I went to eat at a high class Indian restaurant...this is what happened

I ordered mutton bryani and it came like this.

[Image: fVHy8yX.jpeg]

Paper, fork, spoon 3 condiments, and a bowl of bryani rice with mutton buried within the bowl.

I was the only person in the restaurant  so i could not observe others to figure out what to do.

I used the spoon to scoop the rice and mutton and transfer to the plate then i mixed with the condiments and  used the spoon and fork to eat from the plate.

When i funished the food i used the paper to wipe my mouth.

Just when i was done several indian diners came in. So i observed them to see how it was supposed done.

They took the paper to wipe the folk, spoin and plate. Then they used the spoon and fork to transfer the food to the plate.

After that they ate the food with their fingers from the plate.

Darn i got the whole process wrong.

(24-06-2025, 02:19 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I ordered mutton bryani and it came like this.

Paper, fork, spoon 3 condiments, and a bowl of bryani rice with mutton buried within the bowl.

I was the only person in the restaurant  so i could not observe what to do.

I use the spoon to scoop the rice and mutton to put on the plate then it mixed with the condiments then use the spoon and fork to eat from the plate.

Just when i was done several indian diners came in. So i observed them to see how it was supposed done.

They took the paper to wipe the folk, spoin and plate. Then they used the spoon and fork to transfer the food to the plate.

After that they ate the food with their hands from the plate.

Yellow one is a sweet desert (Kesarri)made of semolina.

It is eaten after the meal

(24-06-2025, 02:26 PM)Hope Wrote:  Yellow one is a sweet desert (Kesarri)made of semolina.

It is eaten after the meal

Alamak i mixed it with curry and rice and ate it.

(24-06-2025, 02:29 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Alamak i mixed it with curry and rice and ate it.

It is ok .
 Next time better ask if there is any dessert in the set.They have few desserts .

I guess this set is $8

(24-06-2025, 02:38 PM)Hope Wrote:  It is ok .
 Next time better ask if there is any dessert in the set.They have few desserts .

I guess this set is $8
Around there plus got ambience. Marble table nice cutlery.

Did you manage to drink the rassum? It's sourish in taste.

Rasam (dish)
Article Talk
Language
Download PDF
Watch
Edit
Learn more
This article needs additional citations for verification. (February 2015)
Rasam (Tamil: ரசம்) or saatramudhu (Tamil: சாற்றமுது) is a spicy South Indian soup-like dish.[1] It is usually served as a side dish with rice. In a traditional South Indian meal, it is part of a course that includes sambar rice. Rasam has a distinct taste in comparison to sambar due to its own seasoning ingredients and is watery in consistency. Chilled prepared versions are marketed commercially as well as rasam paste in bottles.[2]

Did you see them wash their hands before eating?

How cum u never seek waiter advice ?

Next time ask for chopsticks and eat directly from the bowl lah

It’s okay, u can use fork & spoon to eat, I also dun use hands. My wife does use hands, she say use hands taste better.

Always use the right hand to eat.     Big Grin

Assam soup sweet dessert and salad mixed with yogurt. Finally dum briyani

I had a similar experience once, and since then I've been more careful with checking reviews first. If you're ever in Thailand and craving solid food or just looking for a good food adventure, the best restaurants Koh Samui offer some pretty decent spots—some even better than what I’ve found back home. The variety there really surprised me, and prices weren’t too crazy.

You can still eat with a fork and spoon. Nothing wrong with that.

Just don't mix the dessert with your main course next time. Traditional serving would be on a tin plate with compartments.

(24-06-2025, 05:48 PM)*天哥* Wrote:  It’s okay, u can use fork & spoon to eat, I also dun use hands. My wife does use hands, she say use hands taste better.

https://youtu.be/ob3mdPs9OBs?si=vm9IQui0owqGxIUI
[+] 1 user Likes Hope's post

(24-06-2025, 04:04 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Did you manage to drink the rassum? It's sourish in taste.

Rassum is good  only with white rice.

You get Dalcha (lentil, brinjal and mutton fats mix)with briyani in Singapore and Malaysia

https://youtube.com/shorts/fE0SbaHn3w0?s...3Zw9TeHrpL
[+] 1 user Likes Hope's post

(24-06-2025, 02:19 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I ordered mutton bryani and it came like this.

I was the only person in the restaurant  so i could not observe others to figure out what to do.

I used the spoon to scoop the rice and mutton and transfer to the plate then i mixed with the condiments and  used the spoon and fork to eat from the plate.

Your meal set has 

Dalcha (Gravy)-mixture of lentils, mutton fat,potato, brinjal, carrots 

Kessari(Dessert)- Mixture of semolina, ghee,raisins,nuts (raisins and nuts are missing in this picture)

Raita(Salad)-Mixture of yogurt, onion 

Briyani

After eating briyani, it is better to have pineapple for quick digestion.

(24-06-2025, 05:48 PM)goodboy Wrote:  Next time ask for chopsticks and eat directly from the bowl lah

How to use chopsticks for south Asian varieties of rice?

Can fingernails be cleaned thoroughly?

(27-06-2025, 10:54 PM)Hope Wrote:  How to use chopsticks for south Asian varieties of rice?
Dun understand why cannot? Chopsticks have many functions like pick, poke, sweep, etc. I think the sweep function shud be able to sweep the rice into the mouth.      Big Grin

Spent $8 considered as "high class" restaurant???

LOL 😆

Tell them street style lah

The same mutton biryani with egg beside JB city square cost only rm16... Big Grin

(28-06-2025, 11:29 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  The same mutton biryani with egg beside JB city square cost only rm16... Big Grin

Can explain where is the JB place? Next I go JB I will try

(28-06-2025, 02:20 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Can explain where is the JB place? Next I go JB I will try

Nasi Kandar & masakan kampung! ...just exit city square mall JB ...walk towards the office building where the 2 banks lie..cross the road name Jalan station and you will find the Indian makan place...1 mịn walk

You can google the makan place name as above

Is it a gd idea to inspect the toilet first before you order? Got toilet paper? Soap dispensers at basin? ...