in 10 respondents earned less than S$3,000 a month, and more than one in three would leave for a job that pays them at least that amount. "

then how come this Muud claims he can easily earn $6500 per month. Why muuds also like to Big Cannon Fairy?

'Maybe our salary more than yours': Delivery rider flexes his $6,500 earnings, rants about being looked down on
https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/maybe-our-salary-more-yours-delivery-rider-flexes-his-6500-earnings-rants-about-being

I see a lot of Tiongs doing this these days.

Looking forward to seeing your excuses for Tiongs.

祖国加油!

Not fixed order everyday nothing to flexed.this may be the only highest month.less ppl order grab liao

https://youtu.be/AT9kAx8gstg