I went to buy a laptop and this is what happened....

My current laptop has been running alot of my analysis work and for app development testing and my desktop with super processing is sort of stuck to the desk so I decided to get another laptop that i can bring out and play some games.

Worked out specs should be i7 gen 6 and above 16GB ram or above.

Wanting to save some .money I activated this tip one of my friends told me about. There are shops in Sim Lim selling high specs refurbish laptops for low prices. So I decided to go shop around. After 5 or 6 shops I got a sensing it would have to pay around $600 for the laptop. Lenovo was a popular brand among refurbished laptops. The shops had a steady stream of customers so i take it there were many like me looking for a bargain.

The 7th shop I dropped into had 2 guys bargaining and chatting with the shop assistant. I watched the "whole show".  The guys claimed they were from a big software house and they needed to buy many laptops for testing. The said they will be repeat customers and they would switch from their regular shop they buy from to this shop. But they need to buy 2 first to make sure the laptop can use. The shop assistant texted the boss who was not around  to ask for "permission" to sell at their asking price.

I saw the laptops they were buying Lenovo i7 Gen7 20GB RAM 512 SSB. Looked like brand new. 

Just as the 2 guys were about to leave I asked them how much they paid and they told me $450 each. Total $900. They spoke in mandarin and shop assistant wasn't Chinese so he probably couldn't understand.

Told myself..Good price. They already bargained down.

There were 2 sets left so I asked the ship assistant to let have a look. Condition was very good so I asked the shop assistant how much. He said $650.

I asked him can be cheaper. He said need to ask boss. Boss text back $600 okay.

Wow $600 is afar cry from $450 the other 2 guys paid. So I asked him if I can get at that price since the other 2 bought at this price. Again he text the boss. Boss's replied cannot. Lowest price $600.

I asked him why cannot. He said those 2 guys will come back to buy many sets and were given one off discounts. Oh really?
They looked like they were buying for personal use because after one guy paid $900 for 2 sets using paynow, the other guy paid $450 cash to him. If it was for company, why would he do that.

I tried for another 2 minutes but couldn't get the price and left.

Didn't realise this type of negotiation trick can work so well. I should have joined the 2 guys immediately to buy my set...their negotiation tactics were really good.

Lucky you never buy. Those refurbished laptops may look new but likely have been heavily utilized. My company sold back the laptops every 3 years and if anyone bought mine, I said good luck. I'm a very heavy user and the CPU and HD are often stretched to the limit.

My advice is buy a brand new one. You can use for much longer. Long-term wise you save money.

Buy a laptop to play games. Play what games?

Aiya, if you are not playing game. $800 can get quite decent laptop.

Dont buy 2nd hand laptop, may have alot of hidden issues.

This shop is quite ok. I have bought 2 new laptops from them before.

https://shopee.sg/product/51678844/40157...55561348.9

I never trust those at sim lim

(18-06-2022, 10:16 PM)Talent Wrote:  I never trust those at sim lim

My DIY computer, parts are bought from Sim Lim,
No problem leh.

(18-06-2022, 08:15 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Buy a laptop to play games. Play what games?

People don't play games on laptops which are meant for business use.

People play games on desktops with big screens.  Playing games on a laptop is no fun.

They only buy a cheap second hand laptop to watch porn, so if kena virus at least not so heart pain....

last time you bot a graphic card for 8k, now dun even want to pay 1 to 2k for a laptop? 成何体统?

(18-06-2022, 11:55 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  last time you bot a graphic card for 8k, now dun even want to pay 1 to 2k for a laptop? 成何体统?

He bought RTX 3090?
Now most graphic cards can Support 4k.
Good 4k monitor can get at $1k

This laptop is for Atas gamers.
Very Impressive.

https://youtu.be/wMQtytcf094

TS wants to buy second laptop to watch porn and not to play games lah Laughing

i got a 2009 imac mac osx leopard for 40$ at the woodlamds sungei road
but no charger..but i happen to have the charger
and had to clear the password manually..took a long time ...search youtube videos to learn how to clear the password...and finally even install win 10 on the mac

Everyday change ppl to ask leh... maybe can get soon./

donch be penny wise and pound foolish leh

Buy from Lazada only $500+

(19-06-2022, 07:37 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  TS wants to buy second laptop to watch porn and not to play games lah Laughing

Chromebook is good enough. Rotfl

Sorry I think I forgot to clarify.

I am no so crippled to have to by a brand new laptop with warranty and all that. I used to refurbish old laptops myself replacing HD/SSD or battery ...one time I replace a broken screen.

I am not too worried the laptop has some problem.
The shop gives one month warranty. The old laptop is already burn in tested by previous usage and can last for years....just get good enough specs no issue.

As for what games I am going to play my last game was like yrs ago GTA 4. I became very busy and didn't have time to play so will look at some good recent titles.

(19-06-2022, 09:34 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Sorry I think I forgot to clarify.

I am no so crippled to have to by a brand new laptop with warranty and all that. I used to refurbish old laptops myself replacing HD/SSD or battery ...one time I replace a broken screen.

I am not too worried the laptop has some problem.
The shop gives one month warranty. The old laptop is already burn in tested by previous usage and can last for years....just get good enough specs no issue.

As for what games I am going to play my last game was like yrs ago GTA 4. I became very busy and didn't have time to play so will look at some good recent titles.

I thought you not that young still play games?

(19-06-2022, 09:21 AM)dynamite Wrote:  Buy from Lazada only $500+

I thought their laptop also from Sim Lim?