Do you hate those Malaysian speak mandarin got that " MY accent "

kinda zzzz whereas some don't have.
I guess depend how they upbringing. If those Malaysian when small stay in SG , study in SG , most don't have that accent.

Accent is bohbian one. Hongkees and angmoh aso laugh at yr accent

(27-07-2023, 12:10 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  kinda zzzz whereas some don't have.
I guess depend how they upbringing. If those Malaysian when small stay in SG , study in SG , most don't have that accent.
Don't say too early. Next day our president also speaks like that

Why use the word “hate” on one’s accent?

If our singlish are somewhat “accepted” by some, surely the Malaysian Chinese or Mandarin should be accepted. Or the American; Irish English accents are acceptable surely the Malaysian Chinese are acceptable, no one is distinct than another.

Before we look into other’s issues, first take a look at our own. We shouldn’t bring such topics for discussions, in my opinion.

JHK mandarin accent is heavily influenced by Cantonese. 几多钱,几够力,sorhai aka stupid CB etc. But those JHK who are Hokkien are closer to SG Hokkien with minor difference. Cantonese got a saying 笑穷不笑贱 so means if the lady job is a prostitute she is more respected than a poor person.

Kuan si ok lah

(27-07-2023, 12:40 PM)sgh Wrote:  JHK mandarin accent is heavily influenced by Cantonese. 几多钱,几够力,sorhai aka stupid CB etc. But those JHK who are Hokkien are closer to SG Hokkien with minor difference. Cantonese got a saying 笑穷不笑贱 so means if the lady job is a prostitute she is more respected than a poor person.

in another simple explanation
chinese IS NOT ONE

there are difference CHINESE and ONE CANNOT  COMPARED ONE TO THE OTHER

like in USA
Californian is not New Yorkers

(27-07-2023, 12:40 PM)sgh Wrote:  JHK mandarin accent is heavily influenced by Cantonese. 几多钱,几够力,sorhai aka stupid CB etc. But those JHK who are Hokkien are closer to SG Hokkien with minor difference. Cantonese got a saying 笑穷不笑贱 so means if the lady job is a prostitute she is more respected than a poor person.

Hokkien jhk are the very ones who have the sing song accent which is damn irritating.   Rolleyes

(27-07-2023, 12:39 PM)kangtangman Wrote:  Why use the word “hate” on one’s accent?

If our singlish are somewhat “accepted” by some, surely the Malaysian Chinese or Mandarin should be accepted. Or the American; Irish English accents are acceptable surely the Malaysian Chinese are acceptable, no one is distinct than another.

Before we look into other’s issues, first take a look at our own. We shouldn’t bring such topics for discussions, in my opinion.

I don't think he'd meant hate in the sense you are referring to. It's the way Singaporeans speak.

Sometimes I also use that word to refer to my personal preference like " I hate to have tomato ketchup added to my bak chor mee."

I'd always tell the order taker " mee kia tar mai kio chup"

(27-07-2023, 03:10 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Hokkien jhk are the very ones who have the sing song accent which is damn irritating.   Rolleyes

Strange my spouse and family side are Hokkien so their accent not so irritating. It is those from KL Cantonese who like to translate Canto phrases into Mandarin and hence those funny accent. Cantonese are supposed to be the "richer" dialect group whereas Hokkien do rough work like coolies hence Hokkien swear words much more vulgar than Cantonese. We Hokkien call them gong hu lang and canto swearing I was taught is tiu le si fart or tiu le ge chao hai

(27-07-2023, 03:20 PM)sgh Wrote:  Strange my spouse and family side are Hokkien so their accent not so irritating. It is those from KL Cantonese who like to translate Canto phrases into Mandarin and hence those funny accent. Cantonese are supposed to be the "richer" dialect group whereas Hokkien do rough work like coolies hence Hokkien swear words much more vulgar than Cantonese. We Hokkien call them gong hu lang and canto swearing I was taught is tiu le si fart or tiu le ge chao hai

The older generation of Hokkien jhk didn't speak Mandarin lar.

We are talking about jhks speaking Mandarin with that irritating sing song accent and these are mostly under 40 years of age.

Using vulgar words in dialects is another topic but while we are at it, I think both are equally vulgar but Cantonese is more witty and more sarcastic. Hokkien is just CCB, knnbccb, ranjiao, CB repeated over and over...

(27-07-2023, 03:31 PM)Oyk Wrote:  The older generation of Hokkien jhk didn't speak Mandarin lar.

We are talking about jhks speaking Mandarin with that irritating sing song accent and these are mostly under 40 years of age.

Using vulgar words in dialects is another topic but while we are at it, I think both are equally vulgar but Cantonese is more witty and more sarcastic. Hokkien is just CCB, knnnccb, ranjiao, CB repeated over and over...

KNN

so you hokkien or cantonese

幾夠力一下啦!haha Big Grin  做麽醬勒? Thinking

(27-07-2023, 03:31 PM)Oyk Wrote:  The older generation of Hokkien jhk didn't speak Mandarin lar.

Using vulgar words in dialects is another topic but while we are at it, I think both are equally vulgar but Cantonese is more witty and more sarcastic. Hokkien is just CCB, knnnccb, ranjiao, CB repeated over and over...

Cantonese tiu and hai are used quite often too which map to F and CB so sama sama. But there are other phrase I agree. Whenever I hear tiu is equivalent to gan in Hokkien. tiu le lo mo for e.g

This is gross cannibal mandarin.

https://youtu.be/JscvOZExQPM

Ji Gou Li

diu le si fart I think is backside so tiu le si fart is equivalent to Hokkien gan ni eh kar chng
sek si or fan this I not so sure I know sek si is equivalent to Hokkien jiak sai

(27-07-2023, 04:44 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  This is gross cannibal mandarin.

https://youtu.be/JscvOZExQPM

Standard Malaysian Mandarin mah! Big Grin

(27-07-2023, 04:32 PM)sgh Wrote:  Cantonese tiu and hai are used quite often too which map to F and CB so sama sama. But there are other phrase I agree. Whenever I hear tiu is equivalent to gan in Hokkien. tiu le lo mo for e.g

Tiu lei lo mo chao fa hei
Tiu kau lei ler
Lei gor sei ham kar chang
Gor tiu sor lo
Gor tiu lung tao
Tiu lei lo mo chao hei sei chao hei
Lei oi sei ah fai di ler
Tiu na sing
Lee gor hum gar ling
Gek to hoey choeng toy do bao 

And many expressions may not exactly be vulgar but are witty and sarcastic. If we quarrel with a honkie in Cantonese we will lose.

(27-07-2023, 05:53 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Tiu lei lo mo chao fa hei
Tiu kau lei ler
Lei gor sei ham kar chang
Gor tiu sor lo
Gor tiu lung tao
Tiu lei lo mo chao hei sei chao hei
Lei oi sei ah fai di ler
Tiu na sing
Lee gor hum gar ling
Gek to hoey choeng toy do bao 

And many expressions may not exactly be vulgar but are witty and sarcastic. If we quarrel with a honkie in Cantonese we will lose.

KNNBCCB lah! Big Grin

(27-07-2023, 03:32 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  KNN

so you hokkien or cantonese

Ask Aiptasia.  Rotfl