How Huawei’s chipmaker turned US sanctions into a 🇨🇳 China success story
Cool 

China's Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corp (SMIC) has emerged as Beijing’s secret weapon in breaking through a US-organised blockade aimed at containing China’s technological progress, despite years of American sanctions. Its success in delivering an advanced, 7-nanometer processor to Huawei set off jubilant celebration at home, and triggered partisan finger-pointing in Washington over the apparent failure.

"SMIC should be able to advance to more powerful 5-nm chips with the ASML machines it already operates" said Lin, who championed lithography technology at TSMC. Fuller and other experts agree.

“The genie is out of the bottle,” said Jan-Peter Kleinhaus, director of technology and geopolitics at the German think-tank Stiftung Neue Verantwortung e.V.

“This marks a milestone in China’s semiconductor progression,” Bloomberg Intelligence’s analysts Charles Shum and Sean Chen wrote in a memo. “The chip shows that China’s tech juggernaut is forging ahead, making progress circumventing US sanctions while quietly pursuing tech self-sufficiency.” BLOOMBERG

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/interna...cess-story

Honor, the former subsidiary of Huawei, has emerged victorious in China. The company is doing well in the Chinese smartphone market, claiming the top spot with a 17.1% market share in the first quarter of 2024. The latest data from market research firm IDC shows Honor’s exceptional performance. It surpassed competitors like Huawei, OPPO, Apple, and vivo to secure the top spot in the Chinese smartphone market.

[Image: c09c3fff-1672-4ee6-9387-dbd349ec8470.webp]

https://www.gizchina.com/2024/04/26/hono...ne-market/

cannot be cannot be!

must be fake new fake new! Tongue

must be state of decline riao! Tongue

Wah together 34.1% that's lampar one

Apple’s smartphone shipments in China tumbled 19% in the first quarter of the year, while Huawei saw sales jump 70%. Effectively, Apple’s share in the world’s biggest smartphone market fell to 15.7% in the first quarter from 19.7% a year earlier...Canadian research firm TechInsights expects overall shipments in China this year to top 50 million units, including 10 million for the Pura 70 series.

That would make Huawei the No-1 seller in China with a 19% market share, up from 12% in 2023.

https://www.asiafinancial.com/huawei-tak...e-in-china

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

Their imports and exports were down, so their semiconductor industry depends on internal consumption. But their manufacturing PMI was down too. Who are they supplying the semiconductor to?

[Image: 4aWDEWo.png]

Omi.. Thank you for bumping up the message.

(01-06-2024, 11:34 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Big Grin 
Apple’s smartphone shipments in China tumbled 19% in the first quarter of the year, while Huawei saw sales jump 70%. Effectively, Apple’s share in the world’s biggest smartphone market fell to 15.7% in the first quarter from 19.7% a year earlier...Canadian research firm TechInsights expects overall shipments in China this year to top 50 million units, including 10 million for the Pura 70 series.

That would make Huawei the No-1 seller in China with a 19% market share, up from 12% in 2023.

https://www.asiafinancial.com/huawei-tak...e-in-china

https://media.tenor.com/JwElHU857MAAAAAM...-union.gif https://media.tenor.com/mFQjditE1_YAAAAM/yes-thumbs.gif https://media.tenor.com/dP9z7VKeJJ8AAAAM/thumbs-up.gif

东升西降,sanctions or not, the west can't stop it. Ermaos aso better be clear about it

(01-06-2024, 12:08 PM)teaserteam Wrote:  Their imports and exports were down,  so their semiconductor industry depends on internal consumption.  But their manufacturing PMI was down too.  Who are they supplying the semiconductor to?

The Chinese has switched to local designs and production sources after Biden's CHIPS act became law in 2023.

Result is chip makers like Nvidia and TSMC are forced by US gov to stop supplying high-end semicon to China.

Hence drop in imported semicon to China.

End of the day, the coy like Huawei step in and replace Nividia to supply to the world's largest semicon market in China.

https://qz.com/nvidia-cut-chip-prices-ch...1851498915

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

Even moonlanding can be done, what's the problem with some simple chips?

Well done Xi 👍.

(01-06-2024, 12:10 PM)Omnipresent88 Wrote:  https://media.tenor.com/JwElHU857MAAAAAM...-union.gif https://media.tenor.com/mFQjditE1_YAAAAM/yes-thumbs.gif https://media.tenor.com/dP9z7VKeJJ8AAAAM/thumbs-up.gif

[SHOW THIS POST BY THE IGNORED GHEY DAWG]

https://media.tenor.com/1IsJfziK4h4AAAAM...er-wag.gif
https://media.tenor.com/DDU4UH_kIxgAAAAM...ealous.gif
https://media.tenor.com/UvKaYaiEWtcAAAAM/haha-so.gif
https://media.tenor.com/LQTnHuNNQwYAAAAM/laughing.gif

Omnipresent88Show this Post
The contents of this message are hidden because Omnipresent88 is on your ignore list.

South Korea chip production is expected to increase as their Chip stockpiles shrinked 33.7 per cent from a year earlier in April in the largest decrease since late 2014.

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/news/other/sou...NewsSearch

(01-06-2024, 02:41 PM)Manthink Wrote:  The Chinese has switched to local designs and production sources after Biden's CHIPS act became law in 2023.

Result is chip makers like Nvidia and TSMC are forced by US gov to stop supplying high-end semicon to China.

Hence drop in imported semicon to China.

End of the day, the coy like Huawei step in and replace Nividia to supply to the world's largest semicon market in China.

https://qz.com/nvidia-cut-chip-prices-ch...1851498915

Very normal when there is competition. Next question is who can afford to cut lower and lower.

(01-06-2024, 04:50 PM)teaserteam Wrote:  Very normal when there is competition.  Next question is who can afford to cut lower and lower.

YA IT'S VERY NORMAL. PEOPLE DON EVEN WAN THE MARKET, FOR BIGGER REASONS. SO THE RISE WAS ALREADY EXPECTED OF THE REPLACEMENT DAWGS. BUT TS KUMGONG KIA STILL POSTS LIKE A WINNER "OH LOOK THE ONES WHO BAN ARE LOSING A MARKET!" Laughing Clapping Rotfl

The contents of this message are hidden because Omnipresent88 is on your ignore list.

Their growth is almost identical over the last 10 years except one is in Millions and the other is in Thousands scale
[Image: IMG-5791.png]

Omni is in my ignored list. This works well like he always bumps my post for me all the time. Thank u Omni.

Chip stock is hot in the US not without reasons

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/chip-s...topstories

Omni is in my ignored list. This works well like he always bumps my post for me all the time. Thank u Omni.

HAHAHA NOW THOSE TIONG SMALL GUYS WHO DON REALLY WAN HUAWEI'S LOUSY CHIPS, THE CHEAP PRODUCTS THEY WAN TO EXPORT OVERSEAS HARDER TO COMPETE. WAN THEM TO GO CHEAPER LOL?

THESE SMALL GUYS MUST ALSO BE CELEBRATING 'HUAWEI'S SUCCESS STORY' AT THEIR OWN EXPENSE BECAUSE TIONGS ARE ALL UNITED PEOPLE TIONGS DON EAT TIONGS LMAO!

OR MANTHINK ORDERS THEM TO CELEBRATE BECAUSE MANTHINK IS A SMALL TIME FORUM FOREIGN INTERFERENCE GUY WITH NOTHING TO LOSE
nudie Clapping Laughing

Triggered hor Bumiboy and all amdk arse lickers stooge’s you don't know meh your daddies Kenah tekan by Huawei what say you leh LMAO song boh

https://media.tenor.com/1IsJfziK4h4AAAAM...er-wag.gif https://media.tenor.com/E4CNjMOebw8AAAAM...g-baby.gif https://media.tenor.com/Y5O7okOlyqkAAAAM...apping.gif https://media.tenor.com/C0HPK2S87qoAAAAM...orning.gif

OI TRIGGERED GAYCLOUDY, HUAI TRIGGERED UNTIL NO MORE BUABUAY THREAD UPDATES? CHIU STOOPID JUST REALIZED NO ONE READING?

Opasnie-25 Clapping Laughing

Deeply triggered Bumiboy ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s you don't know meh your daddies Kenah tekan by Huawei again and again and again and again and again and again LMAO
https://media.tenor.com/1IsJfziK4h4AAAAM...er-wag.gif https://media.tenor.com/E4CNjMOebw8AAAAM...g-baby.gif https://media.tenor.com/wfAmmScM6sAAAAAM/awesome-ok.gif https://media.tenor.com/9Jpj6U1Bq9YAAAAM...ically.gif

GAYCLOUDY HUAI CHIU DEFACE MANTHINK THREAD WITH CHIUR RANCAU GIFS?! CHIU MAKE IT HARD FOR MANTHINK TO GET INTO MEANINGFUL DISCUSSION WITH OTHER PEEPUR CHIU NOE?

TO ALL THREAD STARTERS OUT THERE: 
I DONCH THINK IGNORE LIST ISH ENOUGH. CHIUR READERS WILL STILL BE PUT OFF BY GAYCLOUDY RANCAU GIFS IF THEY NO IGNORE. CHIU ALL SHOULD TRY REPORTING HIM IN NUMBERS AND GET HIM BENDED, WHETHER CHIU WUMAO OR NOTCH. NOT MY PROBLEM REALLY I'M NOTCH A TS  nudie Laughing

Deeply triggered Bumiboy ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s you don't know meh your daddies chut patern more than badminton to scantions LOL end of the day whole world knows your daddies Kenah tekan by Huawei again and again and again and again LMAO

https://media.tenor.com/1IsJfziK4h4AAAAM...er-wag.gif https://media.tenor.com/9Jpj6U1Bq9YAAAAM...ically.gif https://media.tenor.com/E4CNjMOebw8AAAAM...g-baby.gif https://media.tenor.com/wfAmmScM6sAAAAAM/awesome-ok.gif

SONG BOH CLOUDY! I RALLY PEEPUR TO REPORT CHIUR RANCAU GIFS  nudie

Deeply triggered Bumiboy ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s keeps reporting the post hor cheo kau peng hor LL liao lah

SEE CHIU IN OTHER THREADS WHEN I RALLY MORE PEEPUR TO REPORT CHIU. CHIU CAN COUNTDOWN CHIUR REMAINING DAYS IN SGTOK  nudie

(01-06-2024, 09:43 PM)Omnipresent88 Wrote:  Deeply triggered Bumiboy ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s you don't know meh your daddies chut patern more than badminton to scantions LOL end of the day whole world knows your daddies Kenah tekan by Huawei again and again and again and again LMAO

https://media.tenor.com/1IsJfziK4h4AAAAM...er-wag.gif https://media.tenor.com/9Jpj6U1Bq9YAAAAM...ically.gif https://media.tenor.com/E4CNjMOebw8AAAAM...g-baby.gif https://media.tenor.com/wfAmmScM6sAAAAAM/awesome-ok.gif

Bumiboy ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s keeps singing and dancing hor your daddies Kenah tekan by Huawei 9696 LMAO 

https://search.app/AgmSSRrfFKn6DawGA

https://www.gizchina.com/2024/06/01/huaw...artphones/

https://carnewschina.com/2024/05/31/huaw...ssistance/
https://media.tenor.com/Y5O7okOlyqkAAAAM...apping.gif