2 in 5 home owners say they face difficulties in paying their home loans

In 70s to 90s, few Singaporeans complaint about facing difficulties as jobs were plenty and HDB very cheap..

5 room HDBs were selling $23,000

rates might well hit 6% this cycle.

i think it is 3/5 in trouble.

got jobs can eat maggie mee pay. if no jobs then unravel liao.

(19-12-2022, 04:21 PM)Scythian Wrote:  .
In 70s to 90s, few Singaporeans complaint about facing difficulties as jobs were plenty and HDB very cheap..

I remember in the 70s, 5-room HDB flats are sold at $25,000 each. And these are flats which were occupied by SEA games athletes ....
Laughing Clapping Gesti-109

(19-12-2022, 05:21 PM)debono Wrote:  I remember in the 70s, 5-room HDB flats are sold at $25,000 each. And these are flats which were occupied by SEA games athletes ....
Laughing Clapping Gesti-109

holland close 3 rm was 13k.

(19-12-2022, 04:21 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I remember news on tv , HDB claim a lot can pay off

Government is using elderly (those without housing loan to pay) CPF to subsidize those young couples who bought high price HDB by keeping the loan rate fixed at 2.6%

SG Standard lah KPKB only, end up still can pull through lah. Rotfl

(19-12-2022, 05:37 PM)Clyde Wrote:  Government is using elderly (those without housing loan to pay) CPF to subsidize those young couples who bought high price HDB by keeping the loan rate fixed at 2.6%

This current Greedy PAP is setting a " Danger " come Public Housing towards the future.

Yes they got implement some changes , recently is those New BTO Flats need to wait for 8 years instead 5 years in Prime location in order can , resell or rent out I doubt can help much

also the recently cooling measure increase taxes again , which is 2 time also don't help much.

EPIC IS USA Side helping come " interest rates "

This is why current some rich people are holding buying property despite some sellers already cutting their selling price.

in 90s 5 room hdb were selling $23000

you must be dreaming.

If Govt so call claim " affordable Public housing " that is ONLY APPLY During LKY days

I heard from my parents , last time come choose public housing very good one.

You and your relative can choose side by side unit.

Moi memory ish that sinkie komplain of HDB flat affordability only started from the 2000s, this ish because of some treasure mountain's plan to help sinkie become millionaires started from the late 80s or 90s. In the first decade most short-sighted sinkie are happy with this cause they see their HDB flat that they bought back before the 90s that cost around 20K or less can be sold for more than 60K, and many BBFA also happy that they can nao hoot their own 2nd-hand flat after age 35. So only very few sinkie can see how this ish a make future sinkie paid scheme will eventually become a social problem for future youngsters as they are going to be the one footing the finale bills when it's their turn to hoot flats.

Most Sinkie komplain about cost in the period of 70s~90s ish not really about HDB but mainly on overall cost of living like food, transport, groceries and leisure that used to be affordable like cinema ticket pricing. As this period red dot economy hit golden age but the income grab also become wider and wider and more people start getting left behind by all the 'progress'.  Especially the retirees as they finally see hao their CPF ish no longer enough to even maintain the basic necessity and medical after their retirement due to the cost of living increased rapidly during this period of time.

(19-12-2022, 07:22 PM)drgn Wrote:  in 90s 5 room hdb were selling $23000

you must be dreaming.
Not in the 90s lah, but in the 70s.  I was offered $25,000 to purchase a 5-room HDB flat in Toa Payoh............ Laughing

(19-12-2022, 09:02 PM)debono Wrote:  Not in the 90s lah, but in the 70s.  I was offered $25,000 to purchase a 5-room HDB flat in Toa Payoh............ Laughing

yes, 70s only.

but that guy said 90s still can buy at such low price.

(19-12-2022, 09:37 PM)drgn Wrote:  yes, 70s only.

but that guy said 90s still can buy at such low price.
He said 70s to 90s..........but the real price is really in the 70s.......in the 90s, the price may have ballooned to 3 times the price...... Laughing Gesti-109

(19-12-2022, 09:02 PM)debono Wrote:  Not in the 90s lah, but in the 70s.  I was offered $25,000 to purchase a 5-room HDB flat in Toa Payoh............ Laughing

My relative bought the five room flat there heard was $26k

(19-12-2022, 09:58 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  My relative bought the five room flat there heard was $26k
Must be those 5-room flats built to house the SEA games athletes......in the 70s.......... Clapping Laughing

(19-12-2022, 10:16 PM)debono Wrote:  Must be those 5-room flats built to house the SEA games athletes......in the 70s.......... Clapping Laughing

In 45-50 years, HDB is in $1,000,000 range 

How about salary grow?