US in for a recession ...Fed is too late in cutting rates

https://m.economictimes.com/news/interna...137807.cms

The Fed should just cut by 0.5% instead of showing "false strength"

(08-09-2024, 08:10 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The Fed should just cut by 0.5% instead of showing "false strength"

Big cut will cause panic

It is still some way to go before we can say the US is in recession.  The job opening in US has taken a bashing but it is still much higher than the last peak of the last recession. Need more data to see if they are really in recession.

[Image: Screenshot-2024-09-08-080433.jpg]

The restaurant booking in the US is still better than that of 2023 by 4%

https://www.opentable.com/state-of-industry
[Image: Screenshot-2024-09-08-080806.jpg]

The layoff and discharge is still very low,  lower than the last 2 recessions

[Image: Screenshot-2024-09-08-081111.jpg]

Omi.. Thank you for bumping up the message.

(08-09-2024, 08:10 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The Fed should just cut by 0.5% instead of showing "false strength"

You learned fast.   

Now you know it is US collapsing, not China, right?   

Don't post those fake China collapse news lah.   

Rotfl  Laughing   .

The scary part is cutting rate will invite inflation monster. Furthermore, More and more countries are dumping USD.

(08-09-2024, 08:21 AM)webinarian Wrote:               
You learned fast.   

Now you know it is US collapsing, not China, right?   

Don't post those fake China collapse news lah.   

Rotfl  Laughing   .
China is already in big trouble only those blinded by its propaganda choose not to open their eyes to see the truth.

Even if truth is jn front of them China fanboys will refuse to see ...because it hurts their feelings. 

To me their bias views are worthless. If they want to just cheer China and to feel good they are like sports fans...not honest analyst.

It is just the sign which like many others needed to b confirmed.  Presently,  the US market is experiencing a sell off but it does not mean a recession is in the making.  There is still no sign as far as the stock charts r concerned.

"the devil is attacking you and not your argument because he is  weak”

(08-09-2024, 08:26 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  China is already in big trouble only those blinded by its propaganda choose not to open their eyes to see the truth.

Even if truth is jn front of them China fanboys will refuse to see ...because it hurts their feelings. 

To me their bias views are worthless. If they want to just cheer China and to feel good they are like sports fans...not honest analyst.

The stock charts hv showed signs of a recession is in the making mainly becos of the LGFV debts which ther is still no means to lower. LGFV was created mainly to drive the GDP and economy in China.

Biggest blunder by Biden is to keep Powell as Fed chief.

The job cuts in the US is not as high as previous years. There is no equivalent chart can b found 4 China to compare but there was a fairly big job layoff ( few hundred thousands) in tech sectors last year after foreign firms’ exodus.

[Image: IMG-6118.png]

Both China USA guarantee Singapore recession too

US is shooting its own foot by attacking China with tariff war, chip war, tech war, sanctions, divestment and decoupling.

(08-09-2024, 10:07 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  US is shooting its own foot by attacking China with tariff war, chip war, tech war, sanctions, divestment and decoupling.

The problem now is China still feeding US.
I think China wants US to die slowly, not die immediately.

Funds ran out from China due to rate hike will eventually flow back to China. Now got too many HJs spread rumour China buey gan already.The purpose is to stop funds flowing back to China.

US is in real deep shit now. They have managed to keep their noses just above water level by increasing and maintaining high interest rates up till now. However  time of high interest rates has run out and the economy has come to a grinding halt. 
So what is FED going to do next? Many think that cut rate will save them. Unfortunately that will not be the case. I tell you they will die faster if they cut rate. They are now in between the devil and the deep blue sea. So only way out is bite the bullet and dig in to ride out a recesion.   Rolleyes

It's a very big pity that both US and China did not engage our genius sgbutt as their advisor. Maybe Spore won't miss that opportunity?

(08-09-2024, 09:23 AM)revealer Wrote:  It is just the sign which like many others needed to b confirmed.  Presently,  the US market is experiencing a sell off but it does not mean a recession is in the making.  There is still no sign as far as the stock charts r concerned.

Good to comfrim...to night U.S. market is up arhh.

if US no recession
then i worry

(08-09-2024, 08:26 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  The scary part is cutting rate will invite inflation monster. Furthermore, More and more countries are dumping USD.

Believe it will be like early 80s. Powell is Andrew Burns. Cut rates then inflation up again. Then stagflation and have to hike to 20% to save USD

So many experts here. Sgtalk really 藏龙卧虎。

(09-09-2024, 06:02 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Good to comfrim...to night U.S. market is up arhh.

Dow closes nearly 500 points higher in rebound from Wall Street’s worst week of 2024: Live updates
https://www.cnbc.com/2024/09/08/stock-ma...dates.html

fed has their own agenda.
no matter what they do. there will always be someone saying something. but who can prove right or wrong.
usual is just noise created to their own agenda as well.

(08-09-2024, 10:00 AM)Niubee Wrote:  Both China USA guarantee Singapore recession too

Jiat lat liao,

u all better save money, jin ho give u gst money u save for raining day.

dont get retrench,, this round will be a long recession, hard to find job..

expect more people jump down from high building. and bedok reservoir.

Now George Yeo cannot get all the religious head to pray for the dead. i think he too also almost jump down the resvervoir himself when kana kick out by oppies.

(08-09-2024, 10:07 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  US is shooting its own foot by attacking China with tariff war, chip war, tech war, sanctions, divestment and decoupling.

it has NO choice , this is to buy time to build UP defensive 

China is threathening the Dollar