Here is why car needs 3 pieces and motorbike needs 1 piece for ERP 2.0

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...board-unit

The explanation given by LTA is not very convincing.

Quote:LTA said the three-piece design – consisting of an antenna, processing unit and a touchscreen display – is needed to cope with the heat in the vehicle’s cabin and keep the processing unit away from the dashboard. This arrangement also allows the flexibility to replace individual parts if issues come up later on.

The single-piece OBU for motorcycles is built for outdoor conditions, LTA said. It cannot be used on the dashboard inside a vehicle, as it will not be able to get rid of the heat efficiently enough to maintain the OBU’s reliability.

Are they saying that a handphone (if used in place of this OBU), which has multiple antennas, a very powerful processing unit and a touchscreen cannot cope with the heat if we put it on the dashboard? Then what is happening to all the handphones that are being used in PHV?

manufacturer of equipment and installer huat already big big.
1m vehicle 3m devices. and ave 10% turn over. plus inbetween accident units. plus some spoilt etc.
so big amount of money shift hand ah.

i think this device not so simple, It may be use to charge for usage, the more u use yr vechicle the more u pay.

remember phone bill too was ifx, then later change to the more u use the more uare charge,

this manner they make more money.

(26-10-2023, 12:24 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  The explanation given by LTA is not very convincing.

Are they saying that a handphone (if used in place of this OBU), which has multiple antennas, a very powerful processing unit and a touchscreen cannot cope with the heat if we put it on the dashboard? Then what is happening to all the handphones that are being used in PHV?

Inside the car got air con leh.

Can dun ibstall or not? Too ugly

One word: speechless

Nice titties Big Grin

contractors huat.