Josh Tan: You need min $1.6M to retire with decent standard of living in SG.

The alternatives are to work until you die or downgrade to lower standard of living.

I think 1.6 million might not be enough with the current global inflation..... Rolleyes

I think alot of Singaporeans have more than dat
but here the kicker
we have in Dola
10.44B in gold bullions
the rest depend on infor we cannot get accurately
1800B belonging to other people.
in the luan2 got might get killed
Cool 

(11-06-2022, 10:40 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  I think 1.6 million might not be enough with the current global inflation..... Rolleyes

No beef eat chicken no chicken  eat fish no fish eat beans. Not enough also no choice you have to make do.

Singapore dentist cannot afford go Malaysia.

Most people in Singapore will never retire with a decent quality of life anyway.....that's reality of life in Singapore.

(11-06-2022, 11:53 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  No beef eat chicken no chicken  eat fish no fish eat beans.

fish is more expensive than chicken
[+] 1 user Likes drgn's post

(11-06-2022, 11:56 AM)drgn Wrote:  fish is more expensive than chicken

That is  true before recent tines. I am talking about live chicken not frozen ones.

(11-06-2022, 11:53 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  No beef eat chicken no chicken  eat fish no fish eat beans. Not enough also no choice you have to make do.

Singapore dentist cannot afford go Malaysia.

Most people in Singapore will never retire with a decent quality of life anyway.....that's reality of life in Singapore.
How do u define decent quality of life? Different people have different aspirations. It's subjective.

(11-06-2022, 12:00 PM)winbig Wrote:  How do u define decent quality of life? Different people have different aspirations. It's subjective.

Watch the video it is quite clear based on NUS study.

It's not staying home everyday eat can food and take panadol when you get sick type of quality of life.

wat quality got when u go out for a few hours
sad place
with sotong waiting for you

What’s important is the income generating asset is able to counter inflation to avoid degradation of spending power.

I am considering rental income from physical property for retirement (current market rate $6.5K per month) as it will keep pace with inflation plus the asset value also increases. Much better than bank stocks or reits where the price doesn’t appreciate much even after 10 years. Cpf is the a bonus but it doesn’t keep pace with inflation.
[+] 1 user Likes debster's post

But depend on you if you living in condo and drive car of course money not enough. If just live a normal life in HDB and take public transport I think should be fine. But many singaporean very howlan want to show off see those Facebook will know.

(11-06-2022, 12:03 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Watch the video it is quite clear based on NUS study.

It's not staying home everyday eat can food and take panadol when you get sick type of quality of life.

That is the assumption in the NUS study.

Everymonth few Ks from stock market i am retiring now. But May was a lousy month for me because market like dead fish. June start took profit on Alibanana 5 figure HK profit.]]]

(11-06-2022, 12:17 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Everymonth few Ks from stock market i am retiring now. But May was a lousy month for me because market like dead fish. June start took profit on Alibanana 5 figure HK profit.]]]

Stressful and not sustainable

again SG Butt , post zzz video come on stop posting these LOCAL CRAP what Financial gurus video

Better see Ang Mo one better more in depth logic

locals one just make video out of nothing valuable just want to earn from youtube.

(11-06-2022, 12:20 PM)debster Wrote:  Stressful and not sustainable

Very sustainable..no stress...very boring...working part time to kill boredom..

(11-06-2022, 12:20 PM)debster Wrote:  Stressful and not sustainable

Like gambling some good days and some bad days end of the day gain nothing.

(11-06-2022, 12:23 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  again SG Butt , post zzz video come on stop posting these LOCAL CRAP what Financial gurus video

locals one just make video out of nothing valuable just want to earn from youtube.

Just look at that Kevin guru loss big time in Tesla and Crypto

(11-06-2022, 12:25 PM)Cmpunk Wrote:  Just look at that Kevin guru loss big time in Tesla and Crypto

Sometimes they never buy , BS about it summary they just want to tag Financial , Stock, trading to talk , beside earn from youtube for those some will sell their so call " course " lol .... even they really buy I not surprise they lost.

REAL Success Trader/Investors WILL NOT Come out do what Youtube video tell u when to go in blah blah this sort of thing.
ALWAYS remember.

(11-06-2022, 12:25 PM)Cmpunk Wrote:  Just look at that Kevin guru loss big time in Tesla and Crypto

His main income is from sgbuffett's help to promote his YouTube video.  Rotfl His income enough to cover the loss.

[Image: Screenshot-from-2022-06-11-13-27-05.png]

(11-06-2022, 12:13 PM)winbig Wrote:  That is the assumption in the NUS study.

Those never read not affected.

if min 1.6m to retire, then sg will have a lot more beggars on the streets.
i think i will be 1 of them.

True if Kevin bought Tesla his face won’t be smiling meaning his is lying in his heart he would said Heng Ah I Didn’t buy it. Evil person

(11-06-2022, 12:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Sometimes they never buy , BS about it summary they just want to tag Financial , Stock, trading to talk , beside earn from youtube for those some will sell their so call " course " lol .... even they really buy I not surprise they lost.

REAL Success Trader/Investors WILL NOT Come out do what Youtube video tell u when to go in blah blah this sort of thing.
ALWAYS remember.
Thumbsup Thumbsup Thumbsup

No you dont need 1.6m to retire comfortably. Thats over inflated.

You need these at 65

1. Finished paying for your flat

2. 500k in Retirement Account to give you $2500 monthly cpf life

3. 50k in your medisave for the 4% interest to pay off your yearly integrated shield plan premiums

4. 100k in investments generating 5% returns for your yearly holidays abroad
[+] 1 user Likes simpleman's post

Depends on when u are retiring or how long u gg to live.
Or whether u are healthy or need to feed doctors
Or are u able to earn that much to provide a luxuries living

by 2030
u own nothing and will be happy
- klaus schwab

(11-06-2022, 12:23 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  again SG Butt , post zzz video come on stop posting these LOCAL CRAP what Financial gurus video

You're one of those who think ang moh is the best huh.. dun like that lah. Some locals are also good. But definitely not these Kevin and Josh guys.

Many people can reach 1.6m net worth by retirement, but the problem is that their wealth is often stuck in the fancy condos they live in.