If HDB BTO are affordable why pap gov give grant?

1.If no Grant given does that mean HDB BTO is no longer affordable?
2. In what way are HDB affordable without taking loan or mortgage from the bank 
3. What is the percentage of people taking grant and mortgage loan ?
4. How citizens who purchased HDB BTO are not local born aka news citizens?
5. Why need to set rule and criteria for grant?
6. If HDB not making money why still give grant?

Grant is to wayang as if they give discounts, in order to win votes.

[+] 2 users Like ODA TETSURO's post

Jack up price then give discounts to certain groups. Common biz practice.

Gahmen definition of affordability is as long as you can pay the monthly instalments, it is affordable.

Then all of us can also afford expensive cars, watches or club memberships if we take loans and pay instalments??
[+] 1 user Likes RichDad's post

(06-02-2023, 08:11 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Grant is to wayang as if they give discounts, in order to win votes.

only those who do not hv a critical thinking will fall into this trap
[+] 3 users Like talky's post

Political tool to reward citizen by price appreciation.

[+] 2 users Like Niubee's post

In order to keep 'pace' with the private property which is propped by foreigners buying up to stash their ill gotten gains back home, HDB just have to keep giving 'grants' otherwise citizens esp the poor Ahmad, Muthu, Ah Kow etc will FOREVER unable to own a small shoebox HDB flat. Recent news says now that China opening expect a flood of (washed/hidden) $$$ coming to buy up property. Govt should start imposing different sets of rules for foreigners and citizens. Already now can see the future picture of all citizens stay in HDB with all foreigners stay in private condos. Remember our sons are doing national service to protect who?
[+] 1 user Likes A2Z's post

Last time use real bricks 3 room HDB costs 8K during 1970s...can drill screws on wall to hang 100K fish tank wall mounted. Haha

give grant is to make game to continue
how can something goes up in price constantly be good?

so that you own govt debt.
[+] 2 users Like K88 shu shu's post

why HDB flats can sell for over $1m? All because it is the works of the land seller who want the highest bids so land seller can fill up more for the govt kitty. Private developers bid as high as possible, mark up then sell new condos way above $2000+ psf. This has caused HDB flats to do catch up on psf basis. It is a push-push cycle. it is an addiction to want more and more so let all foreigners come in to buy buy to the moon adjusting policies to hook them in get PR, etc. Easy money.

(06-02-2023, 09:22 AM)Niubee Wrote:  Political tool to reward citizen by price appreciation.

The whole HDB selling millions make no sense and HDB doesn't cost more than 100k per unit even the 5rm HDB unit included
. HDB is actually making huge profit from property leasing.

Put it " SIMPLE "

Grant = Discount.

REMEMBER THERE IS NO FREE THINGS IN THIS WORLD. UNLESS YOU ARE POOR GOT PEOPLE DONATE U FOODS.

HDB mark up the " invisible " price than tell u I give " grant " Same for Medical.

Just like selling things you daily see " What buy one get one free , or Now discount 10 percent, 50 percent "

(06-02-2023, 11:26 AM)A2Z Wrote:  why HDB flats can sell for over $1m? All because it is the works of the land seller who want the highest bids so land seller can fill up more for the govt kitty. Private developers bid as high as possible, mark up then sell new condos way above $2000+ psf. This has caused HDB flats to do catch up on psf basis. It is a push-push cycle. it is an addiction to want more and more so let all foreigners come in to buy buy to the moon adjusting policies to hook them in get PR, etc. Easy money.
It's not difficult and all within govt ability to delink HDB from private market. Why should 80% of properties be dictated by 20% of private properties the rich owns? It's literally helping the rich print money for them to remain so rich...
[+] 1 user Likes Sticw's post

(06-02-2023, 02:36 PM)Sticw Wrote:  It's not difficult and all within govt ability to delink HDB from private market. Why should 80% of properties be dictated by 20% of private properties the rich owns? It's literally helping the rich print money for them to remain so rich...

It cannot be delinked as HDB Minister stated that everything must be based on MARKET valuation. It adopts a 'mark to market' to reflect our total assets if not how to continue to get AAA credit ratings from reputable agencies. 'Money flow into pig stye' so easy why stop. No minister will want to stretch head out to 'redo'/'modify' present wonderful ways of getting fast and easy $$$ for the govt.

no talk about expensive first la.

cannot even get one new flat . talk what>
sing citizen only few rights also got to fight with permanent resident for a resale.
my next generations suffers.

people want new hdb. just buy back the older hdb and rebuild. the cost is demolished and rebuild cost. some of the material can be recycle either go into the new building or filled up the sea for our future wall against raising sea level.

one thing declare the selective enbloc early with more lead time like 5 years.or even more time . give people warning ahead so they will not be so angry. at least no new renovations.
those who want to relocate early let them do so. surely can keep empty flat for a while or lease to foreigners on short term like 2 -3 years.
[+] 1 user Likes sclim's post

(06-02-2023, 11:40 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Put it " SIMPLE "

Grant = Discount.

REMEMBER THERE IS NO FREE THINGS IN THIS WORLD. UNLESS YOU ARE POOR GOT PEOPLE DONATE U FOODS.

HDB mark up the " invisible " price than tell u I give " grant " Same for Medical.

Just like selling things you daily see " What buy one get one free , or Now discount 10 percent, 50 percent "

Grant is not discount.
They can sell you at a discount without giving grant.
How come they don’t do this way. Rotfl
Our housing system has also corrupted.

Greed has no limit.

Their intention of giving grant is so obvious.
You dont know meh.

(06-02-2023, 09:17 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Grant is not discount.
They can sell you at a discount without giving grant.
How come they don’t do this way. Rotfl
Our housing system has also corrupted.

Greed has no limit.

Their intention of giving grant  is so obvious.
You dont know meh.

Grant is money pluck out of thin air. The cost per unit HDB is already so low.

They can give so much much more grants but when you sell the HDB, you have to return back grant in cash+interest compounded.

Head or tail, HDB wins. Laughing

(06-02-2023, 09:44 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Grant is money pluck out of thin air. The cost per unit HDB is already so low.

They can give so much much more grants but when you sell the HDB, you have to return back grant in cash+interest compounded.

Head or tail, HDB wins.  Laughing
Our gov. is such that 'head you win, tails you lose' kind of mentality.... Laughing