I went to coffeeshop yesterday to drink teh-C this is what happened...

I got ready to pay and whip out my phone to pay with PayLah!.

The auntie at the counter said $1.50.....I asked her wasn't it $1.40 a few days ago?

She said GST increase, no choice they also have to increase after the new year.

I told her GST only increase 1% how come your increase is 7%.

She said no choice if need to increase has to be by steps of 10cts because they cannot handle 5cts and 1cts coins.

GST hikes added fuel to inflation fire....burning a hole in our pockets...they temporarily ease our pain with GST vouchers ..but the pain will be with us forever. The poor retirees see their meager savings shrink by 7% in terms of teh C through no fault of their own.

Go and buy Ceylon tea.
1 bag only 6 to 7 cents.
Drink until siao.
Still can lose weight.

Wait for promotion then buy 2 packets.
Remember use zilog bag to seal the tea box.

[Image: IMG-3201.jpg]

[+] 3 users Like RiseofAsia's post

Cheap.. .
[+] 1 user Likes Sharexchange's post

drink plain water healthier.
[+] 3 users Like K88 shu shu's post

(03-01-2024, 06:56 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Go and buy Ceylon tea.
1 bag only 6 to 7 cents.
Drink until siao.
Still can lose weight.

Wait for promotion then buy 2 packets.
Remember use zilog bag to seal the tea box.

[Image: IMG-3201.jpg]

i also drink this..

yea the packaging sucks..

Just buy hot water. And bring along your tea bag or kopi sachet Laughing

Actually these kopi shops are just wanting to profiteer.

At coffee shops, a tech c kosong in Dec is $1.80

The same teh c kosong a couple of years ago was just $1.20

[+] 2 users Like p1acebo's post

boycott the coffeeshop
[+] 1 user Likes jus4lucky's post

[Image: menueditor-item-b8e03ba5d0cc43a89bd64d93...92279.webp]

A $1.50 teh c can get you a equivalent of this meal in vietnam!
[+] 2 users Like pinkpanther's post

Every world events or Government policy is an excuse for merchants to raise selling price. If not, how to be richer?
[+] 1 user Likes Sline's post

(03-01-2024, 07:37 AM)twinkle07 Wrote:  i also drink this..

yea the packaging sucks..

Just buy a container or using zilog bag. Big Grin

[Image: Screenshot-20240103-080340-Chrome.jpg]

Nice, free and very beneficial

(03-01-2024, 07:38 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Just buy hot water.  And bring along your tea bag or kopi sachet Laughing

Go office or at home, use hot water, better than the Kopi Tiam Tea O. Rotfl

Just buy Linton on whole box drink till u go toilet. Coffeeshop also using Linton tea

(03-01-2024, 07:45 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Actually these kopi shops are just wanting to profiteer. 

At coffee shops, a tech c kosong in Dec is $1.80

The same teh c kosong a couple of years ago was just $1.20
The coffee shop stall probably has to pay high rentals to run his stall. That’s my opinion. Anyway I’ve never patronized any coffee stall ever in my life.

[Image: IMG-3202.jpg]

(03-01-2024, 08:11 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Just buy Linton on whole box drink till u go toilet. Coffeeshop also using Linton tea

Lipton is the worst tea. 
Dont waste $$$. Big Grin

Indian Red Tea damn good.
Ask your Indian friend to recommend you.

(03-01-2024, 07:38 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Just buy hot water.  And bring along your tea bag or kopi sachet Laughing
Soon the kopitiam will charge hot water at $1 a cup. 
Just watch...lol

Sinkies drink bubbleteas no such problem...

(03-01-2024, 06:28 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I got ready to pay and whip out my phone to pay with PayLah!.

The auntie at the counter said $1.50.....I asked her wasn't it $1.40 a few days ago?

She said GST increase, no choice they also have to increase after the new year.

I told her GST only increase 1% how come your increase is 7%.

She said no choice if need to increase has to be by steps of 10cts because they cannot handle 5cts and 1cts coins.

GST hikes added fuel to inflation fire....burning a hole in our pockets...they temporarily ease our pain with GST vouchers ..but the pain will be with us forever. The poor retirees see their meager savings shrink by 7% in terms of teh C through no fault of their own.

That's why before the increase from 7% to 8% GST,  I stated in this forum that Singapore should just do it in ONE step. Dividing the 2% increase into 2 steps will just have two price increments each higher than 1% as people don't want to handle the low-denomination coins.

Increasing GST in 2 steps means consumers suffered price hike 2X in one year!!!

Last year at 8% first round of hike on everything now 9% same thing happens again. Then adding fuel to fire they also hike transport fare and ridiculous property tax... And then they want to whack us with carbon tax to save the earth!!!

If all want to order only hot water the kopi tiam will get fed up and charges same price as kopi 
😊

As a dog returns to its vomit, so fools repeat their folly

Soon it'll be $2 and ppl still drink. Like txxxbox and ah kxx, 没办法的