In light of high inflation, CPF OA could pay more interest to help us all cope

https://asiatoday.co/2022/10/10/in-light...her-costs/

太有佛心了。 Laughter-119
Well done Jamus!

likely cpf oa will need to hit 3% by 2023.

even fixed deposits are paying higher than cpf nowadays.

If CPF OA increase, then those taking HDB loan will need to pay more.

(11-10-2022, 04:21 PM)sogo Wrote:  likely cpf oa will need to hit 3% by 2023.

with compounding interests on an ever increasing CPF balance....................the whole ponzi game will game over sooner

(11-10-2022, 04:26 PM)winbig Wrote:  If CPF OA increase, then those taking HDB loan will need to pay more.

u can't win all the time. so time to pay back abit.

(11-10-2022, 04:32 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  with compounding interests on an ever increasing CPF balance....................the whole ponzi game will game over sooner

govt using alot of usd to defend sgd u know.

(11-10-2022, 04:45 PM)sogo Wrote:  u can't win all the time. so time to pay back abit.

It's not about paying back. It's about losing votes.. Laughing

(11-10-2022, 04:32 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  with compounding interests on an ever increasing CPF balance....................the whole ponzi game will game over sooner

far fr over even if pay 0.5% more to 3% is just  mas n the 2 swf s=dont fleece us so much more only

I would benefit from any increase in CPF interest rate as I have no loan to service.
But, spare a thought for those people who are on HDB loans. Most are not rich people, unlike condo owners.
BTW, for many years they have been paying more interest on their loans than those who took bank loans. So now, when interest rates are going up, is it fair to up their % just cos banks are increasing their interest?
They must always be the losers?

(11-10-2022, 04:21 PM)sogo Wrote:  likely cpf oa will need to hit 3% by 2023.

Clearly  you do not have any idea what the formula is

(11-10-2022, 04:45 PM)sogo Wrote:  u can't win all the time. so time to pay back abit.

But you expect them to lose all the time?
For so many years , they have been paying much higher interest rate than bank loans.

(11-10-2022, 05:24 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  But you expect them to lose all the time?
For so many years , they have been paying much higher interest rate than bank loans.

2.6% for loan is still cheap lor. that is almost for 2 decades liao.

(11-10-2022, 05:22 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  Clearly  you do not have any idea what the formula is

based on fd rates of 3 local banks. but 2 of the 3 local banks are giving 2.9% fd already.

(11-10-2022, 05:36 PM)sogo Wrote:  2.6% for loan is still cheap lor. that is almost for 2 decades liao.

And how much were the ones on bank loan paying?
Until recently people online were laughing at those on HDB loans,  saying they stupid,  pay so much more interest.  
And as you pointed out , for about 2 decades !

So no matter what,  they must keep paying more than others ?

(11-10-2022, 05:36 PM)sogo Wrote:  based on fd rates of 3 local banks. but 2 of the 3 local banks are giving 2.9% fd already.

Nope . The banks are offering much much less than 2.9% board rate on FD!
DBS, for one year deposit, balances below $20k it's 1.6%
Above that it's 0.05%
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/rates-on...d-deposits

CPF interest is based on the banks' board rate.

(11-10-2022, 06:27 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  And how much were the ones on bank loan paying?
Until recently people online were laughing at those on HDB loans,  saying they stupid,  pay so much more interest.  
And as you pointed out , for about 2 decades !

So no matter what,  they must keep paying more than others ?

then how? cannot be savers reimbursing borrowers right? the time is here liao. spenders are enjoying low rates since 2008.

(11-10-2022, 06:30 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  Nope . The banks are offering much much less than 2.9% board rate on FD!

board rate is like an urban legend. anyone put in money as fd will be given promo rates. dun asked me because i have 6 fd accounts in 6 banks.

(11-10-2022, 06:30 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  Nope . The banks are offering much much less than 2.9% board rate on FD!
DBS, for  one year deposit, balances below $20k it's 1.6%
Above that it's 0.05%
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/rates-on...d-deposits

ok lor. my balance is more than 20k. so can give me like ocbc and uob at 2.9%?

(11-10-2022, 04:26 PM)winbig Wrote:  If CPF OA increase, then those taking HDB loan will need to pay more.

Changi airport is free

Even the govt T bills are around 3.3%

As this a matter of deflationary blackhole all still cannot get it.
Don't ask give
like this Banks go negative YOU yes you deposit to make Banks positive again.
Banks give u higher rates.
Remember Banks already negative after totalling everything up.
asking to get something that does not exist like increasing cpf does not cut it.
another way is for you to borrow more like this say Maybank balance sheet not swee
Bank sends u blank cheque u filling the amt and sign. This action improve the positivity of Bank.
Next u must not pay up immediately. Ever hear the song 'Keeping it alive' ha ha ha HA!
those debts in balance sheet lives another day.
Volcker inflationary blackhole not same. Powell dealing with Deflationary Blackhole. more neg more the burden of debts increase. 0.25 to 3.5 is 13folds. Volcker 10% inflation to 20% was only 1X

(11-10-2022, 06:35 PM)sogo Wrote:  board rate is like an urban legend. anyone put in money as fd will be given promo rates. dun asked me because i have 6 fd accounts in 6 banks.
How much you are getting on promo rates is IRRELEVANT. 
Go and read up on the formula used

BTW,  how would you like it if you took a 30 year fixed rate loan at 2.6%, then interest rates fall and fall and fall for many years , you see others paying much lower rates on their bank loans... Then when interest goes up , the bank tells you that no, you can't keep paying 2.6%, you need to pay more. 
Would you think that that is fair?
Even though I'm not in that situation,  I say that it's not fair .

(11-10-2022, 06:53 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Changi airport is free

Changi airport is reserved for u. They are going to build a T5 to welcome u back  Laughing

[Image: Screenshot-2022-10-11-at-19-42-54-DXY-U-...-Watch.png]

Instead of stockup on sardines cans we might face a slut
Remember we facing a deflationary blackhole moving into it is dangerous
Burden of debts increase to infinity. Powell has open fire with 13folds from 0,25
want him to abandon?

(11-10-2022, 06:34 PM)sogo Wrote:  then how? cannot be savers reimbursing borrowers right? the time is here liao. spenders are enjoying low rates since 2008.

No they are not reimbursing borrowers. 
Savers want high interest... what's stopping them from putting into FD ?

If you are referring to the savings in OA, they have been earning extra high interest for 20 years.  Of anyone is being "reimbursed " it's the ones in OA ( almost all of us), for 20 years.

(11-10-2022, 07:49 PM)Ahnya Wrote:  No they are not reimbursing borrowers. 
Savers want high interest... what's stopping them from putting into FD ?

If you are referring to the savings in OA, they have been earning extra high interest for 20 years.  Of anyone is being "reimbursed " it's the ones in OA ( almost all of us), for 20 years.

u mean pap allow us to take cpf oa money put into fd earn 3% then put back? those borrowing too much have to prepare for a day rates will finally rises. after 14 years low rates still not enough?

Just change the flat rate 2.6 % 
For example 
1st 250k at 2.8 % 
2nd 250k at 3.0 %.
3rd 250k at 3.2 %
4th 250k at 4.0 %
Normally most HDB buyer take loan less than 750K
Increase OA appropriately