How I decide who to vote for on Friday - my logic and reasoning...

The important thing all of us as voters should do is to stand back and reflect on the big picture. Be objective. The facts like candidate has 45yo fiance or made some amusing remarks on FB ...these to me are just superficial things that should not be allowed to sway us. We have to choose the best person to serve the primary and secondary role of the president.

The Elected Presisency was started to safeguard our reserves to provide a check and balance to the ruling political party. Do not be distracted by anything else, this is the main role of the president.

Just before   PE, PAP will have someone who resigns and become their candidate for the election. This is not right because the ruling party is trying to get one of its own to be president circumventing the check and balance that is supposed to take place.The last time was Halimah and this time it is Tharman who has been with the PAP for 2 decades supporting  every single decision and policy they made.

It makes no sense to support this way of doing things. We might as well get rid of the elected presidency if ruling party can circumvent the check and balance intent by inserting one of their own into office. Rightfully, the president cannot be someone who just left the ruling party bacause such a person's unlikely to offer a strong  check and balance to the govt

For the above reasons I cannot vote for Mr Tharman as it is not good for the country to reduce the check snd balance in the system.

This leaves me with NKS and TKL.

I am very surprised at how eloquent NKS is when he speaks. He almost has the charisma of LKY. He also has relevant experience in GIC and has left GIC for some time making him a viable candidate. 

However, I have never heard him speak up for Singaporeans until last week. My assessment is it is not his natural inclination to be the voice of the people or a natural people's president if elected. He also may not be in tune with issues on the ground as he seems .distant from the common folks. I feel that he will not be able tk connect well should he become president.

As for TKL, he speaks his mind and speaks for the people. Personally I have seen it many times from the victims of Lehman Minibonds victims of Hyfluc collapse etc. He frequently spend time to talk to ordinary Singaporeans to understand their challenges and highlight their plight to the govt  He may have had a few gaffs and unpopular Facebook postings but his heart is in the right place . A Testimony to his financial management ability is the growth of NTUC Income from $100M to a $17B behemoth under his leadership , an achievement that is unparalleled among the candidates.

To me, objectively focussing on what is important, there is only one very clear choice and that is TKL.

[+] 2 users Like sgbuffett's post

(30-08-2023, 02:46 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  This leave me with NKS and TKL.

I am very surprised at how eloquent NKS is when he speaks. He almost has the charisma of LKY. He also has relevant experience in GIC and has left GIC for some time making him a viable candidate. 

However, I have never heard him speak up for Singaporeans until last week. My assessment is it is not his natural inclination to be the voice of the people or a natural people's president if elected. He also may not be in tune with issues on the ground as he seems .distant from the common folks. I feel that he will not be able tk connect well should he become president.

To me, objectively focussjng on what is important, there is only one very clear choice and that is TKL.

NKS dares not defend his statements when he is accused by Tharman for making sweeping statements is a total disgrace.

NKS is not fit to be president when he has got no ball to defend himself against people like Tharman.
worse still, he degrades himself by making peace with Tharman and said Tharman is his good friend.

a spineless person can never be a good president.
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

(30-08-2023, 02:46 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The important thing all of us as voters is to stand back andeffect on the big picture. The facts like candidate has 45yo fiance or made some amusing remarks on FB ...these to me are just superficial things that should not be allowed to sway us. We have to choose the best person to serve the primary and secondary role of the president.

The Elected Presisency was started to safeguard our reserves to provide a check and balance to the ruling political party. Do not be distracted by anything else, this mis the main role of the president.

During  PE, PAP will has someone who resigns and become their candidate for the election. This is not right because the ruling party is trying to get one of its own to be president circumventing the check and balance that is supposed to take place.The last time was Halimah and this time it is Tharman who has been with the PAP for 2 decades supporting  every single decision theh made.

It makes no sense to support this way of doing things. We might as well get rid of the elected presidency if ruling party cab circumvent the intent by inserting one of their own into office. Rightly, the president cannot be someone who just left the ruling party bacuse such a person's unlikely to offer a striong  check and balance to the govg.

For the above reasons I cannot vote for Mr Tharman as it is jot good for the country to reduce the check snd balance in the system.

This leave me with NKS and TKL.

As for TKL, he speaks his mind and speaks for the people. Personally I have seen it many times from the victims of Lehman Minibonds victims of Hyfluc collapse etc. He frequently spend time to talk to ordinary Singaporeans to understand their challenges and highlight their plight to the govt  He may have had a few gaffs and unpopular Facebook postings but his heart is in the right place . A Testimony to his financial management ability is the growth of NTUC Income from $100M tk a $17B behemoth, an achievement that is unparalleled among the candidates.

To me, objectively focussjng on what is important, there is only one very clear choice and that is TKL.
true vote for someone who is sincere no hidden agenda

as for the country well being how to handle foreign affairs N SURVIVAL  leave that to the govt N  ministers as they are paid for that job.

I WILL NEVER FORGET ARD 80S WHEN CONSULTED A COMPANY DR ON MY MEDICAL CONDITION N TOLD HIM MY CONCERN 
HIS REPLY :
LET THE DR WORRIED FOR U BECOS THEY TREAT U!!

(30-08-2023, 02:56 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  I think you like the heckler

Need to be sent to IMH

it is published in local media that NKS said Tharman is his friend and refused to defend his statements.
it is a fact that NKS is scared of Tharman.

(30-08-2023, 03:00 PM)Jim Wrote:  who cares if nks is spineless    use him to dilute darkie's  vote count otherwise vote for tkl if pap is not your cup of tea

you persuade people to vote based on facts and not based on misleading info.
once you mislead, no one will believe you anymore.

All the women around me said dun vote for TKL how???

Ok. He only sec4 and couldn't speak properly, yet he's spoken up the most.

Kosong is gd but never heard him speak before. The other one too fake

(30-08-2023, 03:05 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  All the women around me said dun vote for TKL how???

女人都是口是心非lah.

(30-08-2023, 03:09 PM)Jim Wrote:  silly, facts are genuine misleading info is bias     explain to them the way i explained to you  - strategy

you are trying to win at all cost including cheating.
you will face serious consequences.

(30-08-2023, 03:05 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Ok. He only sec4 and couldn't speak properly,  yet he's spoken up the most.

Kosong is gd but never heard him speak before. The other one too fake

Dont laugh! Rotfl

Give you tip.
TKL means Toh Kar Liao in bowling game.

(30-08-2023, 03:05 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  All the women around me said dun vote for TKL how???

Because tkl did say they're pretty?

(30-08-2023, 03:12 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Dont laugh! Rotfl

Give you tip.
TKL means Toh Kar Liao in bowling game.

- Tkl keyboard
- tiong kok lang

(30-08-2023, 03:17 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  - Tkl keyboard
- tiong kok lang

tiong kok lang ho keh chao or pei

(30-08-2023, 03:13 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Because tkl did say they're pretty?

I told them TKL is like any Stomper on the streets, just that he's not AMDK...

since NKS is spineless, you cannot vote for him.

if you do not want to vote for Tharman, you all should vote for TKL.

all PAP supporters who do not want to vote for Tharman, please vote for TKL.

(30-08-2023, 02:46 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The important thing all of us as voters shpuld do is to stand back and reflect on the big picture. Be objective. The facts like candidate has 45yo fiance or made some amusing remarks on FB ...these to me are just superficial things that should not be allowed to sway us. We have to choose the best person to serve the primary and secondary role of the president.

The Elected Presisency was started to safeguard our reserves to provide a check and balance to the ruling political party. Do not be distracted by anything else, this is the main role of the president.

Just before   PE, PAP will have someone who resigns and become their candidate for the election. This is not right because the ruling party is trying to get one of its own to be president circumventing the check and balance that is supposed to take place.The last time was Halimah and this time it is Tharman who has been with the PAP for 2 decades supporting  every single decision and policy they made.

It makes no sense to support this way of doing things. We might as well get rid of the elected presidency if ruling party can circumvent the check and balance intent by inserting one of their own into office. Rightfully, the president cannot be someone who just left the ruling party bacause such a person's unlikely to offer a strong  check and balance to the govt

For the above reasons I cannot vote for Mr Tharman as it is not good for the country to reduce the check snd balance in the system.

This leaves me with NKS and TKL.

As for TKL, he speaks his mind and speaks for the people. Personally I have seen it many times from the victims of Lehman Minibonds victims of Hyfluc collapse etc. He frequently spend time to talk to ordinary Singaporeans to understand their challenges and highlight their plight to the govt  He may have had a few gaffs and unpopular Facebook postings but his heart is in the right place . A Testimony to his financial management ability is the growth of NTUC Income from $100M to a $17B behemoth under his leadership , an achievement that is unparalleled among the candidates.

To me, objectively focussing on what is important, there is only one very clear choice and that is TKL.

I will just fold the blank ballot paper and put into the box lah! Big Grin

(30-08-2023, 03:01 PM)forum456 Wrote:  it is published in local media that NKS said Tharman is his friend and refused to defend his statements.
it is a fact that NKS is scared of Tharman.

It is a fact because you say so?  Rolleyes

(30-08-2023, 04:09 PM)Oyk Wrote:  It is a fact because you say so?  Rolleyes

it is a logical conclusion from the report.

(30-08-2023, 04:09 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  If you think

The oppie scums

Like forum456 or sgbuffett

you better vote for TKL because NKS is a useless and spineless guy.
[+] 3 users Like forum456's post

(30-08-2023, 03:59 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  Will voting for tkl 

Ease sgbuffett's pain, anger and bitterness

Over his failure to get a place in our local university

After his poor A level results

The answer is NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Because the root cause of his pain, anger and bitterness is not PAP

But his inability to take full responsibility for his own shortcomings and mistakes in his life

Will his PAIN, ANGER and BITTERNESS goes away if tkl wins?

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Poor bastard!

I asked him what grades he scored for his A level subjects but he didn't reply.

Surely he can't expect to get in if he scored a few Es and a 6 for GP.

(30-08-2023, 04:10 PM)forum456 Wrote:  it is a logical conclusion from the report.

What "report"? Rolleyes

(30-08-2023, 04:15 PM)Oyk Wrote:  What "report"? Rolleyes

read the below link

https://sgtalk.net/Thread-NKS-apologises...ood-friend

(30-08-2023, 04:11 PM)forum456 Wrote:  you better vote for TKL because NKS is a useless and spineless guy.

Vote wisely lah! Big Grin Who you choose means 6 years liao lah!

(30-08-2023, 04:12 PM)Oyk Wrote:  I asked him what grades he scored for his A level subjects but he didn't reply.

Surely he can't expect to get in if he scored a few Es and a 6 for GP.

There is no need for personal attacks at me and to bring in things irrelevant to the choice of president.

I already explained clearly why and how I will be voting on Friday....everything us written out.

All bro, i found Cybil is my type !!!! Big Grin

Shiok sia.... a little bit horny after seeing Big Grin

Ok... KIV.

even with the ravi filing. i still vote for tharman . he is the best candidate in my opinion to be president.

Tan Kin Lian is the only wise choice Big Grin

(30-08-2023, 07:22 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Tan Kin Lian is the only wise choice Big Grin

you are genius
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

Tharman - vote him for more ownself check ownself, ie, more of the same. He is trying smoke us that the future will be very difficult and he can make a difference to help SG as EP. If so, why resign as minister with executive powers and become an EP with custodial powers only? Also least independent of the gahmen. Should have stayed as minister.

NKS - looks legit but not truly independent as he claimed. He is beholden to the gahmen for its support and it is hard to imagine that he, like tharman, can stand up to the gahmen, ie, pap. His reason to contest is dubious and suspect. Still a better bet than Tharman. Vote him if you don't like TKL

TKL - independent of the gahmen but not of oppies. May be influenced by oppies to some extent but since the pap gahmen is likely to stay in power for at least the next 6 years, he will be an effective external check in case ownself check ownself fail again. But if oppies form the gahmen in the next 6 years, he may turn out to be a bad choice.

There are no truly independent candidates here. Each has his own good & bad points. Each should be able to perform the EP duties well.

It is a hard choice but I will probably choose the least of all evils - TKL

If still cannot decide, the lesser evil is always the best one to choose