Threads: 841

Likes Given: 580
It's true. I met my fintech friend the other day and he's asking where to hire developers in his company.

Threads: 22

Likes Given: 587
Its true....1 nurse attend to 10 patients.

Threads: 2,735

Likes Given: 1
(25-03-2024, 10:07 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: It's true. I met my fintech friend the other day and he's asking where to hire developers in his company.
very easy.
ask your friend to check with IMDA and WSG on govt sponsored hire and train programme.
he can get at least 10 applicants for every 1 vacancy.

(25-03-2024, 10:10 PM)Sharexchange Wrote: Its true....1 nurse attend to 10 patients.
very easy.
ask your friend to check with WSG on govt sponsored hire and train programme.

once the employers are willing to hire and then train, there will be no shortage of IT developers/nurses.
because the applicants will be more than the vacancies.
if the employers want only plug and play employees, there will always be shortages because
the trained people in the industry will never match the requirements of every company.
it will be a time bomb waiting to explode if company wants trained personnel but refuses to train new trainees.

(25-03-2024, 10:17 PM)forum456 Wrote: very easy.
ask your friend to check with IMDA and WSG on govt sponsored hire and train programme.
My friend wants an experienced programmer leh, not those who have just attended a short course.

Threads: 598

Likes Given: 5,465
SG is so small and we have over- hired and overpaid
too many FTs for It for many years
Why do we need 5 Mayors and 80 PAP Ministers?Â

Threads: 3

Likes Given: 273
IT Developers are out because more of them will be replaced by AI. Maybe we will see those CECA PRs reducing by thousands in 2 years time.
Win the World but lost your Soul.Â

(25-03-2024, 11:48 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: My friend wants an experienced programmer leh, not those who have just attended a short course.
also very easy to get experienced programmer.
if an experienced programmer earning $5K, your friend just needs to pay $6k to get him.
your friend must be expected to pay $1K or more to get the experienced programmer.
unless your friend can get help from PAP govt to import cheap foreign experienced programmers.

(28-03-2024, 08:52 PM)forum456 Wrote: also very easy to get experienced programmer.
if an experienced programmer earning $5K, your friend just needs to pay $6k to get him.
your friend must be expected to pay $1K or more to get the experienced programmer.
unless your friend can get help from PAP govt to import cheap foreign experienced programmers.
It's very easy for you say this and say that. Have you tried to hire an experienced programmer before? Dun just kpkb about govt hiring foreigners lah. Some jobs you simply can't get enough sinkies to fill them.

(28-03-2024, 09:10 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: . Some jobs you simply can't get enough sinkies to fill them.
this is totally not true.
there are a lot of sinkies who want to fill the jobs but there are very few employers who want to train them.
I talked to people in IMDA and WSG on why there are so many applicants and so few vacancies and so few employers.

(28-03-2024, 09:27 PM)forum456 Wrote: this is totally not true.
there are a lot of sinkies who want to fill the jobs but there are very few employers who want to train them.
I talked to people in IMDA and WSG on why there are so many applicants and so few vacancies and so few employers.
Isn't it obvious that as an employer you want to hire an experienced programmer. You mean if you're an employer you'll hire somebody who tells you that he can't do the job but you need to train him?

(28-03-2024, 10:04 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: Isn't it obvious that as an employer you want to hire an experienced programmer. You mean if you're an employer you'll hire somebody who tells you that he can't do the job but you need to train him?
isn't it also obvious that you need to pay more if you want to hire an experienced programmer from his existing employer.
if you cannot afford to pay $1K more, isn't it obvious that you have to train own your programmers.
it is either you pay more or train your own.

(28-03-2024, 10:26 PM)forum456 Wrote: isn't it also obvious that you need to pay more if you want to hire an experienced programmer from his existing employer.
if you cannot afford to pay $1K more, isn't it obvious that you have to train own your programmers.
it is either you pay more or train your own.
Hello, when did I ever say that companies are not willing to pay for a good programmer? How come you're always assuming this and that?

Threads: 126

Likes Given: 294
(28-03-2024, 11:01 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: Hello, when did I ever say that companies are not willing to pay for a good programmer? How come you're always assuming this and that?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6DG1NqgkSU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5xzIu4EjtE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67R0ISqJSs0&pp=ygUUSVQgZGV2ZWxvcGVycyBsYXlvZmY%3D
summarize the above, experienced programmer are most valued in USA
young and overpaid ones are vulnerable to layoff.
As now AI is able to do some of basic.
(This post was last modified: 29-03-2024, 12:02 AM by
watchfirst9.)