I bought a box of grapes for $1 ....this what happened...

My mom asked me to go downstairs to buy fruits for next week.

I looked around and saw this.

[Image: t4kzic3.jpg]

Inflation? What inflation?
Shipped several thousand miles from S.Africa and sold for only $1.
[Image: NcjjpNZ.jpg]

I thought maybe some bad grapes or sour grapes. Well actually no....all the grapes were good and tried it...sweet.

Good to hear that. Could be oversupply and stock clearance. Such fruits offer and dirt cheap prices will happen occasionally as they are perishable, else will spoil regardless of inflation or not.

This is due to fruit seller wanna " Clear stocks " remember fruits cannot keep too long.

They already profits a lot by default selling more than 1 dollars. In fact they sell at 1 dollar still profit but only just lesser by default that all.

2 days ago I bought 1 box of premium white grapes from Australia for $9.50. it looks like China premium grapes which is $18 a box. Bloody seller told me it's very sweet. End up I threw it away after a few bites! So far no country grapes can beat China ones...not even Japan ones which I paid to learn a lesson!

Red Globe Grapes

https://www.greatgrocer.my/item/china-re...-500g-1295

https://www.fruitmonster.co.nz/product/r...be-grapes/

https://www.riteway.vg/grapes-red-large-...18-lb.html

(19-03-2023, 10:35 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  My mom asked me to go downstairs to buy fruits for next week.

I thought maybe some bad grapes or sour grapes. Well actually no....all the grapes were good and tried it...sweet.

Maybe are exposed to radiation or some chemical…must be a reason

I saw Sheng Siong was selling S.A. grapes (not sure the same type) at $6.5 per box

Last week HSBC bought SVB’s business in Britain for $1.

(19-03-2023, 10:35 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  My mom asked me to go downstairs to buy fruits for next week.

1粒 $1 leh Laughing

cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap.

[Image: Screenshot-20230319-111800-Chrome.jpg]

Grape is always among the top dirtiest lists. Dun suggest the idea of washing and cleaning the skin ok

Better wash thoroughly.  Could be full of pesticide residues hence the cheap price.

Is it for the oranges each costs $1?

(19-03-2023, 11:06 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Maybe are exposed to radiation or some chemical…must be a reason
You sour grape lah  Big Grin

(19-03-2023, 11:27 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Better wash thoroughly.  Could be full of pesticide residues hence the cheap price.

(19-03-2023, 11:36 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  You sour grape lah  Big Grin
Yeah, don't think there are pesticides on the grapes, anyway just wash the grapes will rid it of pesticides.  For $1, it is a steal................... Big Grin

(19-03-2023, 11:27 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Better wash thoroughly.  Could be full of pesticide residues hence the cheap price.
You need to wash it with salt. 2nd round hv to rinse it

(19-03-2023, 11:50 AM)Gemstar Wrote:  You need to wash it with salt. 2nd round hv to rinse it

Yes, pays to be more careful these days

What has price to do with pesticides?
German sausages if full of casinogens but still expensive.

(19-03-2023, 11:45 AM)debono Wrote:  Yeah, don't think there are pesticides on the grapes, anyway just wash the grapes will rid it of pesticides.  For $1, it is a steal................... Big Grin
By air all the way,run road.

Those chemical pesticide remnants on skin can be washed away, but not those absorbed into the fruits and also the chemical ferterlizers used.

Make sure you brush them one by one before eating

[Image: 28-CC9216-8-D5-B-4785-A446-89-A0-E6815-E39.jpg]

[Image: 30-FBF35-F-2201-4457-ADE8-0-B474855-F595.webp]

(19-03-2023, 12:07 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Those chemical pesticide remnants on skin can be washed away, but not those absorbed into the fruits and also the chemical ferterlizers used.
It's the same for all veggies and fruits.
To completely avoid the only way is to stop eating.

Even if you buy organic to cook ...when you eat out it's another story.

So there is no end.

(19-03-2023, 12:14 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It's the same for all veggies and fruits.
To completely avoid the only way is to stop eating.

Even if you buy organic to cook ...when you eat out it's another story.

So there is no end.

No wonder all polyclinics everyday so crowded.

(19-03-2023, 12:10 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Make sure you brush them one by one before eating

[Image: 28-CC9216-8-D5-B-4785-A446-89-A0-E6815-E39.jpg]

[Image: 30-FBF35-F-2201-4457-ADE8-0-B474855-F595.webp]

Must use strong detergent lah. Scrub till the skin colour change to white. Rotfl

(19-03-2023, 11:10 AM)winbig Wrote:  1粒 $1 leh Laughing

this fruit seller has the same unique character as ah butt.

It is cheaper than ntuc. Ntuc sell 2 boxes for $3++. They also try clear their stocks.

Looks like blue berries.

maybe is as stated "EACH 粒 $1.00"

(19-03-2023, 11:06 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Maybe are exposed to radiation or some chemical…must be a reason

[Image: HQoNrlx.gif]

(19-03-2023, 11:52 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  What has price to do with pesticides?
German sausages if full of casinogens but still expensive.
Any foods that are processed are not healthy. Shd take it moderately.