Threads: 859

Likes Given: 598
(24-11-2024, 09:33 PM)SgWinner Wrote: the increase of GST from 7% to 9% is one of the main cost of inflation
Every time with the 1% GST increase, almost all the food hawkers up their food price by 12% to 15%
Example $3.50 increase to $4 - abt 14%
$4 increase to $4.50 - abt 12.5%
Sad :-(
Yes, the govt is flushed with cash yet they went ahead to increase gst. Behind the glitter, the account book must not be looking good, just that none of us will have a chance to look at it.
If in this coming election the oppie still couldn't get more seats I think no chance liao. Sinkies brought it upon themselves to have high cost of living.

Threads: 45

Likes Given: 1,279
Why is the upcoming new PaP still refusing to admit their huge repeated mistake on the GST and the imports of free flow CECA?

Threads: 284

Likes Given: 8
Besides criticising the government's policies, ensuring the Government is on its toes, and governing the constituencies in their wards, please name some other contributions that the opposition has made to the people of Singapore.
Omi.. Thank you for bumping up the message.

Threads: 10

Likes Given: 1,373
(24-11-2024, 02:34 PM)Bigiron Wrote: The article, published on November 24, 2024, in The Straits Times, presents Prime Minister Lawrence Wong's speech at the PAP's biennial party conference. While the speech focuses on the government's efforts to address the cost of living concerns, it also contains certain inconsistencies, ambiguities, and contradictions that warrant further analysis.
1. Contradiction in PM Wong's Stance on Opposition's Role:
- Statement 1: "Opposition parties have tried to exploit this issue to turn sentiments against the PAP, even though they themselves do not have good solutions."
- Statement 2: "We hope Singaporeans understand that these are global inflation trends. They impact all countries."
These statements seem contradictory. While accusing the opposition of exploiting the issue for political gain, PM Wong also acknowledges the global nature of inflation, suggesting that the issue is beyond the control of any single party. This ambiguity leaves the reader questioning whether he truly believes the opposition lacks solutions or if he is simply deflecting criticism by emphasizing the global context.
2. Ambiguity Regarding the Government's Efforts to Help:
- Statement: "The Government has rolled out major packages over the last few years, with more help on the way in the coming months, such as another tranche of CDC vouchers in January 2025."
While PM Wong mentions the government's efforts, he doesn't provide specific details about these packages or how they directly address the concerns of those struggling with the rising cost of living. This ambiguity leaves the reader wondering what concrete measures are being taken and whether they are sufficient to alleviate the burden on affected individuals.
3. Inconsistency in the PAP's Approach to Social Compact:
- Statement 1: "We are tackling the next challenge of our generation – to renew our social compact, refresh our Singapore Dream, and to give every Singaporean the assurance and hope that tomorrow will be better than today."
- Statement 2: "The PAP-NTUC link is strong and vital. We share your conviction that every worker matters, and we will continue to advance the well-being of all workers in Singapore."
These statements seem inconsistent. While emphasizing the need to "renew our social compact," PM Wong also highlights the strong partnership between the PAP and NTUC, suggesting a continuation of the existing system. This leaves the reader questioning how the PAP intends to achieve a "renewed" social compact while maintaining the existing structure and partnerships.
4. Unclear Strategy for Addressing Cost of Living Concerns:
- Statement: "I am now preparing for Budget 2025, because I’m still the Finance Minister, remember. I will see how we can continue to provide additional support in the Budget."
This statement highlights PM Wong's commitment to addressing the issue in the upcoming budget. However, the article lacks a clear strategy or plan for how the budget will specifically address the cost of living concerns. It leaves the reader wondering what concrete measures will be implemented and how they will differ from previous efforts.
Excellent analysis.

Threads: 157

Likes Given: 43
(25-11-2024, 08:50 AM)teaserteam Wrote: Besides criticising the government's policies, ensuring the Government is on its toes, and governing the constituencies in their wards, please name some other contributions that the opposition has made to the people of Singapore.
The Opposition has a crucial role in a democratic system by acting as a check and balance on the ruling govt. The Opposition scrutinises the govt's policies, decisions and actions by asking tough questions and demanding accountability. They must investigate and expose any corruption, inefficiency or misconduct within the govt. The Opposition keeps a close watch on govt spending to ensure funds are used appropriately and efficiently. They provide alternative viewpoints and policy proposals to the govt's plans. Remember how "ownself check ownself" has contributed to the hardship of S'poreans.
(This post was last modified: 26-11-2024, 07:16 AM by
EvertonDiehard.)

Threads: 40,292

Likes Given: 68,769

Threads: 157

Likes Given: 43
Goh Chok Tong once claimed that the PAP is fully capable of being their own check and balance, which is a lie. The Party Whip will ensure that whatever reservations that any MP has about a policy will be pushed aside once it comes down to voting for it in Parliament.

Threads: 40,292

Likes Given: 68,769
(25-11-2024, 08:27 PM)Bigiron Wrote: ![[Image: IMG-20241125-195323-466.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/VYhGLTV/IMG-20241125-195323-466.jpg)
![[Image: IMG-20241125-195333-351.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/9tpSdGh/IMG-20241125-195333-351.jpg)
Christian....hor

Threads: 705

Likes Given: 5,953
(24-11-2024, 09:33 PM)SgWinner Wrote: the increase of GST from 7% to 9% is one of the main cost of inflation
Every time with the 1% GST increase, almost all the food hawkers up their food price by 12% to 15%
Example $3.50 increase to $4 - abt 14%
$4 increase to $4.50 - abt 12.5%
Sad :-(
Family of 3 living in HDB flat already can donate $32 to $40 GST each mth
( Food, clothes, PUB bills, medical . . . ) that is around $450 per year
and CDC voucher is not sufficient to cover
Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 7,833
In actual fact, it is not exploitations on Oppositions part. But, it is the root and creations of the Govt own self makings that cause our country inflations to spiral out of controls. The lacks foresights and expertise in handlings our country many policies. It is a total mismanagements on their part to be blamed.

Threads: 3

Likes Given: 12
PAP is acting like a cb landlord who increased your rent to 30% then give you a $10 monthly discount and still expect you to thank him

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 7,833
(26-11-2024, 11:09 AM)RolexPanda Wrote: PAP is acting like a cb landlord who increased your rent to 30% then give you a $10 monthly discount and still expect you to thank him
Increasing GST is one good example.

Threads: 76

Likes Given: 264
(26-11-2024, 12:06 PM)Gemstar Wrote: Increasing GST is one good example.
Good, Bad or Ugly, let all of us see later.

Threads: 1

Likes Given: 3
I alway think over why every policy that implemented will cause price increased, but not one cause price decrease? I am wondering?
The following 1 user Likes Ken's post:1 user Likes Ken's post
• Gemstar

Threads: 45

Likes Given: 1,279
(24-11-2024, 04:56 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: They keep inflating then we can work until die lah…
Song Boh!
I guess that was what he meant by “Doing his Best” to increase every conceivable item under the 7 Ministries and hoping Opposition to helping them with adding the long list to increase more items.

Threads: 705

Likes Given: 5,953
越帮 越糟 越烦
Instead of solving problems, PAP create more problems.
Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers