HDB will review policies for coffee shop food affordability if necessary

Anjali Raguraman
Consumer Correspondent
PUBLISHED 10 HOURS AGO

SINGAPORE - The Housing Board regularly monitors the resale market for HDB coffee shop transactions, as well as the prices of food, and "will not hesitate to review its policies to address affordability concerns", said National Development Minister Desmond Lee.

Mr Lee said that there are currently more than 770 HDB coffee shops, of which 400 were sold by the statutory board in the 1990s to "encourage private-sector ownership in running these coffee shops".

HDB stopped selling coffee shops in 1998.

While the Tampines and Yishun coffee shops that were sold for record prices were privately owned, such transactions are a minority, Mr Lee said.

He added that 70 per cent of resale transactions of sold coffee shops since 2010 were below $10 million, with an average of 15 transactions yearly since 2010.

Many more details at: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/c...esmond-lee

Waiting for fire to burn then take action to save the people affected?

With such a mathematically challenged Minister, I really think we are in deep toruble

First, we measure by $/sf and not by selling price, dumbass weasel

Second, it is clear that the three latest sold price based on $/sf is obviously higher than previous years, but why? The property price should be dropping and cost of living skyrocketing, yet this clown is adopting a wait and see attitude, when there is already indication that the stall rental has been largely doubled after the takeover at such high price

Third, there is no reason to privatize the HDB shops for coffeeshops, as food is a fundamental necessity and govt must ensure the food prices do not keep going up when the economy is not doing well, especially we have Covid and PAP has not been working these few years, all hiding at home, just taking obscene pay

Shame on you, PAP and Desmond dumbass weasel

If I am the head, I will straight away stop all the sales and ask for the investigation why on earth HDB can get loan for so much money? Where is the security? HDB coffeeshop must not be a playing field like the private property. This is amenities serving all residents with insight that the the lower income is affordable. If the lower income is affordable, you dun need to worry for the middle income and above.We cant allow one company to destroy all ppl most important providence to their daily needs .This common sense.Dun need to wait and see.
[+] 1 user Likes Ernesto's post

War already over…. Rotfl

HDB shd buy back the coffeeshop otherwise grievances will only keep rising. Some dafts will jump ship in next GE. Cannot tahan their slow action.

Got anybody check this bugger(seller)bought at what price and when he bought the coffeeshop? The selling price is ridiculous.
不怕遭雷劈!

(06-07-2022, 10:39 AM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  Waiting for fire to burn then take action to save the people affected?

Indeed now eye power only

Aiyah only TCSS lah. In the end it will be no case and lets move on.

[+] 1 user Likes Gstalk's post

If ppl still stiff necked embracing these elected ppl No one can help you when you become helpless
Why we are paying high salary to the management to destroy our own life?
It doesn't make sense.
[+] 3 users Like Ernesto's post

Why I dun accept NTUC bought over Kopitiam company for more than $400 milions. This money can be better use on meeting common folks need than helping these minority shareholders overnight richer!
Is this he called he make these seller become smarter ?
[+] 1 user Likes Ernesto's post

Instead of reviewing whether coffee drinks owner have act in collusion to up all coffee drink price They go and review Property price?? Knabuccbai.

(06-07-2022, 11:53 AM)Ernesto Wrote:  If I am the head, I will straight away stop all the sales and ask for the investigation why on earth HDB can get loan for so much money? Where is the security? HDB coffeeshop must not be a playing field like the private property. This is amenities serving all residents with insight that the the lower income is affordable. If the lower income is affordable, you dun need to worry for the middle income and above.We cant allow one company to destroy all ppl most important providence to their daily needs .This common sense.Dun need to wait and see.

Desmond now makes it Tan SL's responsibility

to make sure citizens salary increase by 2 Folds

in these 2 years before GE

Or else Tan SL will be fired

(06-07-2022, 01:05 PM)Ola Wrote:  Desmond now makes it Tan SL's responsibility

to make sure citizens salary increase by 2 Folds

in these 2 years before GE

Or else Tan SL will be fired

You sure boh?
I come to know he doesn't deserve to be in the in the parliament .
Who is making profit? Seller or buyer?
Seller cash out ,going to enjoy this sudden wealth. Buyer pay extreme price ,what kind service he can improve?Just 2 buyer and seller already can create havoc to all residents living here. Is this justified?
Just like property prices , can they control the stability ? If they are not doing anything good for the majority, then he doesn't deserve to take the pay from the taxpayers fund

(06-07-2022, 02:28 PM)Ernesto Wrote:  You sure boh?
I come to know he doesn't deserve to be in the in the parliament .
Who is making profit? Seller or buyer?
Seller cash out ,going to enjoy this sudden wealth. Buyer pay extreme price ,what kind service he can improve?Just 2 buyer and seller already can create havoc to all residents living here. Is this justified?
Just like property prices , can they control the stability ? If they are not doing anything good for the majority, then he doesn't deserve to take the pay from the taxpayers fund

Money laundery in process

many news overseas reported

that they buy properties ie houses or commercial units

to collect high rent

HDB kopi tiam is to serve heartlanders with affordable food because the rent is lower. But now HDB let it become free play for the market, for sure businesses with exploit it to the fullest. Do you think the food will be affordable. 

They guy that bought the 41m kopi tiam, for sure uses bank loan and want to get good returns. You think the rent will be low?

Devil Lee know NUTS …. no one day in pte sector … Tampenis residents ….. good luck

[+] 2 users Like Tangsen's post

(06-07-2022, 03:48 PM)Ola Wrote:  Money laundery in process

many news overseas reported

that they buy properties ie houses or commercial units

to collect high rent

No one are investigating the deal? There is possibility if you can get the loan approved ,money share among  ourselves. Where on earth have genuine  or sober businessman will buy a property when you know legally the value will be reduced to zero?How bank can ensure  the secure return knowing well the property will becoming zero value when the times up?
What is the authority doing ? 
This is the public amenities serving the public basic daily interest and needs!

(06-07-2022, 12:06 PM)Ernesto Wrote:  Why I dun accept NTUC bought over Kopitiam company for more than $400 milions. This money can be better use on meeting common folks need  than helping these minority shareholders overnight richer!
Is this he called he make these seller become smarter ?

BUT THE BUYING PRICE WAS NEVER DISCLOSED
400M OR 100M?

(06-07-2022, 05:15 PM)talky Wrote:  BUT THE BUYING PRICE WAS NEVER DISCLOSED
400M OR 100M?
Seriously now all the info didn't mention the price. Too sensitive to publish liao. In the past it was published. Now its all gone .
You can use Kimly value of $300mi as a guide. Kopitiam should be more ex than Kimly

(06-07-2022, 05:37 PM)Ernesto Wrote:  Seriously now all the info didn't mention the price. Too sensitive to publish liao. In the past it was published. Now its all gone .
You can use Kimly value of $300mi as a guide. Kopitiam should be more ex than Kimly

pap always boasted to be above board 
sensetive or not still need to let the public n shareholders know
ntuc is not a a sole proprietorship company 

NO TRANSPARENCY
if siclosed means others laugh at the stupid buyers or people may ask why can buy so cheap ?

HDB should immediately do some actions. These are basic human survival needs.

I find the whole Govt like splitting apart into pieces. We have MP Low Yen Ling who foolishly set up a dumb Anti- Profiteering Committee and the other MP driving Profiteering Agenda.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/gs...on-1848251
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

ASIAN CURRENCIES TUMBLE with others around the world
Present projection Format not viable.

(06-07-2022, 05:47 PM)theold Wrote:  HDB should immediately do some actions. These are basic human survival needs.

"Eventually, all public HDB coffee shops be nationalised and largely owned by NTuC just like fair price supermarkets ..

A Communist system

(07-07-2022, 01:59 AM)Scythian Wrote:  "Eventually, all public HDB coffee shops be nationalised and largely owned by NTuC just like fair price supermarkets ..

A Communist system

Isnt that better, then NTUC can control the pricing of food, better than private entity which are for profiteering..

(07-07-2022, 04:48 AM)victortan Wrote:  Isnt that better, then NTUC can control the pricing of food, better than private entity which are for profiteering..

A new hawker centre will be opened at Fernvale area don't how are their pricing some said will be very high because it is new!!....

This forum cooled down today no kpkb on coffee shop food liow....?

(07-07-2022, 01:59 AM)Scythian Wrote:  "Eventually, all public HDB coffee shops be nationalised and largely owned by NTuC just like fair price supermarkets ..

A Communist system

PAP cannot handle, failed to manage

Look how Modern China  can do much better

although they are 200 times bigger

Shoot Blank Queen can only be chak-hai-zai